LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

shadow111
post Apr 22 2009, 09:44 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(fearz @ Apr 22 2009, 01:12 AM)
Choose Dr. Chuah at TTDI Optimax centre to do ur surgery. Experienced and professional.
I alrdy make my bookin for my eye examination on next tues at optimax TTDI next week. I plan to perform the examination and also the surgery on the same day.
Since so many ppl recommend Dr Chuah, I also ask for him and according to the customer service, Dr Chuah perform surgery on either Tues and Thurs.
Can I know whether the examination will also be performed by Dr Chuah too on next tues?
shadow111
post Apr 22 2009, 10:06 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Apr 22 2009, 10:00 AM)
But in 50 years time, regardless of what consequences, I'm sure the patients doesn't really care too much anymore that far end of their future. They are offered ways to ensure their youth are lived in hassle-free manner, and willing to pay good $$ to ensure it happens and their visual anomaly are cured instantly. Natural method of improving vision takes too long a time and dedication, which many of us are unable to commit. That's why some didn't believe in it (too little number of people who commit, and even far less of them success in gaining 'fairly' satisfied improvement ), or the rate of improvement doesn't worth the effort the time spent.

It's the same mindset like obese people. They can't be sure they'll be truly fit again even with commitment towards eating right and exercising. The result might takes year. That's why there are liposuctions and other weirdly named surgery to cater for them.

I'm sure LASIK, LASEK methods will be improvised in years to come, to further reduce the risks of complications and minor inconvienience. Maybe in 10 years time, the procedure might involve a quick zap on the eyes for a min, and its 20/20 all over again.
agree on this.. I'm now alrdy 30.. i'll be damn lucky if i can live for another 50 yrs as i'll be 80 then...

shadow111
post Apr 22 2009, 10:42 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(fearz @ Apr 22 2009, 10:20 AM)
I did my surgery on a Thursday. Eye exam can do any day, doesn't matter. Don't think Tuesday was an option to do surgery last year, maybe they changed it. Anyway Thursday is better cos you can take leave on Friday and have the whole weekend to rest. Minimum 3-4 days for lasik, 1 week for epilasik have to stay at home mostly. Cannot play play lol, eye health must take care.
yup, they change liao.. now Dr Chuah perform surgery on Tues and Thurs..
actually i'm on 1 week off next week as I'll be back to my hometown in melaka. thts y i plan to hv it on tues so that i can have more days for recovery.
since i need to travel from melaka to TTDI, i choose to perform the examination and surgery (if possible) on the same day.

afaik, we need to go bck for checkup again on the next day, rite? was wondering whether is it possible to have the checkup in seremban branch as it will be nearer to melaka compare to TTDI.
shadow111
post Apr 22 2009, 11:41 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(fearz @ Apr 22 2009, 11:13 AM)
Ah ok nice, 1 whole week should be fine for recovery. I'm not sure whether can do both on the same day since I think your eyes have to be dilated for the exam which will interfere with the surgery, gotta ask them. Yup need to go back the next day/3 days/1week/1month and so on for a re-checkup, probably should be able to do at another branch, but not sure as well...gotta ask them again.

Make sure you got UV-protection sunglasses ready btw since you're gonna travel in daylight a lot. Very important for me, epilasik patient, lasik im not sure as important or not. I also got goggles to use when taking bath so I wouldn't get water in my eyes..lol optional.
check dy, optimax customer service say it's possible to have the examination n surgery on the same day. Morning perform the examination and surgery in the afternoon (if everything is ok). As for the other branch thing, forget to ask.. but i think shouldn't be much problem as it's juz some normal checking, rite?

wah.. the goggle thing is very interesting... too bad, i dun hv any goggle.. sad.gif

Added on April 22, 2009, 11:42 am
QUOTE(caerulln @ Apr 22 2009, 11:27 AM)
Actually I took only 1 day to recover to the point that I can drive alone confidently. smile.gif
Eye still very sensitive to bright lights but using sunglasses, no problem.
Of course depends on each person general health.
My mom who have diabetes, need at least 1 week.
wow.. u hv a very good recovery... good for u... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by shadow111: Apr 22 2009, 11:42 AM
shadow111
post Apr 23 2009, 12:59 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Apr 23 2009, 12:47 AM)
any promotion for optimax lately...
i know march they do hv promotions d...
according to my cousin...during promo is cheap....
if not kinda expensive...
my cousin did lasik during march that time...but with vista...
cause optimax more expensive...
after gave vista deposit....optimax only do promo...
i got this from optimax. sorry for the misallignment.. smile.gif

Treatment Lasik *Lasik XP *Lasek *Epi-Lasik *IntraLasik
Type (per eye) (per eye) (per eye) (per eye) (per eye)
Conventional RM1,588 RM1,988 RM2,188 RM2,188 RM2,488
Custom Optimized RM1,988 RM2,388 RM2,488 RM2,488 RM2,888
Custom Wavefront RM2,588 RM2,988 RM2,988 RM2,988 RM3,288
Multifocal (PAC) RM3,288 RM3,688 RM3,888 RM3,888 RM4,188
shadow111
post Apr 23 2009, 08:40 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Apr 23 2009, 08:04 PM)
really....what i see in the website price list is different
this is the promo price they are having now. u also plan to do it too?
shadow111
post Apr 30 2009, 10:20 PM

3,140 posts

just did my custom wafefront intralasik at optimax ttdi on last tues.. so far my vision still a bit blur but at least i can still use my notebook n watch tv..
luckily, i'm on leave this week and can hv some good rest at home
shadow111
post May 1 2009, 08:09 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(fearz @ Apr 30 2009, 10:52 PM)
haha congrats! new milestone in life smile.gif
4 months later and I'm still enjoying 20/20 vision. My left eye even better than 20/20 even tongue.gif

Try not to use computer so much, boring I know but gotta rest. I think TV much better since the screen is far away. Did the doctor tell you to avoid sunlight? I wanna know whether lasik patients need to avoid sunlight as badly as epilasik ones.
it's bored stayin at home not doin anythin.. so will still use nb to online or watch mov.. smile.gif
even for lasik, we are ask to wear sunglasses when goin out under the sun.

Added on May 1, 2009, 8:12 am
QUOTE(the100308 @ May 1 2009, 07:37 AM)
What do you mean by Cost:RM 7000. (If had done the basic lasik would only be half the price,done at HUKM and TTDI also)

So, wat is the effect if I get teh 3500 one?
the price diff is due to the different tech they use when cuttin the lense. the cheaper one use blade and the more expensive one use laser to cut.

This post has been edited by shadow111: May 1 2009, 08:12 AM
shadow111
post May 1 2009, 01:20 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(caerulln @ May 1 2009, 01:11 PM)
don't be cheap when it is about our health.
If i don't have enough money & can only afford the blade system, I will wait & save some more to afford the bladeless, all laser system smile.gif
The all laser system is proven to be more effective  safer as it relies less on operator. More on the machine which is far more accurate than human's fingers.
agree with u.. doin lasik is no small matter. would rather spend more money for the latest techno..
if u dun hv the money, then save first till u r financially stable to pay for the better techo.

Added on May 5, 2009, 9:52 amanyone know how long i hv to keep water from entering my eye?
been like 1 week dy since i last wash my face.. really wan to wash my face...

This post has been edited by shadow111: May 5 2009, 09:52 AM

0.0214sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:05 AM