Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs

tcs
post Jan 30 2007, 11:07 AM

He's so good i just can't think of a caption
4,637 posts

Wanna know whether

1) C2D models still have heat problem? How's the battery life with wifi on/off?

2) The built-in BT is v2.0 + EDR? What are the profiles supported? A2DP/AVRCP?

This post has been edited by tcs: Jan 30 2007, 11:10 AM
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 01:16 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

tcs,

1) I haven't had problems with heat issues on my C2D MBP
2) Unable to assist on batt life since usually I'm on plugged onto PSU but the few times I was plugged off, it lasted me about 4hrs before I had to plug in... will give it a test again soon and keep u informed...
3) Haven't tested BT on this so hEHeh no comments either.. SoweeeZzz..... doh.gif
xandman
post Jan 30 2007, 01:48 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

agree with tinkerbel...
1 - heat not a prob...
2 - batt life? same case...no comment...always plugged in...
3 - Bt i heard doesnt support the stereo thingy...not sure what it's called...
lokgotz
post Jan 30 2007, 02:05 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 30 2007, 01:48 PM)
agree with tinkerbel...
1 - heat not a prob...
2 - batt life? same case...no comment...always plugged in...
3 - Bt i heard doesnt support the stereo thingy...not sure what it's called...
1-using a CD MB, cannot comment on C2D
2-cannot comment also......
3-it's called A2DP......dunno if it supports A2DP or not.....hehe
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 02:11 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

lokgotz,
Cannot comment then don't post lah, SPAM!! kEKekekKEkekeke brows.gif And besides i think u can still share with us the heat issues and whatever not cause there are people out there who might want to know too smile.gif
lokgotz
post Jan 30 2007, 06:19 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 30 2007, 02:11 PM)
lokgotz,
Cannot comment then don't post lah, SPAM!! kEKekekKEkekeke  brows.gif And besides i think u can still share with us the heat issues and whatever not cause there are people out there who might want to know too smile.gif
haha....i didnt know this thread is post count enabled again.......

anyway, the heat on my CD MB makes it not possible to be used on the lap...........

no issues on overheating though....hehehe
civic98
post Jan 30 2007, 08:12 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jan 30 2007, 02:05 PM)
1-using a CD MB, cannot comment on C2D
2-cannot comment also......
3-it's called A2DP......dunno if it supports A2DP or not.....hehe
No A2DP support for OSX till Leopard. One of the ugly side of OSX.
jae
post Jan 30 2007, 10:19 PM

359 posts

finally received my macbook just now rclxms.gif
still exploring and trying to understand this whole concept of mac osx..
btw i was having it on my lap just now and it felt kinda hot though not to the extent of unbearable, but still quite noticable, i was thinking of getting a notebook cooler, any of you guys here using it as well? and just a noobish question, can i plug a normal usb mouse and use it or must i use apple's mouse? and also i'm thinking of getting a small standalone speaker to use while keeping it at home, again the same question can i just buy the normal speaker and pop it into my macbook?
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 10:49 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Congrats! I bet ur currently playing around with ur MB as I type this reply to u *grins*

I had smcFan control installed in my MBP so u may want to do the same for urs - it may help in reducing temperatures... Also, it was made known to me earlier that this is a notebook, not a laptop (cause prolonged 'lap' use may cause burns!) heehEhe....

In answering ur questions:-
1) Yes U can plug a normal USB mouse and use it on ur MB - I know it works but have no idea how the double clicks and all work cause i'm trying real hard at learning to use the trackpad blush.gif

2) Yes, surely u can buy a normal speaker - just make sure the plug fits but that ought to be universal so i don't see a problem thumbup.gif

Have fun with ur MB thumbup.gif
KTay
post Jan 30 2007, 11:04 PM

247 posts

Everyone here has a mac except me cry.gif
ed0gawa
post Jan 30 2007, 11:11 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

Indeed not suitable to be put on the lap.... it is hot..
According to the "iStat Pro widget", my MB enclosure can go more than 30 degree after some time of usage...

I tried putting on my lap... for 10 second.. thats all i can "Tahan"

normal USB mouse work just fine

Battery life is good i must say....
jae
post Jan 30 2007, 11:41 PM

359 posts

hehe i'm currently downloading the updates and some softwares, kinda slow though but that's due to my slow connection to the internet...
btw i downloaded the msn messenger for mac but i dont seem to be able to login, i'm using the newest version btw, any comment on how to solve this? and will i be able to use the iSight webcam with my msn or must i use it with iChat?
siaukia
post Jan 30 2007, 11:48 PM

