Is Toyota Wish worth to buy?

TSleefk
post Apr 7 2013, 12:04 AM, updated 13y ago

97 posts

Hi, would like to get some valuable info here about the Toyota wish. May I know is it a good mpv and worthy ? What is the best price can get for the new facelift 2009/2010 model nowadays?
ImUrDaddY
post Apr 7 2013, 12:05 AM

461 posts

nop
jaylim94
post Apr 7 2013, 12:14 AM

522 posts

Y not Exora Bold? Anti-Proton?
TSleefk
post Apr 7 2013, 12:16 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(ImUrDaddY @ Apr 7 2013, 12:05 AM)
nop
Good answer, but not convincing. Would appreciate if can provide some reasons why. I believe thats the main purpose of forum which to share knowledge.
TSleefk
post Apr 7 2013, 12:19 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(jaylim94 @ Apr 7 2013, 12:14 AM)
Y not Exora Bold? Anti-Proton?
Would like to stick to plan on either wish or estima. But estima seems a little over budget, some more may consume more petrol.
jaylim94
post Apr 7 2013, 12:31 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(leefk @ Apr 7 2013, 12:19 AM)
Would like to stick to plan on either wish or estima. But estima seems a little over budget, some more may consume more petrol.
Toyota Wish is better than Estima if you worry about FC
TSleefk
post Apr 7 2013, 12:38 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(jaylim94 @ Apr 7 2013, 12:31 AM)
Toyota Wish is better than Estima if you worry about FC
Do you have experience driving wish? May I know how is the performance and car quality?
Oldskolboyz
post Apr 7 2013, 12:41 AM

1,422 posts

In 2009 I bought 1 2003 T.Wish.. and until today I don't face any problem at all not even small problem.. It worth or not is up to personal preference & time..

1) Some would prefer New Car + Warranty (Longer)+ Frequently Pay Visit to SC more worthy. (Lemon Unit, mostly more than Apple unit nowdays)

2) Some would prefer Reckon + Short Warranty (<6months) + Less Pay Visit to Workshop.....

I always choose no 2 coz I don't have extra time to reserved for SC or Workshop & the worst part I can not buy time even one minute..

This post has been edited by Oldskolboyz: Apr 7 2013, 12:42 AM
jaylim94
post Apr 7 2013, 12:41 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(leefk @ Apr 7 2013, 12:38 AM)
Do you have experience driving wish? May I know how is the performance and car quality?
Sorry no sweat.gif Just research from internet
TSleefk
post Apr 7 2013, 12:48 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Apr 7 2013, 12:41 AM)
In 2009 I bought 1 2003 T.Wish.. and until today I don't face any problem at all not even small problem.. It worth or not is up to personal preference & time..

1) Some would prefer New Car + Warranty (Longer)+ Frequently Pay Visit to SC more worthy. (Lemon Unit, mostly more than Apple unit nowdays)

2) Some would prefer Reckon + Short Warranty (<6months) + Less Pay Visit to Workshop.....

I always choose no 2 coz I don't have extra time to reserved for SC or Workshop & the worst part I can not buy time even one minute..
Thanks for info.
TSleefk
post Apr 7 2013, 12:48 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(jaylim94 @ Apr 7 2013, 12:41 AM)
Sorry no  sweat.gif  Just research from internet
No worries. smile.gif
theanswer
post Apr 7 2013, 01:37 AM

1,024 posts

good mpv from reliable brand. nothing to shout about. if got money, better go for mazda 5.
estima 2.4 a bit heavy but the engine is smooth.
anangryorc
post Apr 7 2013, 01:49 AM

597 posts

new wish?

taiwan (mandarin) review:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U2WpzDHjtt4
kadajawi
post Apr 7 2013, 01:23 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Apr 7 2013, 12:41 AM)

Huh? All new cars are lemons, and all second hand cars are problem free? Now while I have to admit I had similar experiences (and so am recommending not so old second hand cars if the price is really good), I do think most wouldn't agree.

Also, to me recon is worse than second hand, because recon surely means they dialed back the mileage. They usually only do cosmetical things to make the car _look_ like new.

Basically, buying a recon can mean your car will have a very big and expensive issue soon after you bought it, and there is no warranty to cover up for it.

The Wish isn't exactly big, is it? More like a Grand Livina with better quality and performance... I'd rather get a conti MPV.
windwong
post Apr 7 2013, 08:17 PM

196 posts

I was so interested with wish and wanted to buy as the new design looks so cool and read so much good review on it.

One fine day I finally went to a recond car agent nearby. Dont know is lucky or unlucky. Once I sit on the recond unit......that particular unit was not touch up yet. a bit of scratch here and there (dashboard, side door board......) It looks more like a second hand car to me.

OK well...is a recond unit. Is still a nice car i told myself.....but then when i switch on the engine the GPS show im in tokyo and all in japanese....... I was like, er.....that means i have to change the panel again??? and what? warranty 3 month?

