130 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

Stitchie
post Apr 5 2013, 05:50 PM

1,091 posts

just a question

can i5 3317u fully utilises 4gb of ram? or even higher like 8gb?
and the graphic card is integrated i think, intel hd 4000
austinjklim
post Apr 5 2013, 10:55 PM

72 posts

Hi guys. Looking for a moderate gaming laptop for uni purpose.

1. Acer, Asus, Toshiba, Dell
2. Below 2.5k
3. Moderate gaming(COD, Crysis 3, Borderlands 2) and multimedia purposes(photoshop, video editing/encoding)
4. The bigger the better, But just not smaller than 13".

Thanks!
raymondtong94
post Apr 5 2013, 11:03 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Stitchie @ Apr 5 2013, 05:50 PM)
just a question

can i5 3317u fully utilises 4gb of ram? or even higher like 8gb?
and the graphic card is integrated i think, intel hd 4000
processor doesnt utilize the RAM but your version of windows do. if you want support more than 3.25GB, get 64-bit version. and yes, core i5 3317U uses intel HD4000

QUOTE(austinjklim @ Apr 5 2013, 10:55 PM)
Hi guys. Looking for a moderate gaming laptop for uni purpose.

1. Acer, Asus, Toshiba, Dell
2. Below 2.5k
3. Moderate gaming(COD, Crysis 3, Borderlands 2) and multimedia purposes(photoshop, video editing/encoding)
4. The bigger the better, But just not smaller than 13".

Thanks!
this is best for bang of buck

Lenovo New Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate

this is best for warranty support

Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT730M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2099[2.33kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8@RM2399

save the money and upgrade the RAM to 8GB and warranty extension. biggrin.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 5 2013, 11:05 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 5 2013, 02:48 PM)
just i free at the moment before getting hired, so i have tons of time doing this. smile.gif
Raymond, summer job before school start or something? I thought you just finish the camp smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 5 2013, 11:17 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 5 2013, 11:05 PM)
Raymond, summer job before school start or something? I thought you just finish the camp smile.gif
yeah, i finished NS camp training. im getting a full time job.
nexus2238
post Apr 5 2013, 11:31 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2013, 02:53 PM)
@nexus2238 sifu, we have always wanted to create some "notebooks of the month/ best bang for buck etc.", do you mind helping out? We need someone who has more experience at writing, and also in experience with the said notebooks laugh.gif
Quite a big task you have in mind, TJ tongue.gif
Don't think I will have the time to properly write this type of piece (with work and children commitment ... )
Sometime when things go reaaaaally slow in the office, I have lots of free time to contribute to this thread, but sometime I only have time to check on this thread after all the children go to bed sweat.gif Not consistent. Weekly visit to LYP every Friday also cut short a bit now tongue.gif

Instead of writing, why don't we consider some point form thingy? hmm.gif Sifus and other forumers can nominate a few candidate models (or we could even vote on it). Instead of "of the months", we can make it a "reigning champions lists". Setup a few categories (gaming, business, multimedia, photoshop / CAD, travelling ... let's spend time thinking through what is appropriate, like those "most frequently asked"), and a few budget range, then stuck a few top models (1-5 models, don't need to be rigid) for each section (with a few points to support it, and things to look out for when buying). So the models will stay on the list, until something newer or better come along to knock it off the "throne" (with justification ...).

May also cut down the requirement for recommendation smile.gif (sometime things do get a bit repetitive laugh.gif sweat.gif )

What do sifus think? notworthy.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 5 2013, 11:34 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 5 2013, 11:17 PM)
yeah, i finished NS camp training. im getting a full time job.
College? Uni?
raymondtong94
post Apr 5 2013, 11:39 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 5 2013, 11:34 PM)
College? Uni?
not selecting a course to study. i find myself not able to study after SPM, so its better not to waste the money on college studies. so i prefer work.

