University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 15 2009, 10:39 AM

12,696 posts

From what I read, AIMST program is based on University of Bristol's. And Bristol is one of the top 10 university in UK. So I guess the transfer is pretty successful.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 15 2009, 05:37 PM

12,696 posts

Education is now simply a form of business. It's a surprise that you are surprised.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 16 2009, 09:24 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 16 2009, 07:54 PM)
'what happened to service to your people, and country.........??

private medical education destroyed that.......amongst other reasons, of course.......'

do you all really need everything spelled out? no one is disputing the nep policies are responsible for many of the problems in the country.......including the messed up training of doctors......
He needed new reading glasses.

Things that destroy are:
1. Unfair treatment p*ssed people off
2. Moral and ethic are on downtrend with globalization and commercialization.
3. Expensive medical education requires some payback (not unless money grows on tress).
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 17 2009, 11:56 AM

12,696 posts

"4. developed countries are consistent in their selection and training process, based on 1, 2 and 3. and thus has the best record of consistent, quality med education...."

In the old days, your chance of getting into UK university increases greatly if your father is a doctor. Not sure how it is nowadays.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2009, 08:32 AM

12,696 posts

Internet forums generally serve 2 purposes. Exchange of ideas and a playground for fun. Both will draw people to it.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2009, 12:08 PM

12,696 posts

Who knows. May be when Pakatan comes to power, everybody would want to stay back in Malaysia.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2009, 02:01 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 18 2009, 01:48 PM)
that, my friend, is called the 'asian' syndrome......lah....... biggrin.gif
QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 18 2009, 01:50 PM)
And now you are being critical towards those who plan early? rolleyes.gif
While it is good to plan ahead but don't go paranoid or to unusual length over it.

From what I know, majority of local UK/Aussie medical students studying in UK/Aussie do not plan as far ahead as to go elsewhere the very moment they graduates. I believe the majority of them intends to work in the country they graduated from, i.e. UK or Aussie.

From what I understand of limeuu, he is saying that is not the case with Asian student. They will graduate from Country A with the intention to work in Country B aka it's a Asian syndrome.

I think you really should go get new reading glasses.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 18 2009, 02:04 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2009, 02:07 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 18 2009, 02:01 PM)
Back your claim of Asian Syndrome with evidence pls.

Perhaps you need a reading glasses too.

You REALLY should go buy new reading glasses.

Did you not notice there are people taking about graduating in Country A and going to Country B to practice in this very thread? Personally, these are the very evidence of this Asian Syndrome you asked about but don't seem to be able to see.

Take my advise. You really needed new reading glasses.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 18 2009, 02:08 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2009, 02:13 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 18 2009, 02:11 PM)
Therefore, Asian Syndrome means "pre-mediated" to graduate from country A and work in country B.

Back your claim that msian doctors have contracted the so called Asian Syndrome.

Why are here people asking whether they can practice in Singapore but are not doing medical degree in Singapore? If this is not Asian Syndrome, then I don't know what is.

Still hasn't got your new reading glasses?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 18 2009, 02:15 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2009, 02:38 PM

12,696 posts

Now try to spot the differences between these 2 sentences if you canl.

1. I only mentioned the existence of this so called Asian Syndrome (which you keep asking for evidence even though it's in this very thread).

2. I am not trying to debate the cause of that syndrome (which you are trying to do but I have no interest).

And BTW, I wasn't the one posting that private medical education question that you keeps asking me about. Proof that you really need new reading glasses.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2009, 07:43 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 18 2009, 02:53 PM)
Well since you implied that you have better vision, therefore i was asking for your "help" in understanding that statement, as i assume that better vision helps in better understanding. biggrin.gif

1. Msian doctors haven't contracted the Asian Syndrome, as training/practising overseas is not pre-mediated as limeuu has claimed.

2. I acknowledge the existence of Asian syndrome, but it is not applicable to msian doctors for reasons i have stated in my other posts.

3. I am not debating the cause of the syndrome, i was merely showing you that Asian Syndrome is not applicable to msian doctors.
I think Asian Syndrome do exist in some Malaysian doctor in the sense that there are some who love to work in Singapore but are not studying medicine there aka study in Country A but wanting to work in Country B.

But it is no where as serious as Indian studying in India but wanting to go work in UK.

