LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

panda-man
post Aug 23 2009, 11:16 PM

2,691 posts

went to optimax today for prelim consult. next week going for the 3 hour eye test. the price is really bugging me haiii deciding whether to go for the custom or the conventional intralasik. bleh. price is 1000 diff per eye. but seems to be the better of them.
panda-man
post Sep 2 2009, 10:15 AM

2,691 posts

found a place in damansara uptown where normal lasik for both eyes is 2888 or something like that. just thought id let you know. place is called advanced vision i think. ill send more details if you want. but its a small shop. im still doing mine at optimax because its a chain. so if one tutup, can go to another.
panda-man
post Sep 11 2009, 03:21 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(OnGx2 @ Sep 11 2009, 02:29 PM)
I am going for eye examination at Optimax...may I know what are the steps for eye examination and most impostantly do it bring any discomfort? because i read this on the Optimax website.. "Your pupils will be dilated on the eye examination day. So you might have difficulty for near work and sensitive to bright light which may last for 2 to 3 days after the check-up. Please bring along a pair of sunglasses on that day." http://optimax.com.my/index.php?load=com_c...temid=60&mid=75
hey ongx2. i did that test like 2 weeks ago. its the full test that you have to pay for right? well the initial tests are no problem. there is some discomfort but after the test is done then thats it. the most uncomfortable of the initial tests is when they spray air into your eye to test the pressure.

as for the dilated pupils. this will be the last test they give you. they put these eyedrops into your eyes and you sit for like 20-30 mins and wait for the drops to work in which your pupils become fully dialated and you are now unable to read and become VERY sensitive to light. (i wanted to walk home but i couldnt because it hurt my eyes to stand outside, so sunglasses are definately a good idea) this will make everything blurry for about one-two days. so do the test during the weekend or something because you seriously will be unable to read.... or if you try you'll get a headache reading.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Sep 11 2009, 03:23 PM
panda-man
post Oct 13 2009, 01:13 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(rainbow84 @ Oct 13 2009, 12:50 PM)
Hi , I am interested in LASIK as well.... may i know please where and how much you paying for it?
Thanks..
im going to go do mine at optimax. the price ranges depending on your needs. it will range from rm2000-7500 for both eyes depending on the type of surgery required, or whatever you chose.
panda-man
post Nov 12 2009, 03:46 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Nov 12 2009, 03:03 PM)
Well, its laser and your eyes are very important, really, even tho risks are low, who knows you're one of those 'lucky' person who got it? not cursing but better be safe than sorry.

However there's a natural way to cure shortsightedness. I still remember when I was 12, my teacher, who wore a super thick glasses, don't need glasses anymore. Me and my friends did ask her how she did it. She told me she eats carrot everyday, look at green trees and grasses everyday, rest her eyes, does not strain her eyes etc.

You guys can try that tho, it works on her, why not you?
imo, i think what your teacher told you was just a nice way of saying she got contacts.... to this day there is a lot of research for techniques to cure vision, so far lasik has the highest rate of corrective surgery, some people use the glasses with the lobang in it and those eye machines that flex and relax your eye muscles, most people using those will get results of reducing their power, but not to completely go without glasses.

as for lasik surgery, the complications that come from the surgery are usually after the surgery, there is a few days that the patient needs to take care of their eyes while it heals, its at this time that complications occur. not the actual laser burning through the eye.
panda-man
post Nov 12 2009, 03:55 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(caerulln @ Nov 12 2009, 03:47 PM)
super thick glasses -> don't need glasses anymore = cured to me
QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Nov 12 2009, 03:48 PM)
Define cure. 0? Well don't think so.
id have to agree with caerulln here.... think about what you said...

1. your teacher had super thick glasses... you mentioned this.
2. your teacher no longer wears glasses... you mentioned this.

why doesnt she wear glasses?

3. because she eats carrots and looks at green things... you mentioned this.

sounds like a cure for bad vision to me.

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Nov 12 2009, 03:49 PM)
IMO, you will know if its contacts. its very obvious. check my above post.
you shouldnt eat "heaps" of carrots... you get a skin problem called carotenemia.

http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1104368-overview
panda-man
post Nov 12 2009, 04:43 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Nov 12 2009, 04:31 PM)
doh.gif  are you guys really that shallow? Cured = 0, now tell me, who's eyesight is 0? Anyway if I'm not mistaken, your power below 100 no need to wear glasses.

doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  Seriously, I never said eat carrots every minute did I? everything have its boundries incase you don't know that. Such as working is good you can earn money thru working but takkan you work 24/7 daily? right? big FACEPALM for you.
you dont remember things you post do you? your post says eat "heaps".... strange. gingko biloba to you. whistling.gif

QUOTE(caerulln @ Nov 12 2009, 04:35 PM)
u really are a troll.

