176 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Bottom

LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

jianjie
post Mar 24 2021, 11:52 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(mtcc @ Mar 21 2021, 10:12 AM)
I've checked it out, seems to me you've gotten pretty good vision right away.

Did you manage to see absolutely clearly after the first 48 hours or you had similar case whereby far objects are still not clear and it eventually clears up after a month or so?

Just an update, I've gone to the Doctors for my 1 Week checkup and he reassured me that it that Relex Smile takes awhile for vision to recover.

So will have to be patient up till a month to see if there's any improvement.
i can see absolutely clearly within first 48 hours actually, on my left eye.

after a month my left eye can read 7th line in the Snellen chart (eye test chart), now 2 months+ my left eye can ready until 8th line which is the smallest font in Snellen chart. Very happy with it.. for sure.

Right eye on the other hand is tricky story.

3 weeks after op - still blurry. can't see more than an arm's length away. short sightedness at +1.00. Very dry eye..
9 weeks after op - slight improvement. can see further, quite good improvement on astig. Short sightedness at +0.75, less dry.
11 weeks after op (today) - slight improvement. Can see quite clear in the morning. After long day of screen time vision gets very bad at late night.

Doc ask to give at least 6 months of recovery after op before we discuss about any other option. There are only 3 outcomes to this:

1) fully recovered vision, happy ending
2) live with what I have
3) go for ASA.. this is the last option.

Everyone recovers at different speed, hope my sharing keeps your faith up!
lee90
post Mar 25 2021, 08:41 AM

Ozibala
1,004 posts

QUOTE(jianjie @ Mar 24 2021, 11:52 PM)

after a month my left eye can read 7th line in the Snellen chart (eye test chart), now 2 months+ my left eye can ready until 8th line which is the smallest font in Snellen chart. Very happy with it.. for sure.

3 weeks after op - still blurry. can't see more than an arm's length away. short sightedness at +1.00. Very dry eye..
9 weeks after op - slight improvement. can see further, quite good improvement on astig. Short sightedness at +0.75, less dry.
11 weeks after op (today) - slight improvement. Can see quite clear in the morning. After long day of screen time vision gets very bad at late night.

Doc ask to give at least 6 months of recovery after op before we discuss about any other option. There are only 3 outcomes to this:

2) live with what I have

Thanks for sharing. May I know which KPJ you went to? Thanks
mtcc
post Mar 29 2021, 02:48 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(jianjie @ Mar 24 2021, 11:52 PM)

2) live with what I have

Yeah, reading your response helps. I suppose the expectation from my end wasn't realistic. Fingers Crossed for the 1 month hopefully I can see things better.

All the best to your recovery too.
jianjie
post Mar 29 2021, 11:53 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Mar 25 2021, 08:41 AM)
Thanks for sharing. May I know which KPJ you went to? Thanks
Kpj in pj, ss23
driftmeister
post Apr 5 2021, 09:22 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

Just want to report my experience with relex smile done at sunway medical center. Today is exactly 10 days after the ops.

Pre-assessment - Done 2 days before the ops and my eye had sufficient cornea thickness for femto but i opted for relex since as i am more interested in relex for the less incisive wound made and less side effect claimed. Proceed to FOC Covid test. RM200 (eye power +5.25 and +4.75 with some astig, not sure about the power as i did not spec it in my glasses)

Ops - Same experience as what others had shared. Grab to sunmed, registration and payment (RM10k for both eyes), briefing on meds, briefing of the procedure, signing of forms, another round of machine checks.

Off to suit up and relax at the lounge, getting BP checked and another form signing, off to the OT and get on to the bed. Taping of left eye (right eye first), numbing drop on right eyes, disinfection of the eyes etc, stare at the laser light (23 secs with countdown and yes, the greenlight will move, just focus at the original spot i was told), laser done, removal of the lenticule, cleaning up. Off to the left eye and repeat the same steps (the green light disappear in this circumstance, again just focus at the original spot), Walla, both eyes done within 30 mins. Can see the face of the nurses and doc and is rather clear now but very glaring. Out from OT, remove suit and another eye check before signing off. Grab back home and rest. 2pm in and 3.30pm out from sunmed.