1,491 posts

another fanboy joined the wagon tongue.gif
jae, i'm using adiumx which does most of the job the msn can do in windows counterpart, http://www.adiumx.com/ use it and no turning back tongue.gif

oh yes...it feels different....tq for those who helped me tongue.gif

p.s. - indeed the mb is evil...so many hidden things to explore, esp with the trackpad...
ed0gawa
post Jan 30 2007, 11:50 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Jan 30 2007, 11:48 PM)
another fanboy joined the wagon tongue.gif
jae, i'm using adiumx which does most of the job the msn can do in windows counterpart, http://www.adiumx.com/ use it and no turning back tongue.gif

oh yes...it feels different....tq for those who helped me tongue.gif

p.s. - indeed the mb is evil...so many hidden things to explore, esp with the trackpad...
Congratz.. u also buy liao

I only know how to "right click" with my trackpad after 1 week of purchasing.. lol
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 11:56 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

siaukia,
A lot of hidden things with the trackpad meh? Like wat like wat?! I had to do a complicated and complex spreadsheet today and there I was clicking Insert Column/Delete Row until my hand also numb! kEKekekek Was tempted to plug in a mouse but figured I'm not gonna succumb to that ! kEkekekekEKkeke.... but i just might for spreadsheet purposes... Come on.. Open another thread and start sharing the trackpad secrets puhllllleeeeaassseee...? notworthy.gif

jae,
Keep trying to login using Live Messenger for Mac - u'll be bound to get in but there's been complains of login difficulties. As suggested, u may want to try Adium out - it's pretty alright too once other than for the stupid emoticons which doesn't work entirely well on Adium nod.gif

What cha downloading neways?

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jan 30 2007, 11:56 PM
jae
post Jan 31 2007, 12:04 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 30 2007, 11:56 PM)
siaukia,
A lot of hidden things with the trackpad meh?  Like wat like wat?!  I had to do a complicated and complex spreadsheet today and there I was clicking Insert Column/Delete Row until my hand also numb! kEKekekek Was tempted to plug in a mouse but figured I'm not gonna succumb to that ! kEkekekekEKkeke.... but i just might for spreadsheet purposes... Come on.. Open another thread and start sharing the trackpad secrets puhllllleeeeaassseee...?  notworthy.gif

jae,
Keep trying to login using Live Messenger for Mac - u'll be bound to get in but there's been complains of login difficulties.  As suggested, u may want to try Adium out - it's pretty alright too once other than for the stupid emoticons which doesn't work entirely well on Adium  nod.gif

What cha downloading neways?
lol i accidentally found out that i can use 2 fingers to scroll the page down after hours of exploring, definitely alot easier than clicking on the scroll down button..
anyway i'm currently downloading NeoOffice, but since i am having my bt running on the other computer, that caused the downloading speed to be pretty slow.. already had mozzila downloaded, but i'm still not used to using the trackpad, too used to the mouse gestures in my other comp, and with all the buttons missing, i have no idea how to open a new tab after having 4 running hmm.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 31 2007, 12:10 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

jae,
It's gonna take awhile to get used to the trackpad - like i said I'm still trying to get used to mine..... Er, to 'right click' just put 2 fingers on the trackpad and click the button and voila, there u go.. ur right click... from there just select 'New Window' and another Window will pop up biggrin.gif

I was just about to delete NeoOffice from my system since I've Mac Office 2004 installed...waste space! kEkekekek but hEHeheh the fact it took me awhile to download it I'm wondering if i should just keep it ! kEKekekke rclxub.gif

Safari's serving me pretty well so I'll use that hence no need for fanciful downloads like Mozzila ! kEKekekke..... Anything else?! Oh, try Azureus for BT - it works fine for me [though admittedly, I haven't did any settings and am just using the default!! but who cares so as long as it works!]. Only thing I don't like is the ugly looking blue frog!! doh.gif
siaukia
post Jan 31 2007, 12:31 AM

1,491 posts

hahaha,

seriously, i [sarcasm]hate apple[/sarcasm] to keep us always go like 'ohhh.omgomgomglolwtf..got this 1 ahhh!' after hour of exploring, and new secrets keep on pops out

yeah jae, i went like wtf when i realized i could do scrolling with 2 finger on the track pad.

tinkerbel : try holding down the ctrl button and then put to finger on the trackpad and scroll, then post back here what you found tongue.gif

yeah, forme, i felt quite weird to use firefox in my mb, not thati ts not good, but its that safari is already damn good also, which pretty pointless to use another good browser unless in case of emergency, but yeah, safari does rawk tongue.gif

lokgotz
post Jan 31 2007, 12:32 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

to open a tab in safari, just press
Command + T
to close, just press Command + W

siaukia
post Jan 31 2007, 12:34 AM

1,491 posts

probably i'll might take back what i say, i guess somehow firefox will be useful when i start my job in my mb, where i need to extensively use the extensions for web developer hmm...

98 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:05 AM