176 Pages « < 169 170 171 172 173 > » Bottom

LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

ezze22
post Oct 10 2022, 12:47 AM

85 posts

Just to update, I did LASEK/PRK at UIA Kuantan in September 2018 for RM4k total both eyes. My power was then quite high around -650 and astig around -400. I did monovision. Today after 4 years my vision is as good as after the operation. Best 4k I've spent.
nike89
post Oct 12 2022, 11:49 PM

855 posts

my gf just did the ICL with Dr.Ainur last week and vision has recovered about 90%. according to Dr it will get improve gradually.

price for ICL 7.4k/eye (without astig)

one thing we would like to share, if you are going to see Dr.Ainur please be prepare the extra money need to fork out just for the checkup.

the first checkup will cost nearly 600, without medication.
if you have follow-up checkup, only pay for the consultation and medication, would be around 200+ each time (repeating idesign will be FOC)

not to stop you from doing this but to let you know upfront and be prepare financially.

This post has been edited by nike89: Oct 12 2022, 11:50 PM
Liquor
post Oct 17 2022, 08:12 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Apr 3 2022, 03:40 PM)
You are welcome.

Many members have pmed me for the Lasik cost under Dr Ainur.

He does 2 types of Lasik, and also ICL.

Standard femto Lasik RM 5000 for 2 eyes

Custom femto Lasik RM 7500 for 2 eyes
Hi!
Can you PM me contact for checkup appointment?
I have quite high power at 1800/1900. Plan to get it to reduced if possible.

jialat
post Oct 17 2022, 12:02 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Liquor @ Oct 17 2022, 08:12 AM)
Hi!
Can you PM me contact for checkup appointment?
I have quite high power at 1800/1900. Plan to get it to reduced if possible.

Sure, will pm u now. Thanks
Ethan_Rob
post Oct 21 2022, 09:05 AM

53 posts

Although my eyes are nearsighted, I am afraid to do laser eye surgery.
nike89
post Oct 21 2022, 01:22 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(Ethan_Rob @ Oct 21 2022, 09:05 AM)
Although my eyes are nearsighted, I am afraid to do laser eye surgery.
then dont do. its optional surgery
Ethan_Rob
post Oct 22 2022, 10:35 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(nike89 @ Oct 21 2022, 01:22 PM)
then dont do. its optional surgery
It's all because I use too many electronic devices.
nike89
post Oct 22 2022, 03:46 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(Ethan_Rob @ Oct 22 2022, 10:35 AM)
It's all because I use too many electronic devices.
yea lor, then dont do lor haha
else need to jaga baik2
NoDistractions29 P
post Oct 24 2022, 10:07 AM

Probation

Just had custom lasik surgery with Dr Ainur from ADMC.

Overall experience was okay, the entire process from first consultation to surgery took about two months.

First Consultation:
As I am working, the only available time for me is Saturdays. So the clinic runs on first come first serve basis, opens at 8:30 but doctor only arrives at 9:30. Recommend to come around 8:30, i first came at 9am and had to wait almost two hours before i could see the doctor. The optometrist will first see you and run through the tests, checking your eye power using different devices. Once that is done, you'll have to wait your turn to see the doctor. Dr Ainur is really nice and very detailed in explaining the benefits and risks of the surgery and give non-bias comparison with other types of surgery like Rilex Smile. He will then check the dryness on your eyes and really emphasize tha the dryness can affect the surgery. My eyes were quite dry so he gave me some artificial tears to be used 4 times a day. Next appointment was two weeks later.

Second Consultation:
Same procedure as first, ran some eye tests with the optometrist then went in to see doctor to hear his opinion. The readings of my eye were a bit inconsistent, due to the dryness in my eyes. So to be safe, doctor gave me one month to use artificial tears again.

Third Consultation:
Went through the eye tests and everything was good. The readings were consistent with no red flag so doctor gave the Ok to proceed with surgery. You will have to sign a consent form and some additional forms which the staff there will guide you on. You are required to do an RTK test the day before the surgery as well. Surgery is only on Thursdays or Fridays FYI.