After numbing effect is gone (roughly 2 hours later), not much pain but felt like a dust was inside the eyes when having dinner. Didnt sleep after the procedure nor i dont feel tired, so i listen to youtube with eyes closed until sleep time. Eye patch up and off i sleep.

t+1 = wake up to much clearer view, basically can view 6/6 rather sharp. Can drive to sunmed for first day follow up. (follow up FOC)

t+8 = vision was fluctuating on right eye, deteriorate to 6/8 if not mistaken, left eye was pretty much alright, have to wait till stable stage for recovery i guess. (follow up FOC)

meds given - 3 types (1 of it was artificial tears) FOC as well

Side effects
1. Glare/halo at night - Observable but not too serious
2. Dry eyes - First 4-5 days yes, but getting better after that
3. Daylight glare - Yes but bearable as i had been driving almost everyday from day 2 onwards.
4. Blur vision - Sometimes after working continuously from 9am to 6pm, i do feel blurriness compare to morning, but it was okay and not too serious.
5. Pain/discomfort - Barely

Dr Umi and sunmed crew did a great job briefing on the procedure and performing the procedure. Overall experience is above average. If i gain back 6/6 vision that it will be perfect experience.

Cheers

This post has been edited by driftmeister: Apr 5 2021, 09:26 PM
alfecia
post May 20 2021, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(jialat @ Jul 17 2020, 07:46 PM)
Lee eye centre at persiaran greenhill.
May i know the reason why Lee eye center is the best? How about optimax ipoh?
alfecia
post May 20 2021, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(danielx90 @ Oct 10 2020, 01:10 AM)
hi all,

i have this 2 options:

KPJ ipoh :
RM4040 (femotolasik surgery),screening (rm100), covid test (350),free enhancement within 6 months, 6 times follow up for 1 year.

Optimax(ttdi):
RM9000 (femtolasik), screening (rm120), fee post operative checkup, and medication. WARRANTY FOR LIFE.

My question is am i really need the lifetime warranty (enhancement) from optimax. how often do ppl always do enhancement. im 30yo. That almost twice the price of kpj. kpj ipoh is resident dr lee mun toong and visiting dr. shin hoy choong. any comment?

i think the life time warranty is abit extra from my opinion..that a huge sum money saved. hope kpj ipoh is equally good though,
Hi, did you already did ur surgery? May i know which one you choose?
jialat
post May 20 2021, 06:58 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(alfecia @ May 20 2021, 04:28 PM)
May i know the reason why Lee eye center is the best? How about optimax ipoh?
Used to be the best in town. Optimax was there some years ago, then they couldnt sustain and closed down.
alfecia
post May 21 2021, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(jialat @ May 20 2021, 06:58 PM)
Used to be the best in town. Optimax was there some years ago, then they couldnt sustain and closed down.
I just got my chek up at Optimax Ipoh (I think the new place since you said they were closed down) and they said at first im eligible for all type of laser surgery. Then today they called and said there are new eye scanner arive and ask me if i can come to double chek before the surgery date which is next week. The result show that my left eyes were only eligible for the PRK. And now im in 5050. Should I just do what the Optimax told or not.

FYI year ago I did my eye chek up at Lasik KPJ Ipoh, and the doc said im not eligible for lasik coz my left eyes hv problem ( and i think its the same problem what the Optimax told me). I just try my luck at Optimax to see if im eligible for eyes correction other then lasik.

And now im in dilemma. Can you help me Jialat.
jialat
post May 21 2021, 03:24 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(alfecia @ May 21 2021, 01:09 AM)
I just got my chek up at Optimax Ipoh (I think the new place since you said they were closed down) and they said at first im eligible for all type of laser surgery. Then today they called and said there are new eye scanner arive and ask me if i can come to double chek before the surgery date which is next week. The result show that my left eyes were only eligible for the PRK. And now im in 5050. Should I just do what the Optimax told or not.

FYI year ago I did my eye chek up at Lasik KPJ Ipoh, and the doc said im not eligible for lasik coz my left eyes hv problem ( and i think its the same problem what the Optimax told me). I just try my luck at Optimax to see if im eligible for eyes correction other then lasik.

