TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 09:22 PM, updated 20y ago

383 posts

DSLR Shopping Trip
Date : End of April/Early of May
Shop: Tarita/Boeing/Foto Shangrila/Other shops tht give good price & gifts
Members:

1. cyberkid - Nikon D50(body) + 18-200mm VR lens + 1gb SD/Nikon D50(body) + 18-70mm + 1gb SD/Nikon D50(kit) + 1gb SD

2. cfyung85 - Nikon D70s + Nikon bag + 1Gb CF (SanDisk) + Hoya/Nikon Filter + Circular Polarizer

3. basSist - Nikon D70s + Nikon bag + 1Gb HighSpeed CF + Circular Polarizer

4. basSist's fren - Nikon D70s + Nikon bag + 1Gb High Speed CF

5. Intrigue - Canon350D/Nikon D70s + 1GB CF + UV filter + Circular Polarizer + battery for Canon350D/D70s + info bout battery lifespan

6. ferox - Nikon D70s(body) + 50mm + 18-200mm VR lens + 1gb CF + dry cabinet (small)

7. crackie - Nikon D70s + SB600

8. k3v1n - Nikon D50+512SD+Camera Bag+Hoya Filter/Panasonic FZ30

REPORT ON BARGAIN

guys i'm back smile.gif n i'm back with a bad news sad.gif

i only asked tarita n boeing n i'm quite fed up with it especially with boeing. tarita is still ok. although they still offer their usual price but at least their service is better compared to boeing blush.gif

boeing in G floor G134 kinda sux abit vmad.gif not only that fella kinda dislike me but oso keep on urging me to buy canon although i said i dun wan doh.gif

tarita said they cannot offer anymore discounts bcos it is at the cheapest (usual excuse) n oso they say they cannot make any decision on themselves to give discounts sad.gif (thats more acceptable since they r not the boss there blush.gif)

i asked boeing in G floor shop G134. the guy that came to me is a chinese. well at first he greeted me kinda good so i oso kinda feel glad. then when i asked him about discounts, he straight away change his face to an unpleasant one vmad.gif

well as expected he oso said that the price is the cheapest they can offer n only untung several ringgit only (total bullshit) doh.gif then he started bombing about nikon saying this not good that not good. service centre ada problem n all stock are halted. he oso said lens susah cari n accessories langsung tarak n bla bla bla n i have to stand there listen him talking stories sad.gif n all the way long he keep on calling me to buy canon 350D even though i said i dun wan countless times. the reason is...

8 megapixel very good 1...accessories oso easy to find than nikon (ok i agree with this)...now got stock clearance some more...RM2950 (body+lens) X uncountable times doh.gif

well...he oso said D70s is really from thailand doh.gif i dunno whether i wanna trust him about the bad side of nikon or not but just to tell u guys that we r not able to buy together since it makes no difference oso sad.gif

INDIVIDUAL REPORT

ferox n cyberkid...the 18-200mm VR lens that u wanted got no stock. if u guys wan then u need to pay downpayment first n then only they order sad.gif

ferox...the 50mm lens u wan f what? f1.8 / f1.4 / f1.2?? anyway as expected from these lenses oso got no stock tongue.gif going to come soon as they say sweat.gif

nikon filter(RM120) is more expensive than hoya filter(RM70)

circular polariser cost about RM 160 (dunno what brand)

intrigue...the battery life i asked for u oledi. they say it is nothing if u charge to max even though there r still power left smile.gif

k3v1n...the FZ30 i asked liao. tarita say very hard to find now although it cost about RM2000. they say have to place order first or maybe order directly from panasonic (RM2200) then they will send the order...kinda strange if u ask me rolleyes.gif

so thats all guys...sorry to inform u guys about the bad news sad.gif so i think we'll buy seperately then sad.gif sigh...

