May 14 2013, 09:10 AM
1,066 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(TSOM @ May 14 2013, 07:04 AM) yeah, when i step down from the plane, i realised so many malaysians living there.I think it's the nearest city so far by travelling 5 hours only. What caught my eyes is that there's so many malaysian restaurant and groceries shop. I think i received some feedback saying that you can't get malaysian food there. Well, surprisingly i even found bak kut teh, indian food, nasi lemak...you just name it. Got many indians also. Saw a big huge temple at canning vale...they treat all races and religion equal. |
May 14 2013, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(rg470 @ May 14 2013, 09:17 AM) Very! I ordered CharSiew rice cost me AUD10! Wantan mee at AUD8. Dollar to dollar, it's the same as KL. If you convert, then it kills!Same goes to UK whereby eating a BigMac cost me 6pound which is RM30. No way you can convert by then. Ozzie expenditure power is strong. Well, i don't expect eating out everyday. Need to import some cook book...haha |
May 14 2013, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(rg470 @ May 14 2013, 10:23 AM) Having said that, their serving is big, small eaters may share. Food ingredients are cheap, so you're right about bring along your cook books and brushing up your cooking skills. Yeah, previously bought whole box of apples like 30 pcs cost me AUD5. Celery AUD1, potatos AUD1 whole bag.Again, dollar to dollar, i think it's pretty cheap compared to Malaysia. No way you could find those food in this cheap. I found that dairy products in Aust is actually the same price in Malaysia after conversion. Damn! Our inflation is high here whereby our salary is damn low. Weak expenditure power. |
May 14 2013, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(rg470 @ May 14 2013, 10:55 AM) While these are cheap, others like taxes, transport, electricity, water, gas are all rising; however tax rebates are decreasing. Housing costs are rising tremendously too. Yeah, i saw that too...hmm, seems Ozzie living don't really come cheap either. My friend who just migrated to Canada, living cost is lower than Oz. |
May 14 2013, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(rg470 @ May 14 2013, 11:52 AM) Well wish him/her good luck with the winter weather below 40c haha, yeah. Believe it or not, now i have few friends wanna migrate too.Most of my colleagues migrated here from the UK, Scandinavian & North Americas to escape the cold. Mostly heading Ozzie. The rest heading canada and US. I dunno izzit becoz the current election cause the exodus?? |
May 15 2013, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(millenius @ May 15 2013, 02:10 AM) Hi, I'd like to ask, I know this is a bit far fetch, but what does it take for someone who just graduated and wanted to to work in Aus ? I have no working experience other than my 6 months internship, my university is not in the recognised institution (but it is recognised and accredited by our Ministry of Edu.), but the I do have the skillset as required on their list based on my degree. Please bear in mind you'll be competing with international candidates who have PR or working experience. Even people who have both can't even get a job with current job market. Yesterday, i just talked to my friend that his company & others in the industry in Perth is facing financial difficulties in gettingn projects. Expecting for some retrenchment! |
May 17 2013, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(rg470 @ May 15 2013, 09:58 AM) Well its sad to say now that besides mining/O&G industries, everything else is suffering. They just announced the 2013/2014 budget and its not looking good, $19 billion deficit, unemployment rate of 5-6%. I think they should reduce the Oz dollar value and reduce the costs of business here else they're gonna be in trouble real soon. Got updates from the news stated RM2.96 against AUD1. Seems ringgit is stronger by now after election and the declaration of RBA to reduce interest.The impact is that housing will go up, people buying expensive house, increase higher foreign investment in properties. I think as you said, Ozzie rely heavily on mining & O&G. other industry perform not as good as expected. |
Jun 3 2013, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(TuX @ Jun 2 2013, 02:24 PM) I've got a question... What happens if I'm an Austrian PR, but not residing in Australia yet, and then I give birth to a baby in Malaysia? Will my baby be an Australian PR or otherwise? You've to inform DIAC and include your child's name in your family record complete with passport and medical report. |
Jun 20 2013, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 18 2013, 11:40 PM) hey, have anyone come across a family with disability child manage to migrate to Australia? Please stated which agency able to arrange this, thanks in advanced I do heard that some have been accepted the disabled child but some not. My uncle who has a disabled child actually being accepted but with condition is that all the medical cost shall be beared by themselves instead medicare. Require to sign a health undertaking. They give up as high tax paid does not give any support to the child. No point of staying there. However, this very much depends on your child's health and disability condition:- Dependent The emotional family ties that may exist between children and parents are not regarded as an indicator of dependency. To be considered dependent, the child must be in one of the following situations: • be wholly or substantially reliant on the sponsoring parent for financial support to meet their basic needs of food, shelter and clothing and be able to show that they have relied on this support for a substantial period (usually 12 months); or • be wholly or substantially reliant on the sponsoring parent for financial support because of a disability that prevents them working to support themself. The child will still need to meet Australia’s health requirements before being granted a visa (see page 24). ‘Disability’ means that the child has total or partial loss of his or her bodily or mental functions. Acceptable medical evidence must be provided to show that the child has such a disability and they are unable to financially support themself because of it. ‘Wholly or substantially’ means totally or to a great degree. The child must show that their reliance on the sponsoring parent for financial support is greater than their reliance for financial support on any other person or source. Depicted from this websites: http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/booklets/1128.pdf Do seek advice from migration lawyer / agent for further as we are not the party to advice any further on this. This post has been edited by Nemesis1980: Jun 20 2013, 02:34 PM |
