did we need to ask the doctor either we can do the surgery or not?
or did it will make us blind instead to brighten up our view
LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?
Jan 19 2009, 04:29 PM
227 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Shah Alam |
did we need to ask the doctor either we can do the surgery or not?
or did it will make us blind instead to brighten up our view |
Jan 19 2009, 05:36 PM
1,096 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: KL |
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 19 2009, 02:41 PM) can u imagine when those post-lasik ppl hit age 50 and above when dry eye come into play, they will have dry eye syndrome for sure and not many ophthalmologists have mentioned this to their patients, its very unethical. what are u talking about?for sure? In medicine & surgery, we rarely "sure" of anything. At most, we can say "high probability" The doctor did told me there is risk of dry eyes. Most people who want to do lasik will know about the possible dry eyes. I understand that u are selling contact lenses & will lose customers if they went for lasik QUOTE(Zoxoque @ Jan 19 2009, 04:29 PM) did we need to ask the doctor either we can do the surgery or not? yes. go for a checkup.or did it will make us blind instead to brighten up our view blind? RARELY if we develop infection. all instruments are sterile & disposable. Infections may still occur but less than 1% chance. The technology is so good already that blindness didn't even cross my mind. Anyone asking for 0% for sure no possible complication, surgery is not for u. U simply are not ready for it & will only makes doctors life miserable if something happens. Find a bomoh instead |
Jan 19 2009, 06:03 PM
2,364 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: malaysia |
QUOTE(caerulln @ Jan 19 2009, 05:36 PM) what are u talking about? well, according to what i learn and have seen in clinic all this time show almost all have dry eye when turn 50, dry eye is part of aging process.for sure? In medicine & surgery, we rarely "sure" of anything. At most, we can say "high probability" The doctor did told me there is risk of dry eyes. Most people who want to do lasik will know about the possible dry eyes. I understand that u are selling contact lenses & will lose customers if they went for lasik i still get returning customers from post lasik for contact lens due to residual refractive error that enhancement failed to remove. i supply to some lasik centers too, some procedures need bandage lens after surgery, look ard in the treatment room u will find purevision lens. i gain many customers from lasik centers, friends work in there i recommend my contact lens customers for lasik coz i gain commission, much better profit than selling cheap lens. |
Jan 19 2009, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 19 2009, 06:03 PM) well, according to what i learn and have seen in clinic all this time show almost all have dry eye when turn 50, dry eye is part of aging process. now that's a better term i still get returning customers from post lasik for contact lens due to residual refractive error that enhancement failed to remove. i supply to some lasik centers too, some procedures need bandage lens after surgery, look ard in the treatment room u will find purevision lens. i gain many customers from lasik centers, friends work in there i recommend my contact lens customers for lasik coz i gain commission, much better profit than selling cheap lens. regarding the refractive errors, what range of age do u usually get. They develop presbyopia? or recurrent myopia? LOL at the commission. Yeah some centers give quite a lot of commission for referral. eg. Optimax Anyone wanna partner with me opening MLM lasik center? |
Jan 19 2009, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(caerulln @ Jan 19 2009, 06:57 PM) now that's a better term u meant residual refractive error, no specific age, i think its very much depend on optom and ophthalmologist skills who check the refractive error b4 op, and also the patient's corneal thickness.regarding the refractive errors, what range of age do u usually get. They develop presbyopia? or recurrent myopia? LOL at the commission. Yeah some centers give quite a lot of commission for referral. eg. Optimax Anyone wanna partner with me opening MLM lasik center? vista also giving very good commission for referral. |
Jan 20 2009, 01:57 PM
1,016 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
waa.. i realy want to get rid of spec but right now doesnt have enough gut to do LASIK..
Jan 20 2009, 02:40 PM
Jan 20 2009, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 20 2009, 02:40 PM) if ur refractive error not very high, then just stick to glasses lor, spectacle help u to block wind and dust true but another reason i went for lasik is I want to wear an Oakley.Their prescription lenses are very expensive. Now that I don't need prescription glasses anymore, I can afford an Oilrig. Bought 1 from USA & very satisfied The lens cover my whole view. Almost can't see the frame. Almost complete UV, wind & dust protection while riding |
Jan 22 2009, 09:40 PM
1,602 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: KL |
is it painful to do lasik?
afraid to do if painful |
Jan 22 2009, 10:30 PM
93 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Do you even care? |
I heard that laser treatment has a minimal chances of failing which results the patient to be blinded. Is that true?
