Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs

N0eL
post Oct 11 2006, 10:46 PM

1,479 posts

Does the current macbook is capable to run Windows Vista?
N0eL
post Nov 23 2006, 11:35 AM

1,479 posts

Check your timezone setting... Maybe u've set either 1 of the OS to Malaysian timezone which happens to be +8.00 hours from greenwich.
N0eL
post Nov 30 2006, 01:27 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(KTay @ Nov 30 2006, 12:15 PM)
O.O will be seriously interested in that if not for it's lateness delivery of yours. Where did you buy it and how much was the rebate?

EDIT: May i know the macbook pro's x1600 mobility radeon with 128mb is comparable with which Nvidia card? I'm not familiar with ATI gpu. And can i know the gaming quality when running bootcamp on macbookpro?

Wanna make myself sure before getting a macbook pro cause i saw an ad on hp dv9002tx.
U can get all the information u wanted at www.everymac.com........Reviews and comparison with other lappies.. just goggle it. Hope you have enough time to read them all...macworld.com, cnet.com to name a few...
N0eL
post Dec 1 2006, 12:57 AM

1,479 posts

I guess it's best to recharge the bat only once it's drained. If u have your bat fully charged and would like to use the power cord, It is better to take out the bat and let it run on power cord alone.. This will prevent the bat from recharging constantly while u r using ur lappie....
N0eL
post Dec 1 2006, 05:51 PM

1,479 posts

According the the article provided by wei from the apple site. Lithium-ion bat can be charged anytime. There is no need to discharge the bat before recharging it to max again. Apple recommend that u calibrate your bat on a monthly basis though.

A charge cycle means using all of the battery's power, but that doesn't necessarily mean a single charge. For instance, you could listen to your iPod for a few hours one day, using half its power, and then recharge it fully. If you did the same thing the next day, it would count as one charge cycle, not two, so you may take several days to complete a cycle. Each time you complete a charge cycle, it diminishes battery capacity slightly, but you can put both notebook and iPod batteries through many charge cycles before they will only hold 80% of original battery capacity. As with other rechargeable batteries, you may eventually need to replace your battery.

N0eL
post Dec 3 2006, 11:45 AM

1,479 posts

Hey guys.. anyone using et-cetera's Mbp keyboard skin? Do i just Lay it ontop of the keyboard and be done with it?
N0eL
post Dec 6 2006, 11:03 PM

1,479 posts

I'm sure there are freewares lying around somewhere.... I played minesweeper till i spoilt my right click button..Addictive.....
N0eL
post Dec 7 2006, 12:15 PM

1,479 posts

Guys. Does safari support Gesture function? The only reason i'm running firefox and not safari is becoz of this. But firefox is buggy and i have to fire up safari pretty often to view certain pages.

Kindly advice.
N0eL
post Dec 7 2006, 02:27 PM

1,479 posts

Yeah.. I posted on the other forum as well.... Gesture function. It detects mouse movement to execute commands...eg.hold click button and drag to the left will go back to previous page.
N0eL
post Dec 8 2006, 12:32 AM

1,479 posts

Step,

To right click.. Make sure u enable the 2 fingers tab.. Place 2 fingers on the trackpad and hit the click button below the trackpad... So far am unsuccessful clicking with the trackpad..using the click button below..
N0eL
post Dec 8 2006, 11:01 AM

1,479 posts

OEM or full.. Both will do. As long as it's not a windows upgrade to Xp versions.

Multi disc? More than 1 installation disc?
Windows Xp installation disc normally come with 1 disc only. Never come across anything more than that so far.

N0eL
post Dec 20 2006, 09:59 PM

1,479 posts

Ktay,

I've run BF21942 with high video settings on my 2.16 C2D 2GB ram MBP. No problem at all...Using bootcamp and winXp . The loading part is abit slow though. Game play seems smooth with no lagging. I didn't expect it as my machine only with ATI X1600 128mb.