This post has been edited by cfyung85: Apr 15 2006, 09:26 PM
Intrigue
post Apr 15 2006, 09:30 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

sighz... this is really bad news.
k3v1n
post Apr 15 2006, 09:37 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

aiya.....why those shop so bodoh!! got such a big business they also dunwan!!! mad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif
yewlin
post Apr 15 2006, 09:42 PM

12-06 is my new working days :)
2,084 posts

got any price about SB600? or SB800? smile.gif

thx
cyberkid
post Apr 15 2006, 09:45 PM

1,274 posts

How about fotoshangrila?
I think most of the shops think tht u r just a joker for being buying so many cams tongue.gif
scorgio
post Apr 15 2006, 10:21 PM

4,695 posts

Eh...
there's a way in negotiating price.
when u walk in, straight away ask "i want to buy 6 D70s, what's the best price & package you can offer?".
if the response is negative, simply walk out, no need to talk anymore.

find another shop, repeat the same phrase.
once you get a positive response, then only you go into detail.

u don't go & tell the salesperson, what every member wants. like cyberkid said, they'd think u're a joker.

individual item, can buy individually. concentrate on the main chunk 1st.

scorgio
post Apr 15 2006, 10:23 PM

4,695 posts

And generally i don't like buying from camera shops in KL.
Anyone of the above members from Penang?
Try Foto Easycam in Komtar.

Btw, you fellow's are buying 8 Nikon cameras!!
Why don't just PM Vladimir & get a quotation.
Rather that walking again with no success.
basSist
post Apr 15 2006, 10:37 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(cfyung85 @ Apr 15 2006, 09:22 PM)
so thats all guys...sorry to inform u guys about the bad news  sad.gif so i think we'll buy seperately then  sad.gif sigh...
hm.. it's okay wink.gif

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 15 2006, 10:23 PM)
And generally i don't like buying from camera shops in KL.
Anyone of the above members from Penang?
Try Foto Easycam in Komtar.

Btw, you fellow's are buying 8 Nikon cameras!!
Why don't just PM Vladimir & get a quotation.
Rather that walking again with no success.
Vladimir?!
i pm him few times for more details and latest prices for cameras..
but he just ignored sad.gif
i think he is too busy with his business aldi.
TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 11:03 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(cyberkid @ Apr 15 2006, 09:45 PM)
How about fotoshangrila?
I think most of the shops think tht u r just a joker for being buying so many cams  tongue.gif
nah...after tarita n boeing i'm off oeldi. tarita is nice cos they explain carefully based on what i told them.

boeing totally sux vmad.gif only urging me to buy canon 350D n forget everything bout nikon. i think that fella wanna faster clear finish all those 350D cameras. i got the chance to get a hold of it anyway n what can i say...DARN SMALL shakehead.gif i cant even fit my fingers into the grip shakehead.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 11:08 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 15 2006, 10:21 PM)
Eh...
there's a way in negotiating price.
when u walk in, straight away ask "i want to buy 6 D70s, what's the best price & package you can offer?".
if the response is negative, simply walk out, no need to talk anymore.

find another shop, repeat the same phrase.
once you get a positive response, then only you go into detail.

u don't go & tell the salesperson, what every member wants. like cyberkid said, they'd think u're a joker.

individual item, can buy individually. concentrate on the main chunk 1st.
when i go into tarita...i explained to them what every member wants n he explained to me carefully n of course no discount since he said he "cant" give any. he's not the boss shakehead.gif

n u tell me to ask the shop "i wan 6 D70s"? u think i didnt do that? n there comes boeing again. i went straight in n ask "i wan 6 D70s n 2 D50" since i'm kinda bored of explaining everything after i did to tarita. well of course that fella look at me like i'm really a total idiot mad.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 11:10 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(yewlin @ Apr 15 2006, 09:42 PM)
got any price about SB600? or SB800? smile.gif

thx
sb600 cost 760 in tarita SG...sb800 should cost bout 1300-1400 smile.gif
basSist
post Apr 15 2006, 11:10 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(cfyung85 @ Apr 15 2006, 11:08 PM)
when i go into tarita...i explained to them what every member wants n he explained to me carefully n of course no discount since he said he "cant" give any. he's not the boss  shakehead.gif

n u tell me to ask the shop "i wan 6 D70s"? u think i didnt do that? n there comes boeing again. i went straight in n ask "i wan 6 D70s n 2 D50" since i'm kinda bored of explaining everything after i did to tarita. well of course that fella look at me like i'm really a total idiot  mad.gif
sorry to let u be a idiot in their eyes.and really thanks for helping all of us here to ask the prices.. dont let the attitude of the staffs influence us. cheers ~ icon_rolleyes.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 11:14 PM