I did not further test drive the car. I told myself I dont want a second hand car. I switch to Grand livina, then....bought Alza tongue.gif

P/s actually if u can wait, wait for kia carens, should be somewhere 3rd/4th quater this year.

This post has been edited by windwong: Apr 7 2013, 08:18 PM
Oldskolboyz
post Apr 7 2013, 11:13 PM

1,422 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Apr 7 2013, 01:23 PM)
Huh? All new cars are lemons, and all second hand cars are problem free? Now while I have to admit I had similar experiences (and so am recommending not so old second hand cars if the price is really good), I do think most wouldn't agree.

Also, to me recon is worse than second hand, because recon surely means they dialed back the mileage. They usually only do cosmetical things to make the car _look_ like new.

Basically, buying a recon can mean your car will have a very big and expensive issue soon after you bought it, and there is no warranty to cover up for it.

The Wish isn't exactly big, is it? More like a Grand Livina with better quality and performance... I'd rather get a conti MPV.
Your family got one or not? My sister own it, so I know what kind of problem she face & how much time he need to spend for SC & some isssue still there until today, so has to be live with it....
TSleefk
post Apr 7 2013, 11:55 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(anangryorc @ Apr 7 2013, 01:49 AM)
new wish?

taiwan (mandarin) review:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U2WpzDHjtt4
Thanks for the link
kadajawi
post Apr 8 2013, 12:45 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Apr 7 2013, 11:13 PM)
Your family got one or not? My sister own it, so I know what kind of problem she face & how much time he need to spend for SC & some isssue still there until today, so has to be live with it....
No. I was just looking at the general idea of the car... both are slightly taller station wagons that have another row of seats at the back. Another example would be the Dacia Logan MCV (which is probably closer to the GL, both being budget cars made by Renault-Nissan).

You can also buy a second hand/recon lemon though. There may be a reason why people sell their still quite new car... they may know of an upcoming expensive problem, it may have been a lemon that the owner wants to get rid off, etc. Basically no matter how hard you try you can still have bad luck (though it is possible to minimize that). But the big difference between a second hand car/recon and a new car is: The new car will be annoying if it is constantly at the SC. The second hand car/recon will be all the same, PLUS you'll be bankrupt because you have to pay for the repairs.

IMHO if you buy second hand (or recon, same thing, though IMHO second hand cars are more honest, more trustworthy), buy below your budget. Leave yourself some room to breathe, just in case there is a problem.
sfotsy
post Apr 10 2013, 11:50 PM

196 posts

Estima, Alphard, Wellfire and Wish, theirs parts is more expensive
bizz3189
post Apr 11 2013, 11:30 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(sfotsy @ Apr 10 2013, 11:50 PM)
Estima, Alphard, Wellfire and Wish, theirs parts is more expensive
for wish spare parts still affordable price also can get in chop shop parts
but if compare estima,alphard & vellfire this 3 model consider luxury mpv
that why almost parts more expensive compare to wish...but lots of demand
olso its one factor parts its more expensive even u buy 2nd hand parts at chop shop
(experience accompany my friend changes all alphard absober (4 pcs)
cost him almost 4k inc labour fee) shocking.gif rclxub.gif
Daniel John
post Apr 11 2013, 11:43 AM

38 posts

estima is luxury MPV? i dun think so...what so luxury about it? hehehe...plastic dashboard too...shouldnt it wrapped wit leather at least? huhuhu...

if getting recond...do check everything and get the longest warranty that it can offer...like kadajawi said...it can broke down soon after u drive out the showroom...

kadajawi
post Apr 11 2013, 11:50 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Apr 11 2013, 11:43 AM)
estima is luxury MPV? i dun think so...what so luxury about it? hehehe...plastic dashboard too...shouldnt it wrapped wit leather at least? huhuhu...

if getting recond...do check everything and get the longest warranty that it can offer...like kadajawi said...it can broke down soon after u drive out the showroom...
It is considered luxury here IMHO. And to be honest, it is playing in the same class as lets say a Sharan. Those aren't cheap cars (though the Sharan is worth it more than the Estima).

4k for second hand absorbers? One set of suspension spheres for a Citroen is around 1k if ordered from Europe... laugh.gif
post Apr 11 2013, 02:53 PM

1,447 posts

Estima is medium upper class vehicle here Malaysia...... i wont said it is luxury since there are so many on the road and a recond car just cost as much as a new D segment car in Malaysia.
wkngisaac
post Apr 12 2013, 02:03 PM

I just change Wish (03) absorber which cost me around RM8XX per pair- front. As understand from the spare part shop, the parts between the Wish, Estima and Alphard/Vellfire are not much difference. However, the mounting for Estima is more expensive than Alphard.

Additional, I also just changed the Wish boot absorber and cost me RM8XX per pair. because it is made from Germany that cost sky high.

0.0169sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:39 AM