Day before surgery:
Went to do the RTK test at the Emergency centre. Took less than 30mins.

Day of surgery:
Came at 8am, went to corporate counter to make the payment. It was via installment with 0% interest. After that was settled, went to some area with beds and instructed to change into the surgery gown. All my belongings placed in a locker and the key i passed to the nurse. The nurses were all really nice and attentive. After that they gave me a bottle of soap to wash my face and anxiety pill to calm the nerves. Then i laid on the bed and was pushed to the operating theater.

Before entering surgery:
Just outside the theater, Dr Ainur came out and explained what will be happening and what i have to do as well. There is a lot of actions that has to be done as a patient too. The doctor will show you a picture of what you will be looking at during the surgery. There are 2 stages, stage 1 which will be opening the flap on your eyes and stage 2 which will be the laser correcting your vision. The operating theater is a bit cold so I was literally shivering. Me being super nervous probably contributed to that.

During surgery:
You will have to lay on this seat, similar to a dentist chair. The nurses and doctor will then clean your face again. They will give you some anesthetic eye drops. The doctor will put a suction cup over your eye to keep it open and the feeling was very uncomfortable. Can't remember after that but you have to keep both eyes open and make sure you focus on the middle of the white circle that you have to look at. At some point your vision will get blurry then blank for a while. After they open your flap, you can close your eyes. Repeating same process with the other eye. Once that is done then brings you to stage 2, the laser one. The doctor will swing the chair to the other side. He will place a clamp (?) to keep your eyes open. Also quite uncomfortable feeling. During the process, you will really have to concentrate a lot in focusing on the blinking light. The doctor will also constantly remind you to look at the light. The laser starts and there is loud machine noise and the nurse will give a countdown. During this time I had difficulty keeping my eyes open but I had to try. Ngl I was really scared during this moment. Countdown was around 30 seconds. Your vision was also get blurry then blank for a while, and I had trouble keeping my eyes open or concentrating on the blinking light. I did not look at the light for a while and the laser immediately stopped and the doctor will remind you again before continuing. Once that was done, doctor will close the flap and move on to next eye.

After surgery:
Once the surgery was completed, my vision was very blurry and i could barely keep my eyes open. The doctor will ask you to read the time on the clock so I hope you know how to read analog. They will place an eye guard over your eyes and tape it. Then you are brought back to the waiting area. The nurse gave me some milo and biscuits while i rested. After some rest, the nurse came and gave me some painkillers. She then explained on the 3 eyedrops i have to use. Artificial tears (every 30mins), steroid and antibiotics eye drops (every 2 hours). I then took grab and went to bed immediately. I woke up after 3 hours and could see better although slightly blurry. Took the eyedrops and set reminder for it. Then I went back to sleep as i tried not to look at the screen too much.

Follow up post surgery:
Next day after surgery, my vision was better and I could drive on my own. Did the same tests as usual and the doctor said I had 6/3.8 vision which was better than 1% of his patients. Normally they will get 6/6 vision. After that the doctor checked my eyes to make sure to infection and no wrinkles on my eye as well. Everything good and my next follow up is in a week.

Total cost:
Surgery: RM 7,500
1st consultation: RM 600+
2nd and 3rd consultation: RM 200+ each
Covid test: RM 160+
Post surgery follow up: RM 200+
These are estimate figures, could be higher or lower. Can't remember. So overall quite costly but this relates to my vision so I rather it be thorough but costly than cheap but not proper.

scubamy
post Nov 30 2022, 02:29 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jul 1 2022, 11:24 PM)
Nope, its not more risky than any younger eyes.

