post Apr 11 2013, 05:00 PM

HERO2 user here. Diver too.
Sharing my video taken by HERO2 too.

This post has been edited by winterdotcom: Apr 11 2013, 05:01 PM
winterdotcom
post Apr 12 2013, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Apr 11 2013, 06:54 PM)
Did you use dive housing? Video looks blurry. Didn't post process also? a.k.a Cineform Studio to edit the colours.

Nice take smile.gif
Yes its with dive housing + red filter. Some parts it looks blurry because gopro focal length or my hands are shaky xD first timer using gopro underwater. All my macro shots with it couldn't be used.

Yeah I didn't post process the colours. Not really sure how to. Still learning.

Thanks smile.gif

winterdotcom
post Apr 13 2013, 10:23 AM

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Apr 12 2013, 07:44 PM)
Will try it out ^^
winterdotcom
post May 22 2013, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 22 2013, 11:35 AM)
fren just borrowed me his go pro 3, im off to an island this weekend, any idea what to take or tips on using?
seems like dem susah to use
Do you have the LCD screen too? Else its super hard to frame your shots >.<
winterdotcom
post May 24 2013, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 22 2013, 02:34 PM)
yes, he did pass me the lcd, phone wise, he cant remember the wifi password, hahahahha
Since you have the LCD screen I would also suggest not to use the touchscreen backdoor while you go for your snorkeling. Needless to say scuba diving definitely a big NO for the touchscreen backdoor. I've read cases of water leaking into the camera using the touchscreen backdoor and there goes the camera. No warranty from GoPro for water damage. Use the hardcase backdoor that comes with the LCD smile.gif Safe better than sorry.

About framing shots... I'm not really experienced but I would suggest during boat rides take video from low angle beside the boat when its travelling. The water splashes are pretty cool. Also, POV shots of jumping into the sea or 3rd person view of people jumping into the sea would be pretty cool too.

I need more ideas of shots too. Feel free to share. xD
winterdotcom
post May 27 2013, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(LegendLee @ May 25 2013, 11:44 PM)
I'm planning to get a Gopro soon for video recording.
I will have to record hour long speeches in a darkly lit room.
I would use my DSLR, but they can't record that long.

I'm always a gopro fan and I'll use it even after this event. But the thing is, will the gopro be good enough ?

How does it fare to sub RM2k camcorders ?
Don't expect much on long hour recordings from GoPro. It's one of their downfall. Continuous recording could only last about 45minutes to 1hour give or take. Their battery bacpac could extend the recording time but personally I feel it's a waste of money to get that since the bacpac battery is not interchangeable.

Regarding low light recording, the HERO3 Black is pretty good at it from some comparison videos I see online.

QUOTE(LinTao @ May 26 2013, 11:18 PM)
solo flight over Guincho, Portugal. by Colin Tay, on Flickr

another GoPro user here smile.gif. not so good quality as i recorded on 720p i think, and i just took a screenshot of it.
Awesome view~!
winterdotcom
post May 28 2013, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(LegendLee @ May 27 2013, 09:30 PM)
What do you mean by not interchangeable ?
I can use the bacpac battery, and when it runs out, switch to regular battery right ?
What I mean is you cannot remove the battery inside the new (black color) gopro battery bacpac. Unlike the older version of the battery bacpac (grey color) which we could remove the battery and or charge the battery by itself.

So instead of having double recording hours every time (1st recording 2 hours > 2nd recording replace both camera battery and bacpac battery and have another 2 hours), now the only option is double recording once and single the next (1st recording 2 hours > replace camera battery and the battery bacpac you'll have to take and charge > so remains 1 hour to record).

Unless you get 2 battery bacpac. Which is quite expensive.

If missing some recording in interval is fine then might as well get 2-3 batteries and change rather than a battery bacpac.

