Finding time for video games, vg/family/friends/job/net/tv/study etc..
TSamy test
Apr 15 2006, 02:18 AM, updated 20y ago
how do you find time to play video games..?
we all have the same 24 hours per day.. how do you allocate the time for your favourite games..? i mean.. we all have other things to attend to, right? (and if you don't then you're sad..) and how some of you find the time to play multiple games on multiple consoles really amazes me.. takde kerja lain ke..?
for me.. time for games is really scarce.. work/study/family/friends/astro/chores etc.. daytime is occupied with work and other daily activities.. and during night time astro never cease to churn out programs to fascinate me (although some may disagree).. and if i don't watch the tv.. then my other family members will.. then there's the internet.. aiiyyoo.. pening kepala..!! bila mau main gaaaaaaame..???
even though i have a ps2.. i really have to find time to play it.. good console games are (mostly) quite long.. and i have no time for that.. plus the only tv in my house always have the astro on.. the only time the tv is free is when nobody's home (uncommon) or everybody's sleeping (me sleepy oso).. usually those are the times i'll play..
i miss my console games.. even though i can afford the xbox360/ps3/revolution if i want it.. but i'm afraid that i won't have the time to play it..
so now i mainly play portables for my gaming fix.. dat oso haf to steal-steal time.. have to spend time with the family too you know..
sorry for the long essay.. but.. how do you find time to play games..? when do you usually play? how gaming affects your real life (if any)?
suggestions accepted
but, for me, right now it's portables for the win..
This post has been edited by amy test: Apr 15 2006, 02:25 AM
clemong_888
Apr 15 2006, 07:53 AM
i got no family to take care of n being a student i tend to get more time i guess. i hardly play consoles anymore , mostly ds though. stimes i get carried away while playing, e.g don study.
snipersnake
Apr 15 2006, 11:22 AM
ah, a VERY good topic at last  how do you find time to play games..? - i dunno, i just do it when do you usually play? - waiting dinner, waiting for my reports to be generated, waiting for clients how gaming affects your real life (if any)? - i can tell, but u will say i m psycho pulaks
DjiNn
Apr 15 2006, 11:24 AM
mostly I usually play all my games at midnight (when going to sleep) especially if I'm off tommorow. I will be playing xbox live until crazy
Lord_Ashe
Apr 16 2006, 02:01 AM
I try and get in some PS2/Xbox action during the weekends, but that's usually cause my gf's busy on the DS. Otherwise, I don't really have much time for games, which is why I bring the DS to work and go on a Metroid bot session if I get stressed out, or Ouendan.
Once you have a job and other responsibilities, slotting time for games is quite a challenge...
TSamy test
Apr 16 2006, 10:37 AM
^^ a challenge indeed..
wonder how gamers with children get along..? wife, kids, work..?
(hehe.. wonders if judge-the's avatar is his kid..)
jason83
Apr 17 2006, 02:11 AM
brother, im facing the same problem as u are, yes i am working, but my gf not here, my family not here, but i got internet, got online games, got dota online, and i have a huge collection of pc games (i havent own a console but planning to buy one soon), and the internet gives me a lot of tv series and well... there is just so many things to do within so little time
so now what i do is to get into portable gaming, not necessarily to buy a psp or ds or gba, i just load those games onto my 6600 and play....
other than that, try to talk less to ppl online, or reject your frens' invitation for online games, more time to play games but risk of losing your frens...
hehehehehe
smallfry
Apr 18 2006, 03:34 PM
Ya, its stressful to play games at night and work in the morning. What I did was to check out the tv guide first before swtiching on the TV. Ill only watch that show and that's it. switch from TV mode to game mode. I'll usually stuck in front of my console after dinner till after midnight (1 or 2 am). Than suffer abit la in the morning. (Woke up at 8am..hihi) Got gf but she's in KL (Im in Penang) but still gotta give priority to call her. Family; went back hometown and bring my console back also. hihi.. sure got time to play as my parents gotta work as well during the weekend. About you not getting the tv, if you are working already, just get a tv and put it in your room. you've got privacy and got time to play your fav game. Luckily I don have Internet.ihih. Cant imagine if I were to play online RPG game besides chatting. hihihihi Dont fret. I believe this generation will be into video games even we get older and have our own family.
This post has been edited by smallfry: Apr 18 2006, 03:35 PM
Kite
Apr 18 2006, 09:40 PM
Dark Tipper
QUOTE ........even though i can afford the xbox360/ps3/revolution if i want it.. it seems your problem is not enough TV ? then get another one , just for yourself ~
nbee
Apr 18 2006, 11:00 PM

wow, wouldn't some of the games give more stress 2 gamers? e.g. ARGHHHHHH!!!! F*** this S***y level, i cant get through it!!! lol
i play my games not concerning about a thing that's going on, that's why i'm always scolded...
onimusha_m16
Apr 19 2006, 02:44 PM
need to masturbate some more....where got time? if i play, i will play one or 2 day kaw kaw to finish a game.. then stop for a long period..
heterosapiens
Apr 20 2006, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(amy test @ Apr 16 2006, 10:37 AM) (hehe.. wonders if judge-the's avatar is his kid..) yes that is his princess...i still remember one of his post... QUOTE(judge-the @ Apr 17 2006, 01:50 PM) hehehe kameo still hot just arrived this morning. sure tonight co-op but if possible make it after 10.30pm because need to wait for my daughter to sleep 1st. really respect his wife and himself... how do you find time to play games..? when do you usually play?about the topic...i can safely say that i stop playing games the way i used to play it back then...currently got much more important thing to do, currently i do play when exam is over or just to release stress...maybe when i get my next gen console(don't ask me which one  ), the old me will be unleash again.. how gaming affects your real life (if any)?it determined my future... This post has been edited by heterosapiens: Apr 20 2006, 04:38 PM
PhoenixByte
Apr 26 2006, 03:57 PM
Weekends early in the morning OR really late at night. Other time..socialize and work la.
Blackhart
Apr 28 2006, 12:02 PM
Haha when I was in secondary school my mind was about games only.Now its difficult for me to find time to get into games so I just play simple or old games only like Tetris or Mortal Kombat.
fariq_azad
May 2 2006, 12:00 PM
hmmmm good topic.... I will spend some time on my PS2 before I go to sleep (hmm dun know if I can still do this when im married hehe) but at the moment I use my PSP to play games at the lounge area while my family watches TV (some soap opera) as long as my presence is there.. i guess enough kot hehe
TSamy test
May 3 2006, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(Kite @ Apr 18 2006, 09:40 PM) it seems your problem is not enough TV ? then get another one , just for yourself ~  tv i can get la kite... it's the time.. the time i tell you..
chenster
May 4 2006, 02:40 PM
same here.. work, tv series, animes and relationships.. how to manage to play games? the only games i play now is my PSP.. even my PSP also gathering dust now..
how how? if only during college time.. play games until bored.. totally no social life.. hahahaha!
vivaldi
May 5 2006, 02:57 PM

I'll be in XBOX LIVE after my work...since I'm working on shift...so from time to time I play with different ppl from different countries... kinda fun though!!!