@[P.F.]TJ since im free at the moment, mind to help you? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Apr 5 2013, 11:40 PM
austinjklim
post Apr 6 2013, 12:28 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 5 2013, 11:03 PM)
processor doesnt utilize the RAM but your version of windows do. if you want support more than 3.25GB, get 64-bit version. and yes, core i5 3317U uses intel HD4000
this is best for bang of buck

Lenovo New Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate

this is best for warranty support

Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT730M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2099[2.33kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8@RM2399

save the money and upgrade the RAM to 8GB and warranty extension. biggrin.gif
How about the Inspiron 14r SE against the 15r? I don't think I'll be able to find the lenovo in Kota Kinabalu. 14r Special Edition has i3 3210m with 2gb ddr3 gt640 while 15r runs on i5 3337u and 2gb ddr3 HD 8730m. Which one is better??
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 01:04 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 5 2013, 11:31 PM)
Quite a big task you have in mind, TJ tongue.gif
Don't think I will have the time to properly write this type of piece (with work and children commitment ... )
Sometime when things go reaaaaally slow in the office, I have lots of free time to contribute to this thread, but sometime I only have time to check on this thread after all the children go to bed  .Not consistent. Weekly visit to LYP every Friday also cut short a bit now

Instead of writing, why don't we consider some point form thingy?  hmm.gif Sifus and other forumers can nominate a few candidate models (or we could even vote on it). Instead of "of the months", we can make it a "reigning champions lists". Setup a few categories (gaming, business, multimedia, photoshop / CAD, travelling ... let's spend time thinking through what is appropriate, like those "most frequently asked"), and a few budget range, then stuck a few top models (1-5 models, don't need to be rigid) for each section (with a few points to support it, and things to look out for when buying). So the models will stay on the list, until something newer or better come along to knock it off the "throne" (with justification ...).

May also cut down the requirement for recommendation  (sometime things do get a bit repetitive laugh.gif  )

What do sifus think?
Thanks for the reply man XD
Aiya, we are not forcing you sifu haha XD
This mini "project" has been on-and-off for quite some time already, where we summarize some of the more popular/ or more rational notebook picks for each genre (like what you mentioned) at a common budget range (say RM1.5-2k; RM2-2.5k; RM2.5-3k). So far the sifus here are either busy or not-too-good-at-writing laugh.gif, I am not knowledgeable enough when it comes to the hardware part, so I'm not qualified as well... you know a lot and your writings are much better than most of us, which is why you get the honour laugh.gif

Still, you are right, it doesn't have to be an essay thingy la, just some point forms and remarks on why those notebooks are recommended etc. Its useful to write them down somewhere in the thread so that the details can just be copied and pasted, especially for FAQ... save the sifus time as well laugh.gif

My vote for the best best-looking, non-ultrabook budget consumer notebook for the time being are Lenovo's non-touched Z400 and Z500 laugh.gif laugh.gif. Gaming we all know the Y400 and Y500 thrashes everything else in the market at that price tag laugh.gif Business notebooks will be a problem since we can no longer check for specs and prices in Dell @___@
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 01:08 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 5 2013, 11:39 PM)
not selecting a course to study. i find myself not able to study after SPM, so its better not to waste the money on college studies. so i prefer work.

@[P.F.]TJ since im free at the moment, mind to help you? biggrin.gif
All the best at work yo bro thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

And thanks a lot for volunteering laugh.gif
Please feel free to suggest what you think are the best picks for each categories of notebooks available yo~ hmm.gif
You have been recommending for quite some time now, I bet you already know which ones are the best/most popular for a common budget range brows.gif

Update: Ops, I forgot lol... of course these best picks need to be constantly updated as well, which is not easy laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 6 2013, 01:09 AM
cws1991
post Apr 6 2013, 03:52 AM

Hi, I am looking for a gaming laptop/ultrabook.

1. Any brand
2. +- 3k
3. Gaming(Dota 2), civil designing sand multimedia purposes( Watching HD video)
4. 15.6'', Processor i7

- Lenovo Y580 is my first choice but I couldn't find it at any shop. Anyone know way else to get this model?
- I duno if the spec of Asus Ultrabook S56CM-XX276H can satisfy my requirement due to its processor of i7-U. Seriously, I like its cool outlook and it is very thin and light.

Any Sifu, please give me some advice... Kamsahamida~

This post has been edited by cws1991: Apr 6 2013, 05:01 AM
raymondtong94
post Apr 6 2013, 09:21 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(austinjklim @ Apr 6 2013, 12:28 AM)
How about the Inspiron 14r SE against the 15r? I don't think I'll be able to find the lenovo in Kota Kinabalu. 14r Special Edition has i3 3210m with 2gb ddr3 gt640 while 15r runs on i5 3337u and 2gb ddr3 HD 8730m. Which one is better??
there are some lenovo sellers that can deliver it to you at the garage sales section. you can have a look. also, IMO, i will prefer the new 15R due to ULV CPU and newer generation graphics card.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 6 2013, 01:08 AM)
All the best at work yo bro  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

And thanks a lot for volunteering laugh.gif
Please feel free to suggest what you think are the best picks for each categories of notebooks available yo~ hmm.gif
You have been recommending for quite some time now, I bet you already know which ones are the best/most popular for a common budget range brows.gif

Update: Ops, I forgot lol... of course these best picks need to be constantly updated as well, which is not easy  laugh.gif
thanks. and dont worry. i would make it as simple as possible, so it wont confuse our forumers. biggrin.gif

EDIT : this thread is not pinned, shall contact the mods to pin it.