Added on January 18, 2009, 7:46 pm
QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 18 2009, 02:53 PM)

Let's define Asian Syndrome again:
It is a syndrome of which one graduated from country A with intention to work in country B, even if there are plenty of opportunities in country A.

Situation for Msian doctors:
Graduate locally with intention to work overseas for better post-grad training opportunities, as there is racial discrimination in Malaysia.

Hope you understand.

Let me ask you this, if a pharmacist graduated from Msia, but with intention of working in the UK due to the fact that Malaysia doesn't award dispensing right to the pharmacists, does he/she have Asian Syndrome?
My definition of Asian Syndrome would be:
It is a syndrome of which one graduated from country A with intention to work in country B. Full Stop.

It does not matter for what reason.

Ideally, if a person wanted to work in Country B, they should automatically or naturally study medicine in Country B.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 18 2009, 07:46 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 19 2009, 07:13 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 19 2009, 12:22 AM)
for those contemplating applying to work in spore, this is some info just obtained through personal communication with a spore based msian doctor.....

the recent change in uk immigration laws has resulted in a marked increase in msian uk graduates applying and working in spore......

in addition, the recent recognition of um and ukm by smc has resulted in many fresh graduates from these two unis applying to do their housemanship in spore........

i need not add which ethnicity these will be......

these will be your likely competitors.......
These are Asian Syndrome.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 20 2009, 06:27 PM

12,696 posts

They do that? Why? Short of doctors? Low pay? Good pay? How's career prospect for advancement etc? Who are the majority that takes up their offer? Malaysian? Australian?
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 20 2009, 07:08 PM

12,696 posts

In that case, I think British, Aussie and now Singaporean are getting smarter than Malaysian. They know the real money is in finance whereas doctor cost too much to educate and too much hard work to be worth it.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 20 2009, 07:53 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 20 2009, 07:11 PM)
Medicine is never a quick and good way to garner wealth. It's tiring and stressful like hell. I dun get why so many parents want their children to be doctors.
While there are those who are passionate about being a doctor for the right reasons, unfortunately, I think there are also a lot more who did not realize what you just said.

Added on January 20, 2009, 7:54 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 20 2009, 07:18 PM)
spore could easily have another 1 or 2 medical schools, to produce more doctors.......but they know they can always rely on msians to pay for their own education and then want to go to spore to work and settle.......save them a big bundle of money NOT having to train doctors for their own needs.......

uk and oz actually train adequate doctors for their own needs, just that they also tap into the best brains from msia, who even pay fully for their own education first, and then contribute their youth and lifetime of work to them......
Singapore is laughing all the way to the bank. The Malaysian policy is pushing a lot of those her way.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 20 2009, 07:54 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 28 2009, 04:20 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 28 2009, 04:13 PM)
a relative who got 11A's in spm did poorly in aimst foundation,
What happened? Any particular reason?
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 29 2009, 04:36 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 29 2009, 04:32 PM)
so it's true......

no, they do not 'happen everywhere'......
Common in shared student accommodation. Even in angmoh countries. You just have to learn how to deal with it.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 29 2009, 04:44 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 29 2009, 04:38 PM)
not in my experience.........
Then you are very lucky. It had happened to me and to my friends as well. Usually just the minor stuff like milk or something. Different university, different accommodation. So dependent on your lucky as to whom you ended up with sharing the flat.

In fact, I have even seen university officially advising students not to steal others food. So I guess it must be pretty common.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 29 2009, 04:45 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 29 2009, 05:12 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 29 2009, 05:05 PM)
one can pretty much get into any other courses with any pre-u qualification......uec included....education is a business now.....

medicine is different, for these 1st world.....they are much more careful, as many of these international students will stay back and treat them.......

i am telling it as i hear it.......

Added on January 29, 2009, 5:09 pm
The 1st world treats you as 'spare tires". When they needed you, they let you work in their country. When they don't need you, they kick you out as soon as you graduate or not long after that. And all these while, they make money off you and laughing all the way to their banks. And there is nothing you can do.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 29 2009, 05:17 PM

12,696 posts

What choice do they have short of go start their own medical school? Only feasible if you have someone like Bill Gates or Warren Buffet as dad. This is especially true for those non-"son of the soil".

Truth be told, if we are angmoh, we will do the same. That's reality.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 29 2009, 05:18 PM

0.0619sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:40 PM