LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

OnGx2
post Aug 21 2009, 05:25 PM

213 posts

im from sarawak and going to KL on 20th - 23rd Sept. Thinking to go n have medical checkup(to see my eyes are suitable for lasik or not) at Optimax but dunno got open or not because its Hari Raya...
how far is Optimax from Subang Jaya anyway?

well, i think i have dryness problem for my eyes...was a contact lens user for about 8 years but stopped last year, because not feeling well when wearing it, probably caused by eye dryness (tried daily disposal & monthly contact lens but still having the problem)
and i have problems when wearing spectacles too, feeling dizzy/headache always, pain on the nose/head near ears area(those area in contact with frame of the glasses), and even Ghosting/Double Vision effect sometimes when i wear my spec.
these several problems make me feeling uncomfortable all the day and i have to quit my job half year ago (autocad/3D design job which bring more stress to my eyes).

thinking of doing the lasik for my eyes but was worried about the risks...including pain after surgery, Halo for some people and even more serious eyes dryness for my eyes which are already dry...
feel free to give any opinion and share about ur experience if u just did lasik lately...thanks..

This post has been edited by OnGx2: Aug 21 2009, 06:07 PM
OnGx2
post Sep 11 2009, 02:29 PM

213 posts

I am going for eye examination at Optimax...may I know what are the steps for eye examination and most impostantly do it bring any discomfort? because i read this on the Optimax website.. "Your pupils will be dilated on the eye examination day. So you might have difficulty for near work and sensitive to bright light which may last for 2 to 3 days after the check-up. Please bring along a pair of sunglasses on that day." http://optimax.com.my/index.php?load=com_c...temid=60&mid=75
OnGx2
post Sep 25 2009, 12:15 AM

213 posts

my eye examination passed and i have 595 and 600 (micrometer? )corneal which is considered thick as told by the optometrist, and 6mm diameterpupils which is normal. how many seconds it need actually to lay down under the laser if i wanna do customized intralasik? my eyes are -925 to -975. and is it really no pain after surgery if im doing intralasik as told by the optometrist? and customized intralasik cost about rm3598 each eye now i think...which is quite expensive for me. will optimax do promotion sometimes? how much cheaper if they doing promotion? because not sure if i just pay for the price now or wanna wait for the promotion...

thanks and feel free if u have anything to share or comment =)

This post has been edited by OnGx2: Sep 27 2009, 11:39 AM
OnGx2
post Jan 2 2010, 12:18 PM

213 posts

do anyone here with floaters in the eyes did lasik surgery before?
i am consider to do mine in vista/optimax in 1 or 2 months...
i have heard someone with floaters in the eyes getting even more serious after the lasik surgery...

and also, i would like to be informed if Vista(The Curve) or Optimax TTDI is doing any promotion because i am from Sarawak. thanks a lot !

(What are Floaters in the eye? Check here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Floater http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/646651?hl=floater)

This post has been edited by OnGx2: Jan 2 2010, 12:20 PM
OnGx2
post Feb 2 2010, 04:33 PM

213 posts

going for custom intralasik next month by Dr. Chuah in Optimax TTDI ~

This post has been edited by OnGx2: Feb 4 2010, 01:05 PM
OnGx2
post Mar 12 2010, 11:48 PM

213 posts

a lasik experience by kenny sia...just sharing (saw optimax publish this on facebook)
http://www.kennysia.com/archives/2010/02/my-lasik-surger.php
OnGx2
post Apr 16 2010, 11:10 PM

213 posts

i just done intralasik 1 month ago by Dr. Chuah optimax ttdi with pretty good outcome, he is a good surgeon
i was around -950 for each eye before surgery and i was +-0 on the second day check up and also first week/first month check up. its all good now and the starburst effect(common problem after lasik, which will gradually improve) was gone at the third week.
just dry eyes sometimes and u might need eye lubricant drops few times a day...

think twice if u wanna do it bcos there are still risks there although they are minor nowadays...especially after care..u have to take care ur eyes very carefully (dont ever rub ur eyes) after surgery, not to let ur eyes touch the water when u are bathing (for the first week) etc...