I hope you get what I mean cos it's very hard to explain biggrin.gif

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ May 28 2013, 10:20 AM)
i manage to get longer footage by plugging an external power bank to my gopro hero 2 but it doesn't work on the hero 3.
shocking.gif it doesn't work on hero3? that sux.
winterdotcom
post May 28 2013, 02:53 PM

QUOTE(LegendLee @ May 28 2013, 01:58 PM)
Ah, I get what you mean thanks.
So the only way to continuously record 1 hour+ of recording is by having 2 battery bacpac.
Is it possible to hook up AC power then?
Like DarkEmotion88 said, it doesn't work with powerbank (not sure bout AC power) HERO3. I never tried before though. I'm HERO2 user smile.gif
winterdotcom
post May 28 2013, 03:43 PM

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ May 28 2013, 02:59 PM)
ac power also for hero 3 cannot work. cuz i thought the hero 2 can then assume 3 also boleh. manatau kenot. tested with power bank also dun work. have to save battery for certain footages using hero 3 cuz i din get spare batteries. why la gopro make hero 2 battery cannot fit hero 3 also =3=
Haha! It's all about the moneh $_$
winterdotcom
post May 30 2013, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ May 28 2013, 04:00 PM)
yea true. everything also money money money. combine with lcd backpack drain kau kau also my battery.

just updated my gopro 3 firmware. din updated since last month it was out. seems like got 2 new features. will play with it whn i get back.
2 new features? Interesting! Do share when you get back.

QUOTE(coduosp @ May 29 2013, 07:51 PM)

OMG Triggerfish! Awesome~

QUOTE(LinTao @ May 30 2013, 12:26 AM)
it sucks for me coz my flights are at least an hour each, then most of the times cannot record the whole flight :/. that's the only problem i have with the GoPro, battery life sucks. other than that i love it hehe.

my classmate mounted his gopro + battery backpack outside, but dunno he never mount properly or what, he did a low pass over the runway then did a 20ยบ pitch up, the suction cup gave way and popped off and he couldn't find the camera again. sayang sad.gif. maybe the battery backpack added a lot of drag
biggrin.gif everyone's problem with GoPro is the battery life biggrin.gif
shocking.gif The suction cup is strong but still too many factors could affect it's performance. Not safe to use without tether. Pity. Gone just like that. Get a new one tongue.gif
winterdotcom
post Jun 3 2013, 01:07 PM

I've read of issues like that too. Guess I'll stick with HERO2. But I'm looking for an upgrade. Any alternative brands?
winterdotcom
post Feb 7 2014, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(scpt @ Feb 6 2014, 11:12 PM)
Received my Hero3+ BE today from Lazada!  rclxm9.gif

Decided to take the risk since the price was just too great to resist. I used the RM150 code during CNY weekend, total damage was only RM1149 biggrin.gif
This was my second time ordering from them, so far both were good. Bubble-wrapped packaging and fast delivery both times thumbup.gif

Care to share where the parcel come from?
winterdotcom
post Feb 10 2014, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(scpt @ Feb 7 2014, 10:30 PM)
this one is sold & fulfilled by Lazada, so package & delivery should be direct from them.

But on the GoPro package there is a sticker from Funsportz, so I'm guessing that's their supplier.
Wow... I wonder how the warranty goes hmm.gif Pretty good deal from Lazada. Thanks for sharing thumbup.gif
winterdotcom
post Feb 13 2014, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Feb 13 2014, 12:26 PM)
how much price for lcd touch bacpac?
Extionhd is selling at RM388 according to their website. Link Here
winterdotcom
post Feb 18 2014, 05:27 PM

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Feb 14 2014, 08:08 AM)
tq.. maybe today i'll get drop by to their showroom.
BTW anybody have problem to connect gopro 3+ black using wifi? my ipad and phone cant connect with my GP.
i want to reset all the setting. but i got notification on gopro website "software download was not available in your country" wtf??

i my s/n starting with DE3B14XXXXXXXX it is possible? coz GP website told me the s/n was invalid. now i dont know how to update. anyone can email me the update file?  icon_question.gif
The serial number doesn't start with DE. I'm sure you looked at the wrong place. The serial number is at the battery compartment. Something like H3B+Bxxxxxxxx.

0.0693sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:40 AM