383 posts

anyway i kinda have a nightmare today in SG cry.gif after surveying just 4 shops (3 tarita n 1 boeing) i really can say none gave a single discount. so i can conclude none of the other shops (shangrila fotokem etc.) will give discounts oso sad.gif

n just as an advise...dun ever buy cards in camera shops...they really cost a bomb sweat.gif 1 CF 1Gb oso need 300 bucks sweat.gif

anyway really sorry guys for disappointing u all sad.gif i oso kinda disappointed bcos i thought can bargain but in the end kena bomb balik plak doh.gif
crackie
post Apr 15 2006, 11:17 PM

17 posts

Personally, I appreciate on your effort and of course the tiring session on the letdown attitude of the shop people. You are one of the kind person that take all the trouble for the sake of the community here. You deserve a pat and a kind gesture from all of us in here smile.gif

TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 11:23 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(crackie @ Apr 15 2006, 11:17 PM)
Personally, I appreciate on your effort and of course the tiring session on the letdown attitude of the shop people. You are one of the kind person that take all the trouble for the sake of the community here. You deserve a pat and a kind gesture from all of us in here smile.gif
i dun mind for helping really bcos i oso wanna find a good price for the camera i wanted smile.gif but anyway i think i cannot go back to the boeing (G134) shop liao since i think that fella can recognise me oledi sweat.gif n i oso kinda dun trust him oso in condeming nikon about this n that unless if any forumers here notify it rolleyes.gif he must be a canon fan anyway or just a shopkeeper that wanna clear all those 350D stock tongue.gif

anyway its good knowing u guys!!! biggrin.gif the moment i bought my camera i'll try n post some of the photos in the photo gallery thumbup.gif
scorgio
post Apr 15 2006, 11:47 PM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Apr 15 2006, 10:37 PM)
Vladimir?!
i pm him few times for more details and latest prices for cameras..
but he just ignored  sad.gif
i think he is too busy with his business aldi.
Did you mention it's for 8 Nikon dSLR??
You people, got ACE in hand also don't know how to use. doh.gif
basSist
post Apr 15 2006, 11:50 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 15 2006, 11:47 PM)
Did you mention it's for 8 Nikon dSLR??
You people, got ACE in hand also don't know how to use.  doh.gif
ACE? sorry noob here.what is that actually?

i pmed him about one Nikon DSLR. izzit only One unit so he just dont care much? sweat.gif
scorgio
post Apr 15 2006, 11:56 PM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Apr 15 2006, 11:50 PM)
ACE? sorry noob here.what is that actually?

i pmed him about one Nikon DSLR. izzit only One unit so he just dont care much?  sweat.gif
Forget about that one unit.

We're talking about a potential RM30000 transaction here.

To put it simply, the salesperson in Sg Wang, looked down on your representative. (No offence. But how a person dress, talk, express him/herself can lead to different treatment/attitude)

Heck, if I can get a RM60000 order. I'd register a company & become Nikon Dealer, end of story.

basSist
post Apr 16 2006, 12:06 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

@cfyung85

Please close this thread if u think it's the end of the story about purchasing cameras together. Anything just continue into the D50 vs D70s thread. wink.gif

This post has been edited by basSist: Apr 16 2006, 12:08 AM
TScfyung85
post Apr 16 2006, 12:19 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Apr 16 2006, 12:06 AM)
@cfyung85

Please close this thread if u think it's the end of the story about purchasing cameras together. Anything just continue into the D50 vs D70s thread. wink.gif
kk...but...how to close this thread? doh.gif

0.0209sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:38 PM