Science Full time 1 year postgrad/master in Malaysia, Such course exist or not in Malaysia?

TSplayboyzzz_21
post Apr 6 2013, 12:31 PM, updated 13y ago

92 posts

Hello all

Can anyone tell me is there any course for postgraduate that I can take for only 1 year in Malaysia? most of course I found required 1 & 1/2 years or 2 years to obtain master degree.

My current education
Course: Bachelor in Chemical Engineering Technology in Process
CGPA: 3.02 / 4.00
Final Year Project: Optimization of the Electrocoagulation Process for the Removal of Turbidity, Chemical Oxygen Demand and Heavy Metals in Industrial Wastewater

*I want to save time actually thats why I try to avoid learning to obtain master more than 1 year
*hope can get answer other than Master Science in Supply Chain Management from Malaysian Institute for Supply Chain Innovation (Fees too high like studying in UK)

Thanks all
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 9 2013, 02:56 PM

24,193 posts

Yes it is possible, as long as you can achieve the KPI (which is one ISI paper for UM, not sure about the others ) nod.gif
Not an easy task, but not entirely impossible as well~
Critical_Fallacy
post Apr 9 2013, 06:31 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(playboyzzz_21 @ Apr 6 2013, 12:31 PM)
Final Year Project: Optimization of the Electrocoagulation Process for the Removal of Turbidity, Chemical Oxygen Demand and Heavy Metals in Industrial Wastewater
(1)What kind of Computational Optimization technique you used in your Final Year Project?

(2)Did you really achieve the optimal reactions for the Electrocoagulation Process in your Final Year Project?

(3) If you are good in Numerical methods, Heuristic algorithms and Optimization software, then you should be able to apply your knowledge in certain certain research and priority areas, e.g. Fine Chemicals, Reactor Technology, Refuse-derived Fuel, Storm Water Management, and Water Resources Management, etc.

(4) If you put enough efforts in the paper and with the guidance of a good advisor, then your paper will probably be accepted in ISI Journals within one year.
calapia
post Apr 11 2013, 05:29 PM

689 posts

i did my master part time and the duration is 2 - 5 yrs..max is 5 years for part time student..full time student can do it in 1 year.... i did my master in apiit
TSplayboyzzz_21
post Apr 11 2013, 08:16 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 9 2013, 02:56 PM)
Yes it is possible, as long as you can achieve the KPI (which is one ISI paper for UM, not sure about the others ) nod.gif
Not an easy task, but not entirely impossible as well~
ISI paper? UM? what is that actually? i think i need to find the information on UM website for a while.. thx btw..

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Apr 9 2013, 06:31 PM)
(1)What kind of Computational Optimization technique you used in your Final Year Project?

(2)Did you really achieve the optimal reactions for the Electrocoagulation Process in your Final Year Project?

(3) If you are good in Numerical methods, Heuristic algorithms and Optimization software, then you should be able to apply your knowledge in certain certain research and priority areas, e.g. Fine Chemicals, Reactor Technology, Refuse-derived Fuel, Storm Water Management, and Water Resources Management, etc.

(4) If you put enough efforts in the paper and with the guidance of a good advisor, then your paper will probably be accepted in ISI Journals within one year.
its not computational.. optimization in my project is i need to search what is the best parameter in terms of temperature, power consumption, etc.. thx for your advice.. i think i need to get information what ISI actually is.. i really have no idea what is that.. haha

QUOTE(calapia @ Apr 11 2013, 05:29 PM)
i did my master part time and the duration is 2 - 5 yrs..max is 5 years for part time student..full time student can do it in 1 year....  i did my master in apiit
sounds nice.. apiit stands for? got website? on9 application?

QUOTE(calapia @ Apr 11 2013, 05:29 PM)
i did my master part time and the duration is 2 - 5 yrs..max is 5 years for part time student..full time student can do it in 1 year....  i did my master in apiit
just found the website.. thx =)
silhovette
post May 13 2013, 11:27 AM

frankly speaking, I did my master research study in local U within 1 year with a full time job and a geran Insentive Pelajar....

If u really wan to do it i one year with proper recognition, u better take local U Masters in research. but be minded that if u pick a wrong supervisor then whatever i proposed will not be possible....

by the way i from field of social science...
zahirani
post Jul 9 2013, 02:12 PM

44 posts

USM do offer 1 year master program. Called Mixed-mode.