But you need reading glasses after lasik.
shocking.gif I thought lasik can solve long & short sighted? I'm 42 started short sighted recently..thinking to do lasik
jialat
post Nov 30 2022, 03:49 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(scubamy @ Nov 30 2022, 02:29 PM)
shocking.gif I thought lasik can solve long & short sighted? I'm 42 started short sighted recently..thinking to do lasik
Lasik mainly to correct far distance refractive error, not for near, unless you ask the doctor to correct 1 eye for far, 1 eye for near.

by the way, the lasik cost is going to increase next year, whoever plans to do it, go get it done this year if possible.
nike89
post Nov 30 2022, 04:00 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 30 2022, 03:49 PM)
Lasik mainly to correct far distance refractive error, not for near, unless you ask the doctor to correct 1 eye for far, 1 eye for near.
by the way, the lasik cost is going to increase next year, whoever plans to do it, go get it done this year if possible.
any idea how much gonna be?
scubamy
post Nov 30 2022, 04:27 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 30 2022, 03:49 PM)
Any advise what should i do to correct both long & short sighted?
jialat
post Nov 30 2022, 04:45 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(nike89 @ Nov 30 2022, 04:00 PM)
any idea how much gonna be?
the hospital is still discussing on the final price, but it seems going higher than RM 7500 for 2 eyes by next year for sure.

QUOTE(scubamy @ Nov 30 2022, 04:27 PM)
Any advise what should i do to correct both long & short sighted?
lasik cant help, you might consider lens replacement but its not strongly recommended, your original crystalline lens is the best.

otherwise you can lasik the far power completely and use reading glasses when reading.
melz84
post Dec 1 2022, 12:14 PM

1,603 posts

QUOTE(NoDistractions29 @ Oct 24 2022, 10:07 AM)
Just had custom lasik surgery with Dr Ainur from ADMC.

Overall experience was okay, the entire process from first consultation to surgery took about two months.

First Consultation:
As I am working, the only available time for me is Saturdays. So the clinic runs on first come first serve basis, opens at 8:30 but doctor only arrives at 9:30. Recommend to come around 8:30, i first came at 9am and had to wait almost two hours before i could see the doctor. The optometrist will first see you and run through the tests, checking your eye power using different devices. Once that is done, you'll have to wait your turn to see the doctor. Dr Ainur is really nice and very detailed in explaining the benefits and risks of the surgery and give non-bias comparison with other types of surgery like Rilex Smile. He will then check the dryness on your eyes and really emphasize tha the dryness can affect the surgery. My eyes were quite dry so he gave me some artificial tears to be used 4 times a day. Next appointment was two weeks later.

Second Consultation:
Same procedure as first, ran some eye tests with the optometrist then went in to see doctor to hear his opinion. The readings of my eye were a bit inconsistent, due to the dryness in my eyes. So to be safe, doctor gave me one month to use artificial tears again.

Third Consultation:
Went through the eye tests and everything was good. The readings were consistent with no red flag so doctor gave the Ok to proceed with surgery. You will have to sign a consent form and some additional forms which the staff there will guide you on. You are required to do an RTK test the day before the surgery as well. Surgery is only on Thursdays or Fridays FYI.

Day before surgery:
Went to do the RTK test at the Emergency centre. Took less than 30mins.

Day of surgery:
Came at 8am, went to corporate counter to make the payment. It was via installment with 0% interest. After that was settled, went to some area with beds and instructed to change into the surgery gown. All my belongings placed in a locker and the key i passed to the nurse. The nurses were all really nice and attentive. After that they gave me a bottle of soap to wash my face and anxiety pill to calm the nerves. Then i laid on the bed and was pushed to the operating theater.
Before entering surgery:
Just outside the theater, Dr Ainur came out and explained what will be happening and what i have to do as well. There is a lot of actions that has to be done as a patient too. The doctor will show you a picture of what you will be looking at during the surgery. There are 2 stages, stage 1 which will be opening the flap on your eyes and stage 2 which will be the laser correcting your vision. The operating theater is a bit cold so I was literally shivering. Me being super nervous probably contributed to that.

