Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs

goldfries
post Nov 30 2006, 10:59 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

guys, i need some info - just got my macbook today.

some fella once told a friend of mine that it's not good to always connect the power adaptor to the mac. best to only connect it when the battery is low, as this will prolong battery life.

how true is that?
AFAIK http://www.rojakpot.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=346&pgno=8
artyca
post Nov 30 2006, 11:20 PM

53 posts

my power adaptor is connected 24/7 and battery is always fully charged. So far, no problems... disconnect the power adaptor and the battery shows 3 hours plus charge remaining....
I think it's just a myth...
n20nine
post Nov 30 2006, 11:25 PM

909 posts

i always used to connect the power to my lappie. but there are two types of adapters that come with the macbook, right? one is meant for use in the US (the shorter one) and the long one is meant for use out of US, thats what the technician from CG told me, as I used to have static charges at the edges of my old PowerBook. Not sure about the new Macbooks.
aMDCoPPeR
post Dec 1 2006, 12:43 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 30 2006, 10:59 PM)
guys, i need some info - just got my macbook today.

some fella once told a friend of mine that it's not good to always connect the power adaptor to the mac. best to only connect it when the battery is low, as this will prolong battery life.

how true is that?
AFAIK http://www.rojakpot.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=346&pgno=8
This is true. Apple recommends that you let it drain the battery at least ONCE a month.
N0eL
post Dec 1 2006, 12:57 AM

1,479 posts

I guess it's best to recharge the bat only once it's drained. If u have your bat fully charged and would like to use the power cord, It is better to take out the bat and let it run on power cord alone.. This will prevent the bat from recharging constantly while u r using ur lappie....
goldfries
post Dec 1 2006, 11:46 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(aMDCoPPeR @ Dec 1 2006, 12:43 AM)
This is true. Apple recommends that you let it drain the battery at least ONCE a month.
any source for that?

cos i just got my Macbook yesterday and it's now at full charge. just want to know how to care for the battery. biggrin.gif

time to go apple.com's discussion forum.........
wei
post Dec 1 2006, 12:03 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

goldfries:
link 1
link 2
link 3

This post has been edited by wei: Dec 1 2006, 12:04 PM
MacDaNife
post Dec 1 2006, 12:04 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 1 2006, 11:46 AM)
any source for that?

cos i just got my Macbook yesterday and it's now at full charge. just want to know how to care for the battery. biggrin.gif

time to go apple.com's discussion forum.........
AFAIK only NiCad batteries had a memory effect that required a full discharge. The present generation batteries do not require a full discharge any longer. And since they have a limited number of charge-discharge cycles: keeping the battery at full charge *should* prolong it's lifespan.

That much said: even if you keep it in shrinkwrap in your fridge: it is unlikely to perform as new two/three years from now and you're likely to have to buy a replacement. Batteries are listed as "disposables" or to be more politically correct "recycleable" for a good reason.

*edited* just read the linked (by Wei) recommendations by Apple to fully discharge the battery every month... Since it's recommended by Apple I guess it's now gospel... blush.gif

This post has been edited by MacDaNife: Dec 1 2006, 12:18 PM
wei
post Dec 1 2006, 12:35 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

hint hint.... marketing ploy for more batteries sales....
civic98
post Dec 1 2006, 01:56 PM

1,255 posts

Its better to leave the battery in the notebook even if on cable, unused battery will lose power eventually and u will have to charge it again, there u lose a cycle or 2. If u do remove the batteries, i remember somewhere saying its best to store batteries at 40% charge only.
pukarix
post Dec 1 2006, 05:00 PM

1,053 posts

so which is which now?i juz got my macbook today...curently charging for the first time...
civic98
post Dec 1 2006, 05:37 PM

1,255 posts

I think I found the answer, that you do not have to worry about the notebook charging your battery all the time while on cable, look into your System Profiler under Power, you will notice that with the cable connected, it says there not charging. So you really dont need to remove your batteries.
N0eL
post Dec 1 2006, 05:51 PM

1,479 posts

According the the article provided by wei from the apple site. Lithium-ion bat can be charged anytime. There is no need to discharge the bat before recharging it to max again. Apple recommend that u calibrate your bat on a monthly basis though.

A charge cycle means using all of the battery's power, but that doesn't necessarily mean a single charge. For instance, you could listen to your iPod for a few hours one day, using half its power, and then recharge it fully. If you did the same thing the next day, it would count as one charge cycle, not two, so you may take several days to complete a cycle. Each time you complete a charge cycle, it diminishes battery capacity slightly, but you can put both notebook and iPod batteries through many charge cycles before they will only hold 80% of original battery capacity. As with other rechargeable batteries, you may eventually need to replace your battery.

KTay
post Dec 2 2006, 04:50 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(yetieater @ Nov 30 2006, 05:28 PM)
Benchmarks put the X1600 in the MBP as being able to pump out at least 60 FPS constant in Counter-Strike: Source.  Bumping clock speeds up to stock speeds instead of the throttled speeds that Apple imposes boosts performance considerably.  Expect around 80 FPS with high settings, 1024x768 if I'm not mistaken.

Here's some quick reading, just a thread:
http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=47449

Seems like the X1600 is comparable to the NVIDIA 7600, if you're familiar with that card.
Thanks much, that means i'll be able to play battlefield 2142 on bootcamp then =)
evilhomura89
post Dec 2 2006, 07:09 PM

5,886 posts

"Off the shelf" both are configured with 2.0 GHz Intel "Core 2 Duo" processors (T7200) -- each with two independent processor "cores" on a single silicon chip on a 667 MHz frontside bus and Intel GMA 950 "integrated graphics" with 64 MB of system memory "borrowed" on the MacBook and 128 MB on the VAIO.

Got this quote from this page - http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macb...-sony-vaio.html
I would like to know, with more RAM in yr MB, can u increase the amount of memory "borrowed" to the intergrated graphic?? If yes, what's the max value??
goldfries
post Dec 2 2006, 08:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Dec 1 2006, 12:03 PM)
yup. i've just read the same documents last night (link 1 and 2)

and i've browse the discussion. there's nothing about discharging before recharing, it's just the month battery calibration.

probably the mac-tech misunderstood this.

If you don't use your device often, be sure to complete a charge cycle at least once per month.

this should be what the calibration is for.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Dec 2 2006, 08:59 PM
N0eL
post Dec 3 2006, 11:45 AM

1,479 posts

Hey guys.. anyone using et-cetera's Mbp keyboard skin? Do i just Lay it ontop of the keyboard and be done with it?
yetieater
post Dec 5 2006, 10:06 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

Anyone for a 12" MBP?

http://www.macscoop.com/articles/2006/11/1...red-macbook-pro

MacWorld might mean good news for those waiting for the MBP in a smaller form factor.
artyca
post Dec 5 2006, 10:59 PM

53 posts

i don't know how true this rumour could be... It would mean a so-called downgrade for the MBP... and how would the pricing be in relation to the MB? The product line-up would be rather cluttered and there would be risks of cannibalization between product lines...
Knowing Apple, i don't think they would go down this path. Just my 2 cents worth...smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 11:11 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

I'm actually quite surprised to know there are so many people out there (possibly in the West?) whose preference is towards a smaller sized screen. Guess it's very much due to portability issues.

In my opinion, if Apple's to re-introduce a 12", it prob and could be either an entire new line, or may be the MB. To introduce it as a compact, more portable MBP seems like a 'weird' strategy to me *shrugs*

98 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:28 AM