1st semester focus on coursework (classes, assignment, exam) and 2nd semester 100 % focus on research.
alanchong88
post Jul 31 2013, 08:21 PM

152 posts

Some local unis offer 1 year (inclusive of short sem) master by taught course. You most probably have to call them and ask around. If you ask me, this route should be the fastest/easiest for most people even if the master course is 1 and half year. Research mode is just too unpredictable.

It is also possible by research mode but there are some strict KPI's to be fulfilled and have to get good supervisor who is not looking for potential slaves.

PS: My opinion is based on social science courses

This post has been edited by alanchong88: Jul 31 2013, 08:22 PM
trytohelp
post Aug 23 2013, 02:45 PM

65 posts

One year, two years or few years it is depends on student individual capability, facility of uni (a.k.a money/funding), quality of supervision staff. The uni offered one year but student can not finish it because of some reason, this is very common for research based master.

This post has been edited by trytohelp: Aug 23 2013, 02:47 PM
mycolumn
post Aug 27 2013, 09:23 PM

2,085 posts

QUOTE(alanchong88 @ Jul 31 2013, 08:21 PM)
Some local unis offer 1 year (inclusive of short sem) master by taught course. You most probably have to call them and ask around. If you ask me, this route should be the fastest/easiest for most people even if the master course is 1 and half year. Research mode is just too unpredictable.

It is also possible by research mode but there are some strict KPI's to be fulfilled and have to get good supervisor who is not looking for potential slaves.

PS: My opinion is based on social science courses
I am in a university where research is really low, and this uni is trying to get a high rating in research. Hence, it will be quite difficult to get a good supervisor (one who is not looking for potential slaves). My supervisor told me to at least write 1 ISI/Scopus paper each 3 months. And I am not even enrolled yet. I dun dare to enrol because of this cry.gif
Critical_Fallacy
post Aug 27 2013, 10:06 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(mycolumn @ Aug 27 2013, 09:23 PM)
I am in a university where research is really low, and this uni is trying to get a high rating in research. Hence, it will be quite difficult to get a good supervisor (one who is not looking for potential slaves).
And you are saying, because your university wants to attain a high rating in research, the university does not have many “good” supervisors for you to choose from. Are the supervisors' characteristics directly dependent on your university's rating in research? unsure.gif

QUOTE(mycolumn @ Aug 27 2013, 09:23 PM)
My supervisor told me to at least write 1 ISI/Scopus paper each 3 months. And I am not even enrolled yet. I don't dare to enroll because of this  cry.gif
Let's see: 3 months to produce a draft paper of 10~20 pages. That roughly translates to 12 lines in a page per day. What would you like to have happen when you have a “good” supervisor around you? sweat.gif
mycolumn
post Aug 28 2013, 02:42 PM

2,085 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 27 2013, 10:06 PM)
And you are saying, because your university wants to attain a high rating in research, the university does not have many “good” supervisors for you to choose from. Are the supervisors' characteristics directly dependent on your university's rating in research? unsure.gif
Let's see: 3 months to produce a draft paper of 10~20 pages. That roughly translates to 12 lines in a page per day. What would you like to have happen when you have a “good” supervisor around you? sweat.gif
because my uni wants to attain high rating in research, and they do not have many Dr and Profs in the uni, hence, they are milking the postgraduates students to publish papers for them. Hmm, a good supervisor should be more realistic. It is not easy to publish ISI papers. In my uni, for a whole year, there are only 2-3 ISI papers that are accepted per year.
Critical_Fallacy
post Aug 28 2013, 10:56 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(mycolumn @ Aug 28 2013, 02:42 PM)
because my uni wants to attain high rating in research, and they do not have many Dr and Profs in the uni, hence, they are milking the postgraduates students to publish papers for them. Hmm, a good supervisor should be more realistic. It is not easy to publish ISI papers. In my uni, for a whole year, there are only 2-3 ISI papers that are accepted per year.
True! It is not easy to publish in ISI journals. However, a good supervisor should be able to tell the likelihood of acceptance of your paper. Your research has to be novel or at least involves a contribution to knowledge. icon_rolleyes.gif By the way, what is your research interest?

mycolumn
post Aug 28 2013, 11:03 PM

2,085 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 28 2013, 10:56 PM)
True! It is not easy to publish in ISI journals. However, a good supervisor should be able to tell the likelihood of acceptance of your paper. Your research has to be novel or at least involves a contribution to knowledge. icon_rolleyes.gif By the way, what is your research interest?

Social accounting- csr reporting smile.gif

0.0174sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:38 AM