This post has been edited by OnGx2: Apr 16 2010, 11:11 PM
OnGx2
post Apr 18 2010, 12:10 PM

213 posts

for me there is no pain at all...just discomfort and yea...i feel scary too but it was all good after the surgery... doh.gif
OnGx2
post Apr 20 2010, 11:38 PM

213 posts

7k+ for intralasik at optimax or 10k+ in vista...
OnGx2
post May 12 2010, 11:48 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(loving_beauty @ May 6 2010, 12:05 PM)
hi~
I intended to undergo the lasik surgery, have done the research with optimax, advanced vision, vista & excelview.
All provided excellent customer service which make me fully understand how the process is going on.

However, now facing the problem which is -- which centre is the best? arghhh, I actually have high interest in optimax since my friend also done it in this centre. Did anyone know who is the doctor for each branches? I need this information but couldn't find it in elsewhere. Did anyone can help?
i only know optimax ttdi have doctor chuah, doctor stephen, and another one...(forgot). doctor chuah and doctor stephen are both good and recommended by many people from what i have searched. and most people to go vista/optimax i think...both of them are good..the MOST important thing is the surgeon u choose...

QUOTE(xander @ May 9 2010, 08:44 PM)
optimax was having a roadshow at topicana city mail for the past few days i think..

i just sign up for it as they have promotion price during the roadshow.. from 1288 to 2388 per eye..

is it considered cheap?
i done intralasik with about 3300 per eye...during feb promotion....
if its 2388 per eye for intralasik then its super cheap...
there is differences between intralasik and lasik(cheaper)...go for eye examination and they will tell u which kind of procedure suit u more...
OnGx2
post May 19 2010, 02:48 PM

213 posts

for how long do u guys have dry eyes after intralasik surgery? i have done my intralasik 2 months ago in optimax and i am still having dry eyes...

do u guys continue using the same type of eye drops (Allergan - Refresh Tears)? or switch to other type of eye drops? i have tried Alcon - Tears Naturale II but it seems doesnt suit my eyes...my vision was blurry for about 5-10 minutes after using...

This post has been edited by OnGx2: May 20 2010, 09:12 PM
OnGx2
post Aug 13 2010, 10:15 AM

213 posts

hello guys and gals, how long do u people wear sunglasses after surgery for those who did intralasik?
i did my intralasik surgery 5 months ago, do i still need to wear sunglasses when going bright outdoor? because my sunglasses was broken and dunno if i need to buy another pair, sayang my wallet >.<
OnGx2
post Oct 17 2010, 09:44 AM

213 posts

nice point mroctopus, i wouldnt do lasik too if it is not necessary, but i think there are some other people like me who have some problem or health problem that make them unsuitable/uncomfortable to wear specs or contact lens, thats why the only way for me to survive is doing lasik because i were -950 before lasik.
for those who can wear specs comfortably, i think lasik is not necessary because i feel that lasik really risks your eyes tongue.gif contact lens couldnt be wore long term too as it really hurt your eyes, like me i wore contact lens for more than 10 years, and finally i couldnt wear contact lens anymore because it make my eyes become dry and of cos make ur eyes shape become irregular

i have done lasik 7 months ago and just discharged from optimax 2 weeks ago. i am now +25 for one eye and +100 for another eye, lol guess i will get long sighted earlier than normal people tongue.gif

This post has been edited by OnGx2: Oct 17 2010, 09:45 AM
OnGx2
post Aug 17 2011, 11:20 PM

213 posts

anyone have solutions for dry eyes after lasik?

did intralasik in optimax 1 year ago and im still using refresh tears sweat.gif

need to use 2-3 bottles each month, RM16.90+ each bottle, and the biggest matter is very troublesome as i need to use it every few hours

did u guys continue using eyedrops after lasik/intralasik? or actually stopped after a period of time? thanks for sharing your experience smile.gif

0.0918sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:59 PM