Jun 21 2013, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 21 2013, 01:35 PM) Thanks for Nemesis1980, I'm sorry, they actually applying themselves instead going thru agents. My cousin is a downsyndrome too. Your information is helpful to most parents like us, down syndrome parents. Some of us have searched many agencies but none of them have any ideas. Could you ask your uncle to provide the agency name and contact number ? Thanks in advanced My uncle working in oil & gas and he's in China now. That's why he earns pretty high salary and got fed up with the Oz government on the medical cap to his son. If he pay high tax and got none medical benefit to his son then it's no point for him to migrate. |
Jun 25 2013, 12:27 PM
Jun 27 2013, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(rg470 @ Jun 26 2013, 03:25 PM) Four months is nothing, usually it takes about 6-12 months. I know people who was jobless for 24 months before calling it quit and return to Malaysia. YEah, finally they got pissed off with Julia with all stupid tax. Kevin Rudd will be much better off having good relation with China. I think the election the soonest is August not later by end September. Hopefully this would boost the project there to open more work vacancy soon. PS: Seems like there will be a new PM in AUS by 5pm later today. |
Jul 4 2013, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(cksoon @ Jul 4 2013, 12:16 AM) hey peeps, i'm in the middle of my migration process and, my destination is melbourne. I'm a IT degree holder and have work experience related to the skills needed in Aus. However, me too having worries bout finding a job there first. I heard it's not easy to get a job while we're in Msia, even if we get PR. Any advice on how can I boost my chances of getting employed first if possible or getting employed as soon as possible when I do move there? 1) Get the PR 1st2) Buy ticket, land and look for job 3) The chances of getting job offshore is minimal but not to say impossible. Based on luck and demand. You're competing with Indian IT people who exodus whole community from India to Oz. 4) Save as much money as you can for 'burning'. Might saying 3-6 months no job. However, my advise is No.1 is priority. No PR,no job |
Jul 4 2013, 03:56 PM
I'm counting down now for job hunting end of the month flying to Oz.
I don't know how i feel now coz i'm going alone while my wife and children will still be in KL not until i stable myself with job there. It's pretty sad and angry sometimes that i couldn't bring them together due to insufficient funds. I know this is temporary but it'll like few months going there which i really miss them a lot. Hate to say that i've to push it hard, real hard on job hunting though. We ain't rich man or datuk family, we're just a normal malaysian family like everyone else. We're glad that we getting PR but this separation process i hope no one is going through. |
Apr 19 2014, 01:27 AM
QUOTE(cantona7 @ Dec 18 2013, 03:37 PM) Would need some advice from the experts here. I suggest you have to read thru DIAC website. Always remember, this is a big move and should prepare quite a huge amount of money. However, following are the major steps you may need to look into it.We are 28 years old. I am an electronics engineer and my wife is an accountant. We got a baby. How is the steps of migrating to Australia and how much money do we need to prepare in order to do that? The first thing is sit for IELTS test? For the immigration fees. I heard the application fee is AUS $3.5K and the test is about $500 per person. Is that true? Does our baby need to pay for the fee also? Thanks in advance for your help. 1) Check eligibility 2) Once ok, submit in you EOI, pay $$ 3) get IELTS 7 in 4 modules, pay $$ 4)get your cert stamp true copy from notary public, pay $$ 5) get birth cert translated, pay $$ 6) medical 3 of you 7) police check 2 of you 8) the final 1, bring money during your stay to find jobs, no PR no job Once u get PR, following steps need to do:- 1) get medicare card registered 2) get tax file number 3) get a bank account 4) get a place to rent 5) get a car Suggestion: 1) come alone for job hunting 2) once stable, bring family over 3) make sure get OZzie company majority asian company here is blood suckling company. Even in Oz, there's plenty of ganasai company exist especially Asian company. Chinese bully own chinese. So, be sure about this |
Apr 22 2014, 09:48 PM
Apr 23 2014, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(shaqie @ Apr 23 2014, 08:19 AM) my dream to migrate to melbourne just went up in flames To be honest, accountant is a surplus in Oz. I suggest you have to take whatever job 1st but has to be profession related. My wife is a chartered accountant as well but we migrate here thru my profession which i am a quantity surveyor. would you consider hiring a certified chartered accountant with 9 years of experience in accounting, finance, audit, tax, HR and admin??? can't work for free as i have 3 monkeys to feed at home and my wife...... but willing to consider cheap labour as don't have local experience sighhhh....things we willing to do for our family. Why must everyone moving to melbourne? It's far expensive than other city besides Sydney. Perth consider 1 of the expensive but still livable so far coz nearer to MAS. Maybe could try Brisbane, darwin, adelaide...etc. There's some company taking advantage on you guys by saying no local experience and will cut your pay based on lowest wages. To be frank, i didn't find it difficult to adapt the local experience as long the company willing to give u the chance to take it into challenge. Thank God this is my 2nd company i joined. It's Ozzie company and more humane on staff rights. Of course don't abuse it coz boss put trust on us. My 1st is asian company is ganasai. Really can't work properly inside, worst than MAS company i worked back there. For your case, might consider applying smaller company 1st but don't expect high pay. |
Aug 21 2015, 03:13 PM
This thread is almost dead........
Oct 27 2015, 12:26 AM