During surgery:
You will have to lay on this seat, similar to a dentist chair. The nurses and doctor will then clean your face again. They will give you some anesthetic eye drops. The doctor will put a suction cup over your eye to keep it open and the feeling was very uncomfortable. Can't remember after that but you have to keep both eyes open and make sure you focus on the middle of the white circle that you have to look at. At some point your vision will get blurry then blank for a while. After they open your flap, you can close your eyes. Repeating same process with the other eye. Once that is done then brings you to stage 2, the laser one. The doctor will swing the chair to the other side. He will place a clamp (?) to keep your eyes open. Also quite uncomfortable feeling. During the process, you will really have to concentrate a lot in focusing on the blinking light. The doctor will also constantly remind you to look at the light. The laser starts and there is loud machine noise and the nurse will give a countdown. During this time I had difficulty keeping my eyes open but I had to try. Ngl I was really scared during this moment. Countdown was around 30 seconds. Your vision was also get blurry then blank for a while, and I had trouble keeping my eyes open or concentrating on the blinking light. I did not look at the light for a while and the laser immediately stopped and the doctor will remind you again before continuing. Once that was done, doctor will close the flap and move on to next eye.

After surgery:
Once the surgery was completed, my vision was very blurry and i could barely keep my eyes open. The doctor will ask you to read the time on the clock so I hope you know how to read analog. They will place an eye guard over your eyes and tape it. Then you are brought back to the waiting area. The nurse gave me some milo and biscuits while i rested. After some rest, the nurse came and gave me some painkillers. She then explained on the 3 eyedrops i have to use. Artificial tears (every 30mins), steroid and antibiotics eye drops (every 2 hours). I then took grab and went to bed immediately. I woke up after 3 hours and could see better although slightly blurry. Took the eyedrops and set reminder for it. Then I went back to sleep as i tried not to look at the screen too much.

Follow up post surgery:
Next day after surgery, my vision was better and I could drive on my own. Did the same tests as usual and the doctor said I had 6/3.8 vision which was better than 1% of his patients. Normally they will get 6/6 vision. After that the doctor checked my eyes to make sure to infection and no wrinkles on my eye as well. Everything good and my next follow up is in a week.

Total cost:
Surgery: RM 7,500
1st consultation: RM 600+
2nd and 3rd consultation: RM 200+ each
Covid test: RM 160+
Post surgery follow up: RM 200+
These are estimate figures, could be higher or lower. Can't remember. So overall quite costly but this relates to my vision so I rather it be thorough but costly than cheap but not proper.
sorry.. may I ask if this for both eyes or single eye?

nike89
post Dec 1 2022, 01:26 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(melz84 @ Dec 1 2022, 12:14 PM)
sorry.. may I ask if this for both eyes or single eye?
RM 7.5k surgery cost is for both eyes.
melz84
post Dec 1 2022, 01:47 PM

1,603 posts

QUOTE(nike89 @ Dec 1 2022, 01:26 PM)
RM 7.5k surgery cost is for both eyes.
noted on that. thanks! thumbsup.gif
KanGz
post Dec 19 2022, 03:53 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(MdmWSW @ Oct 10 2022, 12:34 AM)
Just wanna share that it's been almost a month since I did RELEX SMILE at sunmed. My power was really high- around 900 with 250 astig. I'm so happy with the results. Can see really sharp.
How much for relex smile?
MdmWSW
post Dec 22 2022, 03:19 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(KanGz @ Dec 19 2022, 03:53 PM)
How much for relex smile?
Around 11k iinm
txlim
post Jan 8 2023, 06:27 PM

QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 30 2022, 04:45 PM)
the hospital is still discussing on the final price, but it seems going higher than RM 7500 for 2 eyes by next year for sure.
lasik cant help, you might consider lens replacement but its not strongly recommended, your original crystalline lens is the best.

otherwise you can lasik the far power completely and use reading glasses when reading.
Hi!
already pm sifu for the checkup referral ya

176 Pages « < 169 170 171 172 173 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:53 PM