QUOTE(cws1991 @ Apr 6 2013, 03:52 AM)
Hi, I am looking for a gaming laptop/ultrabook.

1. Any brand
2. +- 3k
3. Gaming(Dota 2), civil designing sand multimedia purposes( Watching HD video)
4. 15.6'', Processor i7

- Lenovo Y580 is my first choice but I couldn't find it at any shop. Anyone know way else to get this model?
- I duno if the spec of Asus Ultrabook S56CM-XX276H can satisfy my requirement due to its processor of i7-U. Seriously, I like its cool outlook and it is very thin and light.

Any Sifu, please give me some advice... Kamsahamida~
some suggestions for you

Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8
Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M@RM2799, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8
Lenovo Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white

price is RSP and negotiable. as the best pick, stick with acer v3. it has the power of a powerful quad core CPU and decent graphics card capable for gaming and a full HD IPS display for sharp colour and vibrant. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Apr 6 2013, 09:28 AM
demoniqu3
post Apr 6 2013, 10:36 AM

Hi guys, can u help me to find a laptop that is suitable for me

1. Preferred Brand - any, except acer
2. Budget - 3.5k-4k
3. Usage - Gaming, casual
4. Preferred laptop/screen size any, 14-17 preferably

I need the a high performance CPU and the latest GPU if possible. Blueray maybe? any suggestions?

This post has been edited by demoniqu3: Apr 6 2013, 10:41 AM
raymondtong94
post Apr 6 2013, 12:06 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(demoniqu3 @ Apr 6 2013, 10:36 AM)
Hi guys, can u help me to find a laptop that is suitable for me

1. Preferred Brand - any, except acer
2. Budget - 3.5k-4k
3. Usage - Gaming, casual
4. Preferred laptop/screen size any, 14-17 preferably

I need the a high performance CPU and the latest GPU if possible. Blueray maybe? any suggestions?
this may help

ASUS N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black
Illegear RE-15, i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM3299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3840XM][/color]
Lenovo Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter
Illegear RE-17, i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM3499, 4GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3840XM

illegear offers customizable CPU. biggrin.gif
price is RSP and negotiable.
demoniqu3
post Apr 6 2013, 12:19 PM

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 6 2013, 12:06 PM)
this may help

ASUS N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black
Illegear RE-15, i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM3299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3840XM][/color]
Lenovo Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter
Illegear RE-17, i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM3499, 4GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3840XM

illegear offers customizable CPU. biggrin.gif
price is RSP and negotiable.
thank you very much, just one query..i tot the latest nvidia GPUs are GT7xxM, is this the older versions?
raymondtong94
post Apr 6 2013, 12:29 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(demoniqu3 @ Apr 6 2013, 12:19 PM)
thank you very much, just one query..i tot the latest nvidia GPUs are GT7xxM, is this the older versions?
the latest and best is GT740M but the performance can be on par with GT650M maybe. GT750M maybe will be released around May-July. i think you may like this:

Lenovo Z400 touch, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
demoniqu3
post Apr 6 2013, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 6 2013, 12:29 PM)
the latest and best is GT740M but the performance can be on par with GT650M maybe. GT750M maybe will be released around May-July. i think you may like this:

Lenovo Z400 touch, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
thanx very much bro for ur help..i'll look into it thumbup.gif if there are any other suggestion plz enlighten me tongue.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 6 2013, 01:58 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(demoniqu3 @ Apr 6 2013, 01:52 PM)
thanx very much bro for ur help..i'll look into it  thumbup.gif if there are any other suggestion plz enlighten me  tongue.gif
you are welcome. biggrin.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 02:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 6 2013, 09:21 AM)

thanks. and dont worry. i would make it as simple as possible, so it wont confuse our forumers. biggrin.gif

EDIT : this thread is not pinned, shall contact the mods to pin it.

Thanks for the help man thumbup.gif
I've already PMed Baronic when I just started the thread, but I guess he is busy haha tongue.gif

130 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:12 AM