LYN Proton INSPIRA Owners and Fans Thread V54!, Will not die - Erection version

tony.tony
post Apr 5 2013, 12:45 AM

QUOTE(s@ni @ Apr 4 2013, 07:28 PM)
My sound is not a small sound

Its a big gruk gruk

Dafuq proton SC..

Haiz..luckily got warranty
1.5yo car oredi sounds like 12 yo sweat.gif laugh.gif
Bro, if the sound is ngek ngek from left rear side, and you have changed bump stopper, bush and absorber, then the sound is coming from the metal clamp which secures the brake cable.

Refer to 1st page "Owner's Tips - If your car got "kluk kluk" sound when go through speed breaker, ask SC to change the bumper stopper (More pictures) (Parts Number: Front:MN502436 Rear:MN502437) (A SURE FIX BY ckk125!) - (A SURE FIX BY ckk125!) - http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-53/...33059_thumb.jpg

see the pic, see the metal clamp securing the brake cable and over the rubber cover....the clamp is the issue. Design fault, clamp cant be used to secure the cable over the rubber cover...due to movement over bumps, rubber cover contract and expand, the movement is causing the ngek ngek sound

Solution: Remove the metal clamp and use cable tie to tie the brake cable to car body (area where the metal clamp screw is secured to car body).

I did the above and eliminated ngek ngek sound 100%.

Hope this helps

This post has been edited by tony.tony: Apr 5 2013, 12:47 AM
tony.tony
post Apr 5 2013, 12:50 AM

QUOTE(tony.tony @ Apr 5 2013, 12:45 AM)
Bro, if the sound is ngek ngek from left rear side, and you have changed bump stopper, bush and absorber, then the sound is coming from the metal clamp which secures the brake cable.

Refer to 1st page "Owner's Tips - If your car got "kluk kluk" sound when go through speed breaker, ask SC to change the bumper stopper (More pictures) (Parts Number: Front:MN502436 Rear:MN502437) (A SURE FIX BY ckk125!) - (A SURE FIX BY ckk125!) - http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-53/...33059_thumb.jpg

see the pic, see the metal clamp securing the brake cable and over the rubber cover....the clamp is the issue. Design fault, clamp cant be used to secure the cable over the rubber cover...due to movement over bumps, rubber cover contract and expand, the movement is causing the ngek ngek sound

Solution: Remove the metal clamp and use cable tie to tie the brake cable to car body (area where the metal clamp screw is secured to car body).

I did the above and eliminated ngek ngek sound 100%.

Hope this helps
so actually its not Proton's fault, just the technicians are not skilled enuf to properly identify where the sound is coming from

To find sound, it takes alot of patience and trial and error. Foreman, especially those working under authorized service centers are trained to only trouble shoot the 'common' problems. To find uncommon problems, you have to engage your own personal foreman who can help to eliminate the causes via trial and error. This applies to all car makes ... Honda, Toyota and etc

tony.tony
post Apr 5 2013, 01:29 AM

QUOTE(T630 @ Apr 5 2013, 01:03 AM)
proton wor... what u expect... we r buying a rm60k car here while its selling at gbp6k in the uk... sweat.gif
yes, we are also paying RM1.90/ltr for fuel, UK pay GBP1.80 (or 5x more)
UK has TIV of >2 Mil, malaysia ~600k
UK population = 63 Mil, Malaysia = 28 Mil

To put into perspective, SGP COE alone now is SGD100k

each economy has its own balances, its not apple to apple comparison notworthy.gif

tony.tony
post Apr 6 2013, 10:51 PM

QUOTE(s@ni @ Apr 6 2013, 09:58 PM)
I checked it..its not loose hmm.gif

Eventhough its not loose, still needs to remove it and cable tie?
ok ill take a pic tomorow and upload

I tried the method of using superlon foam to cover the cable and then use the metal clamp to secure, after 1 week the ngek ngek sound came back. Thats why i totally remove the metal clamp. From my experiment, no point to tighten the metal clamp hard hard at all, the culprit was the rubber cover which is expanding and contracting

YEs thx to CKK for identifying this issue!!!

NOW DASHBOARD RATTLE SOUND !!!!!!!! very faint rattle sound at the front windscreeen area...ANYBODY MANAGED TO FIND THE CULPRIT??!!

PLease HELP!!

tony.tony
post Apr 7 2013, 04:08 PM

QUOTE(tony.tony @ Apr 6 2013, 10:51 PM)
ok ill take a pic tomorow and upload

I tried the method of using superlon foam to cover the cable and then use the metal clamp to secure, after 1 week the ngek ngek sound came back. Thats why i totally remove the metal clamp. From my experiment, no point to tighten the metal clamp hard hard at all, the culprit was the rubber cover which is expanding and contracting

YEs thx to CKK for identifying this issue!!!
NOW DASHBOARD RATTLE SOUND !!!!!!!! very faint rattle sound at the front windscreeen area...ANYBODY MANAGED TO FIND THE CULPRIT??!!

PLease HELP!!
Here's the pic of what i did to my handbrake cable and removal of the metal clip

Hope this helps

tony.tony
post Apr 7 2013, 11:05 PM

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 7 2013, 06:27 PM)
near the tyre one... the one on the fuel tank,  has a metal holder
ya near the tire

post la the results once you have fixed it

Btw, anybody can advice on the dashboard rattle noise? anybody managed to find the culprit??
tony.tony
post Apr 9 2013, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(s@ni @ Apr 9 2013, 03:31 PM)
NOT YET.. KEEP FORWARD ME TO OTHER PIPU doh.gif ayam angry edi sad.gif
just do it urself bro!
tony.tony
post Apr 21 2013, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(s@ni @ Apr 21 2013, 10:46 AM)
Solved it myself

As per tonytony mention, i double confirm, it is the metal clamp..now very gooding (oni sound from door and HU)
I DIY remove that metal clamp

SC is useless, however, i got new bushing, absorbers, bumpstopper, link.... TQ to them oso wub.gif
If u go for hhigher balue, should be ok, hmm.gif
woohoo, now you got nice and quite ride rclxms.gif icon_idea.gif

but anybody on dashboard rattle??? PLEASE HELP icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

I just cant find the source of this rattle....

0.0190sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:03 AM