This is pointless.
I'm stopping this & I'm dragging us back to topic.
do you know if there is any new promo? in 1u they had a stand, but didnt have time to stop and talk to them.
panda-man
post Nov 13 2009, 12:10 AM

2,691 posts

from what i remember i checked about a month ago was around 7000 or so for the custom intralasek i think thats their most expensive one.

but optimax had a booth at 1u last week. maybe got new promo prices.
panda-man
post Nov 13 2009, 09:17 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 13 2009, 01:19 AM)
RM7000 for both eyes? Whats the difference? A friend of my mom did the surgery within that price range and it was aweesome. Surgery lasted less than a minute.
the difference is its custom. they will map your eye personally and make sure to fix as much as possible. this is mainly for people with estigmatism. i plan to do this one soon. maybe over the coming holiday. there are some that are like rm3000 for both eyes. but the doc comes to cut your eye using his knife and his own hands shocking.gif no thanks. hahahah

QUOTE(frostworld @ Nov 13 2009, 02:04 AM)
Hey, stop the arguement! haha.. cool down everyone, it cant help in reducing my lasik/lasek cost, lol.

Ok story of mine, i did lasik, while my cousin lasek, coz her cornea not thick enough, so the procedure to do lasek is more suitable for her. using older method to remove the outer layer of cornea.

I did for around RM4.5k, for both eyes, i do the normal one without intralase, the newer technology. The process less than 4minute for me, one eye 1minute, the other one 30seconds.

after 1 week my eyesight is perfect! and i dont have to wear glasses anymore! thx to it.

oh ya, right now i have 25short sighted for one eye, 0 for another.
erm, and the "san guang", duno what it called already, one side 50, the other 25. consider normal.

ppl who go for optimax, pm me and put me as referal ya! wahhaa!
what you get for referral huh? voucher? free eyedrop? kekek
panda-man
post Nov 15 2009, 10:25 PM

2,691 posts

rm1288 for lasik. i think they are talking about per eye.

i would go for those big corporations for lasik since they give lifetime corrective surgery if your vision gets bad again or somethin like that.

panda-man
post Dec 15 2009, 09:25 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Josephinexoxo @ Dec 15 2009, 07:52 PM)
Hi, is the centre in damansara cuz i heard many ppl did it there
yeah the center is the optimax center in TTDI. near the KFC. just look on their website.
panda-man
post Jan 4 2010, 12:01 PM

2,691 posts

youre eyes can be burnt out of their sockets. lol. jk.

dude, either skim back over the past 15 pages (its not much) or use google plis.

panda-man
post Jan 4 2010, 12:45 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Augus7 @ Jan 4 2010, 12:29 PM)
i heard gt long term effect...wait till u're 60  brows.gif
the way you say it, it makes it seem like you want him to go blind. summore put the hehe icon. whats up with that?
panda-man
post Jan 10 2010, 07:03 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Qmage @ Jan 10 2010, 04:39 PM)
i'm planning to do this surgery to correct my eyes, but haven't decide on which centre should i go

should i choose optimax or vista? is there any difference between those two centres? in terms of technology, price, success rate etc.
Vista is much more expensive, they both use top of the line technology. but vista has reference list on using their technology for the US Air force and stuff like that. so their price is around 2-4k more.
panda-man
post Jan 11 2010, 01:41 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Qmage @ Jan 10 2010, 09:13 PM)
hmm, is vista's technology worth the price?(how much safer is it) also, is there other eye centres besides those 2 mentioned? thx btw
i dunno about how much the quality differs. you will have to go to each one and discuss with the eye doc there. they should both have free preliminary eye test. there are many lasik centers out there. but i chose to go to the big one (optimax) because they will probably still be around 10-15+ years from now. so if any problems i can go back.

QUOTE(Visualize @ Jan 11 2010, 01:37 AM)
I did mine at Excel View, Mid Valley around 2 years ago. But now, it came back a little. dry.gif
if it came back just go do correction icon_rolleyes.gif or does that place not have correction? optimax and vista got lifetime free correction so go check it out at your place too.
panda-man
post Jan 13 2010, 11:16 PM

2,691 posts

dont worry lah. the thing will be so fast. the only thing that will be annoying is when you want to close your eye during laser, but th clamp is holding it open. very uncomfortable. and sometimes get shocked when they suddenly douse your eye with eye drops hahah.

0.0897sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:34 AM