15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 07:43 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Apr 28 2013, 07:23 PM)
Basically the heat problem is from the hard disk drive? If the main problem is from the hard disk drive,I would like to replace the hdd with ssd since 256+32 is quite enough for me.Do you mean using the existing internal hdd as external hdd.Is it a way to do that?sounds cool smile.gif

Does the crucial m500 available at Malaysia? I searched around at garage sell and no luck getting it.I saw lingloong selling Intel 525 msata but exceed my budget for 256gb ssd sad.gif I think I need to wait the M500 or the intel 525 to drop price sad.gif
The heat issue is from the i7 quad core, the GPU, and the HDD combine. So removing even 1 of them will be good smile.gif
Yes, all you have to do is buy a casing for 2.5" HDD (~ RM50), and you can turn the 1TB HDD into a USB external HDD.

Have not seen M500 in Malaysia yet. If you like Intel, go for the 335, it is good and cheap smile.gif 240G ~ RM550+/-. (but don't have mSATA version yet, iinm) Intel 5xx series is more high end, it will maintain a price gap with the mainstream SSD tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 28 2013, 08:00 PM
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 09:02 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 28 2013, 08:37 PM)
i think plextor also has a mSATA version SSD, which has 256GB of storage. hmm.gif
just not sure if warranty is covered in malaysia.
QUOTE(devour @ Apr 28 2013, 08:43 PM)
It does have 3 yrs warranty from local distributor
Yes, the Plextor M5M is a nice mSATA SSD.
Anyway, for SSD, my prefer brands are Intel, Samsung, Plextor, Crucial. The other brands are too "enthusiast" for my liking tongue.gif (all those firmware update .... )
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 09:37 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 28 2013, 09:09 PM)
^crucial got a lot firmware update laugh.gif
You are right sifu. But iinm, only 1 is considered "critical". The rest are optional and I just ignore tongue.gif (don't rock the boat when it is smooth sailing sweat.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 28 2013, 09:51 PM
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 09:44 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Apr 28 2013, 09:15 PM)
Thanks,would search for the ssd around and compare the price smile.gif I'll check out my local store first smile.gif

Anyway,I now just realise that inspiron 15R 7520 came with LITEON msata ssd instead of Samsung SSD? sad.gif I thought 7520 using samsung ssd as I always saw people talk at other forum.

by the way the processor idle at 60 degree celcius
Can never be sure what brand of SSD laptop brand use tongue.gif especially on the mSATA small capacity since the margin is so low ...
The recent Latitude E6430 company laptop that I get is using Samsung 256G SSD though thumbup.gif
iinm, MBP/MBA also has changed SSD supplier a few time ...

The temp is a bit high, but not critical sweat.gif Think about the solutions that we talk about ...
Or maybe you should really ditch this 15R SE if you are not comfortable with it tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 09:50 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(reverie88 @ Apr 28 2013, 09:34 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Lenovo
2. Budget - RM2000-2500
3. Usage - Programming, gamming and multitasking
4. Screen size - prefer 14' but 15' also acceptable
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 10:06 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(reverie88 @ Apr 28 2013, 09:58 PM)
hmm.gif For the Z400 series, are there got i7 processors instead of i5?
Z400 touch, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
You sure you want to have an i7 quad core in that laptop casing? sweat.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 10:25 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(DrEaMmyZ @ Apr 28 2013, 10:12 PM)
Nvidia GT740M is the new standard GPU for laptops nowadays ?
It is better than the usual GT640M ?
Would not say GT740M is the "standard" GPU for laptop biggrin.gif (if there is such a "standard" tongue.gif)
But yes, GT740M is faster than GT640M.
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 10:26 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(reverie88 @ Apr 28 2013, 10:14 PM)
tongue.gif Just wish for better performance.  Why is not recommend to have i7 quad core in tat casing?  hmm.gif
Want better performance? Go for the Y400.
Z400 is slim. Quad core generate lots of heat. Not a good combo.
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 10:39 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 28 2013, 10:36 PM)
^ i was checking around to look for helps and queries, but it seems sifu nexus done them all. laugh.gif
Kids've gone to bed. Finish watching NBA. Have time on hand tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 29 2013, 02:46 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(KyleC @ Apr 29 2013, 01:06 PM)
I'm eyeing the Dell vostro 5460. Is it suitable for students who are going to enter college? And where can I take a look at the real thing?
College doing what course? smile.gif
I've seen it in LYP smile.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 29 2013, 04:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Apr 29 2013, 04:03 PM)
I see,I thought it will be sure using the Samsung brand sad.gif That means if i replaced the liteon msata ssd with crucial m4,I only can sell the liteon msata ssd lower than other ssd not? sad.gif I not sure about the price of liteon ssd because I never saw people selling it before sad.gif

Hmmm,I would try to apply a cooler pad and see how it work,if still cant make it,I think I would fork out the RM80 and grab the illegear RE-15 sad.gif Hope RE-15 wont give me so much problem sad.gif

Anyway,do you have any idea how to clean the backlid cover? my fingerprint all over the backlid cover and make it looks super dirty sad.gif
Actually at the OEM sphere, iinm, Samsung / Plextor / Liteone / Micron are the big players in SSD. But margin is so thin sweat.gif
2nd hand price for 32GB mSATA SSD (whatever brands) is pretty low though tongue.gif

Cooler pad is good. You can use it with the RE-15 as well biggrin.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 29 2013, 10:22 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(KyleC @ Apr 29 2013, 01:06 PM)
I'm eyeing the Dell vostro 5460. Is it suitable for students who are going to enter college? And where can I take a look at the real thing?
QUOTE(KyleC @ Apr 29 2013, 08:48 PM)
Engineering?
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1,549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1949[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL, 3 cell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

If you obsolutely need light weight, and still has reasonable power to run some CAD, math, software, then go for the i5-3230M spec.
Since you did not mention your budget, I suppose it is around RM2k?

