Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

luvmonkey
post Apr 22 2013, 12:29 PM

102 posts

Hi all, hope you can help me decide on a laptop brand+model.

I can get a display unit of Samsung Series 5 laptop (not sure the exact model number), that comes with a Core i5 processor, 6GB RAM, integrated ODD and a 1TB HDD for RM2,499.

I'm being kinda kiasu here, but I'm wondering if I should get a laptop with an Intel Core i7-3630QM and 8GB RAM instead of the Samsung. My requirements aren't steep - mainly Office apps, light photo editing and casual gaming. But I don't care much for portability either, since I'm stuck in the office all day, every day.

Should I just suck it up and get the Samsung display set or go for a more powerful laptop at the same price?

This post has been edited by luvmonkey: Apr 22 2013, 01:09 PM
luvmonkey
post Apr 22 2013, 02:38 PM

102 posts

Yeah, sorry about the model number thing....tried to make up for it by providing the specs I could recall. tongue.gif

Are there any 128GB SSDs still available @ RM300? I heard that only 256GB ones are left sad.gif

And you're probably right...I doubt I need an i7, just getting carried away. Definitely intend on replacing the HDD with an SSD.

Thanks for your input!
luvmonkey
post Apr 22 2013, 03:20 PM

102 posts

Sorry, I didn't mean a 256GB SSD @ RM300.

I had inquired with one vendor who told me that he was sold out of 120GB SSDs and had only 256GBs left @ RM650++
luvmonkey
post Apr 24 2013, 11:30 PM

102 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: 2.4k max
3. Usage: Office apps, light photo editing, casual gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"

Others: 8GB RAM + 120GB SSD + either DOS or W7

Currently considering a Samsung NP350V4C-A02 (i5-3210M / 4GB / 500GB) @ RM1899 + Kingston 120GB SSD @ RM320 + extra 4GB @ RM90

Can you recommend any other laptops? HDD isn't important since I'm planning on swapping it out for an SSD anyway. Thanks!

0.0517sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:16 AM