Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs

ifer
post Jul 16 2007, 02:07 PM

4,637 posts

that is what i heard about it. apparently 15 inches MBP for both specs are out of stock worldwide, according to some dude in lowyat
ifer
post Jul 17 2007, 12:11 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jul 16 2007, 02:26 PM)
Worldwide? That "dude in lowyat" gotta be kidding.
yeah...
especially the lower spec for 15 inches

another dude in lowyat *coughmacasiacough* told me that the glossy screen is only available on 17 inches spec. is it true?
ifer
post Jul 18 2007, 09:37 PM

4,637 posts

oppsss...
it could be a macstudio...
sorry for the mistake tongue.gif
ifer
post Aug 5 2007, 09:42 PM

4,637 posts

went to pcfair and saw macstudio there. anyway, took a leaflet of the MBP. then went to KLCC and saw machine is opened. went in to have a chat with the sales about the availability of the MBP. then saw their leaflet.

and to my suprise, the machine leaflet mentioned that the 2.2Ghz MBP is giving a 1x2gb RAM. asked the sales person there and she said should be true... but the 2.4 Ghz spec is giving 2x1GB RAM.

funny... hopefully it's true though
ifer
post Aug 5 2007, 10:45 PM

4,637 posts

wow... if it's true wan... then save alot of money leh. no need to buy 2x2gb to max out RAM...

the thing is, i told them if i placed an order now, when will i expect to receive the MBP... they said probably 4 weeks, but cant confirm. cheh!
ifer
post Aug 6 2007, 07:11 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 5 2007, 11:30 PM)
Yeah currently the 15" MBPs are out of stock. I talked to my friend working at the Mac shop at 1 Utama and he said the last guy who ordered the 15" MBP waited about a month. At this rate, I would rather wait for Leopard to be released in October and consider the MBP then  drool.gif
but the sales in machine told me that apple wont sell MBP with leopard in oct. you probably need to wait for a couple of months before MBP comes with leopard...
ifer
post Aug 7 2007, 08:45 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(darkcurse @ Aug 7 2007, 07:59 AM)
Malaysia is not like other countries which actually have Apple Store's instead of just Apple Certified Reseller's. This means one of two things, we don't have much stock since the shops are on their own and are not guaranteed a certain amount of units AND that the latest and greatest doesn't always get passed to us immediately. Generally it takes about 2 weeks when something is announced over in the US to the time it arrives here on our shores and we can actually buy it. And about 4 weeks before we can just walk into the store and get it off the shelf without pre-ordering. The thing is, if you do buy an MBP which has Tiger while over at US MBP's are already being pre-installed with Leopard, Apple will give you a free CPU upgrade pack. If you don't get one, demand one. That is standard procedure.
what is the time frame of this MBP purchase?
i mean, can i book a in sept and get it in oct and got the tiger version and demand a CD?
ifer
post Aug 8 2007, 06:51 PM

4,637 posts

ohh... thanks thanks for the replies
ifer
post Aug 17 2007, 10:47 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Aug 16 2007, 11:26 PM)
I think your friends is very much misinformed on Macs. No way a MBP for 4k.
maybe it is a second hand powerbook
ifer
post Aug 19 2007, 11:08 AM

4,637 posts

the question is... is leopard worth the wait?
seeing that it's like +/- 3 months wait

0.0182sec    0.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:37 AM