LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?
k3llying
Jan 18 2019, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 29 2018, 02:10 PM) Its using blade, old method. Thats why it’s cheap. You can call the clinic to confirm. Hi Jialat I just did my eye check with Optimax and according to them I can opt for both relax smile and femto. I am planning to get it done in February as my night vision is getting bad due to my astig *fingers crossed* it will get corrected after the lasek. After reading your comments, I should think femto is safer. However I am contemplating whether which surgeon should I go for, Dr Stephan or Dr Chuah ? Could you please advice. Also, read the older posts by you on the discount letter to get RM1k off per eye. Is it still effective now for the discount ?
k3llying
Jan 23 2019, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 19 2019, 11:49 AM) hi, i no longer recommending optimax after seeing many negative feedback from members here and from my previous referral. Always seek second opinion because surgery is irreversible. thanks oh..thanks for the heads up  ! Definitely taking in your advice. Which would you recommend then ? Can I obtain the referral discount if you have for that clinic that you recommend ?
k3llying
Mar 10 2019, 02:49 PM
*Sharing my experience with both Optimax and Dr Ainur Rahman ar ADMC*
This will be lengthy but please take time to read. I could have kept this private but decided to share this out as I feel I am one of the lucky ones and hope my sharing can bring more awareness to others before making uninformed decision with one of our most sensitive and important organ.
As a disclaimer, the purpose of my post is not to defame any eye specialist centre but to promote awareness so that others can make informed decision and to not rush.Certainly everyone will be presented a different case and your case may not be the same as mine.
I got my eye checked in Optimax Klang in January 2019 to see if I am fit for LASIK. I was pretty much settled with Optimax since number of my friends did with them many years ago with successful result even to date.
After the check, I was told that I can do either type of LASIK as my cornea is at a good level of thickness. On the same day, I was asked if I want to secure a spot with the promotional price, but would need to go through another round of eye test which will be scheduled only one hour before the surgery. I however did not go on as I felt that the optician who did my report reading was somewhat new, the explanation did not suffice me, to me they were pretty much too surface level.
That insecurity brought me to do more research online, leading to this very helpful forum and very thankful for all active advice from @jialat and brave input from respective cases especially the not so successful ones ! I then went to Dr. Ainur Rahman as recommended by @jialat, and did my eye scans all over again in ADMC on 09 Mar 2019.
Eye scans were done by an optician and as advised I made sure belin test was done. Unlike Optimax, report reading was done by Dr. Ainur himself. He was very patient throughout the session, explaining things making sure that I fully understand my eye condition and the purpose of LASIK (which we all here want to achieve - to have close to perfect eyesight without relying on glasses).
From having a greenlight to go on with LASIK (with Optimax) to hearing a "I will not perform LASIK on you" from Dr Ainur, was shocking.
He showed me a yellow spot on both of my eyes together with a graphical reading on both of my eyes, which he worry that could be a symptom of ectasia formation. This means I could be one of them with unsuccessful LASIK case as my eye sight may not get corrected or worsen. Hence he strongly encouraged me to not go through LASIK and took effort to emphasize that I should not go ahead even if I were to be given greenlight by other doctors.
He, like many have mentioned, is a very ethical doctor and I highly recommend to those who has the intention to do LASIK to go to him. If not him, make sure your report is read by the surgeon him/herself and clear all doubts and do not hesitate to seek second opinion else where if needed until you are know you are making an informed decision.
As for my condition, it is still not 100% confirmed for ectasia formation for now, since I do also have dry eyes and allergen on my eyeflaps which could also contribute to the indication of yellow spot. I will be firstly treated with my dry eyes and subsequently monitored for ectasia for at least 2 years with eye scans every 6 months before we can conclude anything.
Had I not gone to Dr. Ainur for second opinion, I would most likely have fallen to be one of the unfortunate ones (or not).
Great thanks to @jialat and all the contributors of this forum ! Cheers !