For engineering course, if you ever need to run some apps that need CPU work load, try to go for laptop with i7 quad core.
Try to look for this Lenovo, more or less the cheapest laptop with i7 quad core in Malaysia now.
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white

nexus2238
post May 2 2013, 06:50 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ May 1 2013, 10:10 PM)
i'm interested with vostro 5460 but need to know how many memory slot does it have?i am planning to upgrade the memory to 8gb by myself
only 1 RAM slot.
nexus2238
post May 2 2013, 11:22 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 2 2013, 08:34 PM)

PS, where are other sifus? @[PF]T.J. and nexus2238
sorry, Raymond. Was so busy for the past 1 weeks, haven't login for a while.
Keep up the good work rclxms.gif
I should be able to login at night from now hmm.gif
nexus2238
post May 2 2013, 11:27 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ May 2 2013, 11:21 PM)
then probably will go for Y500. anything else that is similar with Y500 or anything budget range around 2600 which i can refer too?
Nothing come close to Y500 in terms of raw power for its price biggrin.gif
If you only has RM2.6k, look at the 14" Y400 instead.
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
nexus2238
post May 3 2013, 10:18 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(stephen5405 @ May 3 2013, 10:13 PM)
if the range is below 2.1 K ???
Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8

Prices are RSP, negotiable. All definitely within your budget.
nexus2238
post May 3 2013, 11:39 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(BLUEZINGER @ May 3 2013, 11:28 PM)
Hey guys, help me search some laptop?
Price = below 5.5K
Brand = Any brand except acer...
Purpose = heavy gaming

please help me guys...
Asus
G55VW-S1216H, i7-3630QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Dell
Alienware M17x R4, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM5999[Starting 4.26kg][Klipsch], 6GB, 500GB (7200rpm), W7HP/W8, backlit keyboard [GPU options: GTX660M/HD7970M/GTX675M/GTX680M)

Lenovo
Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter (phased out. Model with GT750M SLI is coming this month)

MSI
GT60-ONC, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX670MX + (1920x1080;anti-glare)@RM5799[Dyaudio], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W7HP, 2 years warranty, MSI backpack, HDMI cable
GT70-ONC, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX670MX + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM6099[Dyaudio], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, 2 years warranty, MSI backpack, HDMI cable

www.illegear.com
Illegear RS-15, i5-3210M + AMD HD7970M + (1920x1080)@RM5299, 8GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3940XM][GPU options: GTX680M]
Illegear RS-17, i5-3210M + AMD HD7970M + (1920x1080)@RM5599, 8GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3940XM][GPU options: GTX680M]

Samsung
NP700G7C, i7-3610QM + nVidia GTX675M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM5999[3.81kg], 16GB, 2x500(5400rpm), W7HP

nexus2238
post May 3 2013, 11:47 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Anythinglah @ May 3 2013, 11:11 PM)
Greetings to all tai koh in Lowyat forum. I have a question that I sincerely hope you guys can help me out. Currently I'm looking for a laptop at a maximum budget of RM 3k. I'm only a student,expecting to graduate and work in a year time. Therefore, I need all of your suggestions on what and which laptop should I get. All of your time and opinions are greatest appreciated ! Thanks !

Ps: I need a good graphic that I could play game without any issue( any game ), good quality, good brand, brand new, and 15 inch or larger. In short, I believe 3k is pretty high and able to fetch a high end laptop,yes ? Currently I'm looking into Dell 15R and Lenovo Y400. Please please please do advice me,for you sellers out there,do quote me if you guys have something good to offer.please pm me! Thank you very much !
This is not a sale thread. Get suggestion here, and look for re-sellers at garage sales threads.

NO. RM3k get you peanuts in laptop land icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

If you want laptop that can "play any game without any issue", you need laptop with GTX680M or similar. And these kind of machine cost > RM6k.

Y400 is only 14".

Your budget will not get you any good gaming 15" laptop (unless Lenovo launch Y500 with GT750M SLI and price it ridiculously low laugh.gif).

For your budget, go with Y400:
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

Use the remaining of your budget to get a SSD to swap with HDD (SSD 128G ~ RM300+/-, 256G ~ RM600+/-).
nexus2238
post May 4 2013, 12:14 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(RalphySV @ May 3 2013, 11:58 PM)
Preferred Brand: Dell, Lenovo, HP
Budget: Around 2K
Usage: Moderate work, moderate play (I'm getting use to heavy gaming and MMPORGs), heavy usage time
Screen: 14" and above
Additional Info: I used Acer before, and for only one year, it lagged up and died. So, I'm not sure I'm trusting Acer again but feel free to suggest. I'm not keen with touchscreens, so off with it. Intel Core and NVidia would be great too, if you could suggest which has better speakers. And are the price are all RRP?

It would be great if you guys can help me to narrow down the laptops that works with me so I can begin hunting it down here in Kuching. There's only two electronics and gadgets stores here that I know that have good deal in Wisma Saberkas (Sarawak Lowyat) which is PCimage and Boulevard IT, and if you're here in Kuching, do hook me up with better deals. Ah, always rambling....
Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8

If you can't find good deals in Kuching, you may try to look for reputable re-sellers in LYN garage sales threads, get it through delivery service.
nexus2238
post May 4 2013, 04:05 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 4 2013, 03:20 PM)
the dell vostro 5460 isnt too.
Raymond, most of the Vostro 5460 line up don't have the ultrabook sticker. But this one come with the ultrabook sticker tongue.gif
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0492sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:09 PM