Mind me though, i'm not a gamer, just testing the machine.
N0eL
post Dec 21 2006, 06:43 PM

1,479 posts

cazed,

U mean U can't view your Mac partition from windows? That's normal because Windows wont be able to detect Mac's portion.

If u wanna transfer file between the two... boot OS X and do it...
N0eL
post Jan 5 2007, 06:11 PM

1,479 posts

Cazed,

I dont think the cooler gonna solve your problem. U gonna use it even when u r on the road?

Take your macbook back for a warantee claim asap. try not to use it anymore if it is plagued with a heating problem to prevent further damage.
N0eL
post Jan 5 2007, 07:07 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 5 2007, 06:46 PM)
eh new macbook coming out will the old one drop price ah???
The old one was being sold at RM 3699, but I dont think there r stocks available anymore.
N0eL
post Jan 6 2007, 12:38 AM

1,479 posts

Cazed,

YOur mb is only 2 weeks old? Give u more reason to send it back to the shop. Make use of the warantee given by u while it's still available. Fix the problem for free now before u gotta take out money for something bigger later.

I'm not using a mb, i cant tell u what is the normal temp, but my mbp normally runs around 40c to 45c. i'm using a fan controller which u can download at http://www.lobotomo.com/products/FanControl/ .

porkchop,

Rm 3699 was for the 1.83 CD. Macstudio and Machines were selling at that price before their stock ran out. I dont think u can find a new one anymore. U can get a used one though. Plenty of mb cd users selling it in order to get the latest C2D.

N0eL
post Jan 6 2007, 09:49 AM

1,479 posts

Cazed,

My Fancontroller setup and speed as shown below :-

This post has been edited by N0eL: Jan 6 2007, 09:49 AM
N0eL
post Jan 26 2007, 12:44 PM

1,479 posts

Apple just released software update "Airport Extreme update 2007-001". I've installed it and not sure if it unlocked 802.11n on my mbp. How can I check for wifi compatibility? I don't have 802.11n wifi router.....
N0eL
post Apr 7 2007, 02:44 AM

1,479 posts

I ain't sure if i'm correct but it;s just an opinion of mine....

Windows os does not have the apps to control mac hardwares as efficient as OS X (eg. power, fan speed, heat detection etc etc).

This might cause your mbp to overheat if u leave it running windows for a long period of time.
N0eL
post Apr 29 2007, 12:35 AM

1,479 posts

Apple has recently discovered that some batteries used in its MacBook and MacBook Pro notebooks may have battery performance issues. Apple is offering a software update that is designed to improve battery performance.

The battery update is available immediately via Software Update or downloadable here.

Note: The factors causing the performance issues do not present a safety risk. You may continue to use your current battery.

This battery update should be run on all MacBook and MacBook Pro computers and extra batteries that were purchased between February 2006 and April 2007.

If, after you have installed the battery update, your battery has any of the symptoms listed below, please make a reservation to bring your computer with its battery to your local Apple Retail Store, or contact an Apple Authorized Service Provider (AASP), or call your local Apple Support Contact Center. If Apple or an AASP determines that your battery is eligible for replacement, you will receive a new battery, free of charge, even if your MacBook or MacBook Pro is out of warranty.

For MacBook and MacBook Pro systems with Intel Core Duo processors, this program extends repair coverage on the battery for up to two years from the date of purchase of the computer.

Identifying an affected battery

Affected batteries will have one or more of the following symptoms:

* Battery is not recognized causing an "X" to appear in the battery icon in the Finder menu bar.
    * Battery will not charge when computer is plugged into AC power.
    * Battery exhibits low charge capacity/runtime when using a fully charged battery with a battery cycle count (as shown in System Profiler) of less than 300.
    * Battery pack is visibly deformed.
Source : http://www.apple.com/support/macbook_macbo.../batteryupdate/

0.0339sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:18 PM