And now im in dilemma. Can you help me Jialat.
yes, i think they reopen a branch in ipoh.

if its my left eye, i wont do any lasik or other refractive surgery on it. obviously its not suitable, and they dont care. surgery is irreversible and once done, damage is permanent.
alfecia
post May 22 2021, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(jialat @ May 21 2021, 03:24 PM)
yes, i think they reopen a branch in ipoh.

if its my left eye, i wont do any lasik or other refractive surgery on it. obviously its not suitable, and they dont care. surgery is irreversible and once done, damage is permanent.
Thank you.
bursageek
post Jun 5 2021, 08:33 PM

58 posts

Hello there, think this has been raised many times but if I want to go for femto lasik (bladeless), how are the street's opinion between Vista and Optimax? I have been to Vista for couple of eyechecks and the idea of Lasik has only recently occurred to me, so wonder if I should switch clinic.

I should add that my experience with Vista is alright, but the staff was pushy to sell me Lasik in general when I was only going for detailed eye inspection.
jialat
post Jun 7 2021, 08:38 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(bursageek @ Jun 5 2021, 08:33 PM)
Hello there, think this has been raised many times but if I want to go for femto lasik (bladeless), how are the street's opinion between Vista and Optimax? I have been to Vista for couple of eyechecks and the idea of Lasik has only recently occurred to me, so wonder if I should switch clinic.

I should add that my experience with Vista is alright, but the staff was pushy to sell me Lasik in general when I was only going for detailed eye inspection.
You will experience the same or more pushy staff in optimax too. They are very commercialised lasik centre, can’t blame them for pushing u to lasik.

If u prefer a more neutral and details oriented corneal specialist to advise u on lasik suitability and risk assessment, i can recommend u to a good ophthalmologist. U can private message me for details.
1tanmee
post Jun 13 2021, 01:41 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

is lasik permanent?
Carmein
post Jun 25 2021, 10:18 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(bursageek @ Jun 5 2021, 08:33 PM)

I am not sure about the price for these two centers. I'll be going to Sunway Eye Center next Wednesday for a paid assessment.
Initially i have registered my interest with KPJ (PJ Branch) for relex smile due to the promo price of RM 9888 for both eyes (Already paid a deposit of RM 100 for assessment). But then I saw the Femto Lasik promo RM 3000/eye from SMC and decided to go for the assessment.

Carmein
post Jun 30 2021, 10:15 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Carmein @ Jun 25 2021, 10:18 AM)
I am not sure about the price for these two centers. I'll be going to Sunway Eye Center next Wednesday for a paid assessment.
Initially i have registered my interest with KPJ (PJ Branch) for relex smile due to the promo price of RM 9888 for both eyes (Already paid a deposit of RM 100 for assessment). But then I saw the Femto Lasik promo RM 3000/eye from SMC and decided to go for the assessment.
Dr. Malisa explains about my eye condition. I would still be experiencing glare and halo at night even after LASIK because the size of my pupil is big (7.7mm, 7.5mm).
I have decided not to go for LASIK anymore. I paid RM 200 for the consultation fee.

Davan
post Jul 4 2021, 08:43 PM

42 posts

8k for both eye reasonable?
Hahaha89
post Jul 23 2021, 07:41 PM

Hi, has anyone done lasik at usj eye specialist centre? Their price is quite cheap. Microkeratome lasik for 2980 for both eyes. My latest inquiry they informed that they're going to have femto lasik in August. Add about 1k from normal price which is still quite cheap.

I'm interest in Dr ainur from ADMC but the consultation free is quite expensive at rm 580. I'm worried if I'm not eligible for lasik then the money is burned.

Ive checked the free test and my cornea is thick enough but i haven't done the extensive tests.

My power is about 750 for both eyes with astigmatism.

Any recommendations? My budget is 8k and below for both eyes.
Spitzer
post Jul 31 2021, 12:56 AM

376 posts

Anyone have any clue on age guidelines?

Ie. 20- maybe too young
30- perfect age
35+ , old, not worth it
45+, forget bout’it

??
clamp_wl
post Aug 17 2021, 06:43 PM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

QUOTE(Carmein @ Jun 30 2021, 10:15 PM)
Dr. Malisa explains about my eye condition. I would still be experiencing glare and halo at night even after LASIK because the size of my pupil is big (7.7mm, 7.5mm).
I have decided not to go for LASIK anymore. I paid RM 200 for the consultation fee.
You had your assessment in Sunway?

176 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Top

0.0413sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:40 PM