Jan 23 2009, 12:46 AM
326 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(akkihiko @ Jan 22 2009, 09:40 PM) its not painful but the surgery is quite uncomfortable especially if you're not prepared for it.QUOTE(polobun @ Jan 22 2009, 10:30 PM) I heard that laser treatment has a minimal chances of failing which results the patient to be blinded. Is that true? uh the chance of that happening is probably 1 in 1 million. |
Jan 23 2009, 11:37 AM
1,016 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
there will be analgesia. but the dr will pull our eyelid also right?
Feb 10 2009, 06:34 PM
3 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
i don't know any think about LASIK, but all the while i got eve problem
can recommend some doctor for you: 1 - Sukri and Hadeep Singh - old doctor very experience, alot people visit him and he charge very reasonable price. (it is a nightmare for waiting at least 2 hour. highest record i waited is about 6 hours) Address : 32, Jalan Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur 51200 Wilayah Persekutuan, Tel03-4041 8877 Fax03-4041 5677 MAP: http://superpages.com.my//health/eye-speci...ntre-29561.html 2- international eye specialist (ISEC)AT mid valley TEL: 2284 8989 Look for Dr. Micheal Law (Cornea specialist) or you call reception for advise- there have many doctor in this clinic, but have to prepare to pay about RM 100++ per visit. |
Feb 11 2009, 12:43 PM
104 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Can try going to UKM medical centre (formerly known as HUKM) in Cheras. They've got a good Ophthalmology team. They have a private wing, which u need to pay at a higher rate. But u can get an appointment almost immediately.
Otherwise, get a referral letter from a doctor (can be from the normal GP clinics) to see the Ophthalmology Clinic. However, the waiting list is slightly longer, but u still get the same treatment from the same doctors. Just the the charges lower. This post has been edited by whymengy: Feb 11 2009, 12:44 PM |
Feb 11 2009, 12:55 PM
394 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: My Nest |
QUOTE(whymengy @ Feb 11 2009, 12:43 PM) Can try going to UKM medical centre (formerly known as HUKM) in Cheras. They've got a good Ophthalmology team. They have a private wing, which u need to pay at a higher rate. But u can get an appointment almost immediately. can request for Dr. Faridah, a very senior and damm great opthalmologist. Otherwise, get a referral letter from a doctor (can be from the normal GP clinics) to see the Ophthalmology Clinic. However, the waiting list is slightly longer, but u still get the same treatment from the same doctors. Just the the charges lower. |
Feb 11 2009, 12:56 PM
104 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Ya ya, but not sure she do LASIK or not. But definitely great doctor
Feb 13 2009, 10:40 AM
373 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jan 5 2009, 05:32 PM) I've gone through the LASIK in one of the famous LASIK center in malaysia. but the outcome is not so good. i'm curious.. what happened after u did the LASIK?i've went back for follow up for 3 months but still no improvement at all. so, plan to find an eye specialist to see what's my problem. Any recommendation for a good eye specialist? preferably at KL or PJ area. i'm sure some of us here would appreciate it if u share your story. |
Mar 18 2009, 11:56 PM
306 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Penang~Shah Alam! |
which lasik centre provide an instalment?how much should i pay for the downpayment and monthly?
interested here.. This post has been edited by pali: Mar 19 2009, 12:30 AM |
Apr 21 2009, 05:36 AM
446 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Hmm I plan to go for this. Which place is recommended? I'm thinking of tun hussein onn eye hospital? I'm a student btw, is there any student rate? Thx
Apr 21 2009, 09:40 AM
326 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(reuben_1991 @ Apr 21 2009, 05:36 AM) Hmm I plan to go for this. Which place is recommended? I'm thinking of tun hussein onn eye hospital? I'm a student btw, is there any student rate? Thx Assuming 1991 is your birth date, you need to wait a few years until you're able to do the surgery. Eyesight power needs to be stable for at least a year or more. No there's no student rate..this is a life changing operation with real risks and is not to be taken lightly at all. |
| Change to: | 0.0168sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:31 PM |