16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

TScsrulez
post Aug 27 2008, 04:30 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

You seriously think he doesn't know when merdeka is? Hahaa.

Btw, Biochemistry kills. Lol.

P.s. Just finished my medical ethics paper. Totally screwed it up. Sigh. =(
TScsrulez
post Aug 28 2008, 12:20 PM

1,114 posts

Yup, AIMST really do have the potential to excel as a global university now. It's so freaking different from few years ago. Example would be that not only the school of dentistry is fighting for international recognition, but the school of medicine has also collaborated with Imperial College London on a joint research which spans up to 10 yrs on infectious diseases. I believe there's more to come in to the future.

Jolene, certainly u guys (the pioneer batch) will have to work alot for the MDC recognition thingy (If MDC has the same criteria for recognition as MMC). It's definitely a noble job. I kinda admired our 1st and 2nd batch seniors for going though so many exams and extra courses specially arranged for them to attain recognition from MMC. It took 1 whole year for them to completely fullfil all de requirements. Now that we have got the recognition, they have definitely placed in ALOT of efforts. They are kind of like our model now as all de lecturers talk about how good and competent they are to each and every batch of juniors after they have graduated. Haha.
TScsrulez
post Aug 28 2008, 04:05 PM

1,114 posts

Yup, definitely. wink.gif

Only the physicians/lecturers from SOM department of medicine, i guess students are just not qualified to participate in any official research projects yet. Haha. Only SSMs. Sigh. We actually have a Research Ethical Community now in the uni to review all the SSMs and research proposals by students and lecturers. As told by Prof Narayan from dept of community med. Looks like the university has started walking onto the research track already. It's a good start for AIMST, we're gonna be an international recognised research hub one day.

This post has been edited by csrulez: Aug 28 2008, 04:07 PM
TScsrulez
post Aug 31 2008, 08:49 PM

1,114 posts

FUHHHHH. Back for a short 1 week of hols, at last. wink.gif

QUOTE(rokenlim @ Aug 30 2008, 10:20 PM)
hi everyone. especially to the 'starter', shaun.  and, you have done a nice job here,in this page. rclxms.gif

well, just a little bit about myself. i'm also an aimster( 2 years).  currently,I'm taking mbbs, year 1. i think that's all about me.

Nice to meet u all!
ROKEN LIM!!! AT LAST U REGISTERED! Hahaha. Well, nice to meet you here dude. Please get active in this thread. Lol. Anyways, happy holidays back in S'wak! 11 weeks to Professional Exam I man. LOL.

QUOTE(joychin89 @ Aug 31 2008, 11:09 AM)
Haha...why lousy management?
You've gotta experience that yourself. Haha. wink.gif Vomit blood i tell u sometimes.
TScsrulez
post Aug 31 2008, 11:08 PM

1,114 posts

Haha. Just enjoy dude, our very last holiday. Second year's waiting for us. No more ethics, epid, anthro and biostats! Wooohooo!
TScsrulez
post Sep 1 2008, 05:01 PM

1,114 posts

What is this? Stab in the back? O.o
TScsrulez
post Sep 1 2008, 08:41 PM

1,114 posts

Backstabbing i see. Who backstabbed you then in this forum?

Biotechnology, currently few batches are already out. And they are all already been employed from what i've heard. Watch out for the inaugural convocation this october. =) If you wanna advance in biotechnology field, i'd suggest you not to base in malaysia. M'sia has no recognition and technology in terms of research and development for biotechnology currently. That's from what i've seen. However, you can still get urself involved in academic teaching like how edge85 has said. wink.gif
TScsrulez
post Sep 2 2008, 02:56 PM

1,114 posts

Haha. Looks like we've got lotsa ambassador here already. Well yeah, work wee bit more on your grammars and caps looks kinda rude. wink.gif Keep that up, dude.
TScsrulez
post Sep 2 2008, 07:01 PM

1,114 posts

Nononoo, there is no discrimination here dude. Oh please dun misunderstand, i truly understand what u're trying to convey. Just to pinpoint slightly abit on that mistake, i'm sure that u'll be a good ambassador in this forum. And please, do participate more in this forum as we truly need ppl like you to keep this thread going. ALSO, mbbs is really nothing here in the campus. Peace out dude. wink.gif Chill.
TScsrulez
post Sep 2 2008, 08:30 PM

1,114 posts

QUOTE(jayelleenelial @ Sep 2 2008, 07:20 PM)
lol being new in a forum doesn't relate to good english leh.

it's all right. smile.gif Hope biotech will work out for you.
I think EGAP, ESAP and EPP should work out for him. wink.gif

QUOTE(paige halloween @ Sep 2 2008, 07:48 PM)
sorry to interrupt ...

helo everyone~ just register in english forum today~
and first of all , i need to apologize for my really really broken english..
and i never went for anglish forum...(well , i kind of addict to chinese forum...= =)

ok...
now i am quite trouble about this...

(after see 20 page of reply..my brain is spinning anyway~)

i was form 5 student last year.
and at that time, like most of the student said,
i dunno that this u exist.
and...
i have started my stpm already...
about 3months ,i think..
(but it seems to have been one years...my own opinion..==)

and one day~(dramatically change~)
my mum saw the advertisement in newspaper...
and after all the research...
she think that this u is quite good...
the fees,i think this is what she means....
(i am from moderate family...so money come first....sad..==)

and now....
my dad want me to abandon my stpm and go for foundation...
(from what i see from the 20page reply, i think my dad is right?)
but the problem is....
the intake for foundation in science has gone...
that means i lost the chance ...(haiz~)

so the people there ask me to apply for next year jan intake....
ok...
i can wait...
(whole family are waiting ,actually...i think our neck will become longer next year...i wonder is there any benefit for that...easy to peep in exam?==)

and now ...
some problem has been haunting me...

do aimst student need MUET result as compulsory subject?
and from what i heard from my friend,in private institution ,moral is compulsory subject....(i hate moral...it is not i have no moral value...but i just don't see any connection for the practical and theory words..==)

and another problem is....
i think even thought i apply for next year foundation...
does that mean my classmates are all younger than me?!
(i don't used to be with younger classmates...i think that will ...well...i have to be more mature ,better than us...otherwise ....well ....that feel ...well...a big burden in my heart....== )

and another problem is....
if anyone still remember....
is it necessary to get a translation for all documents ?
(that is for foreign students, right? not sure about that..)

and other than that....
what is the required documents ,except for the certified ic and spm result slip?

thx for the incoming info~
Hey there! Am glad you found this thread, din expect you to read all the 20 pages! Haha. Anyway, AIMST is indeed quite a good uni for now. wink.gif I would not dare to say that if it was few years ago. Lol.

Well, the next intake for Foundation in Science would be Jan 2009.

MUET is not exactly a subject but an examination. You have to get at least a Band 3 to graduate from the University. It is not exactly compulsory to take it during your foundation but will save you from lotsa hassle in the future during your degree as you will no longer be as free as your foundation anymore. Therefore, it is recommended that u take the exam before you finish your foundation, or even after your foundation.

Yes, undoubtfully age will vary in a batch. Not only foundation but even when you come to degree. Trust me, age doesn't mean anything when you come to uni. People younger then you can score better result sometimes and they might also be more matured. I guess the growing environment plays a more crucial role if it comes to maturity etc. There will definitely be people younger and older den you, some have finished their SPM, STPM or A levels etc. So this, you gotta bear with it.

Nope, you do not need a translation for all documents if it is in English or Bahasa Malaysia. However, you have to make sure that all your documents are Malaysian documents. For the required documents, i'm not too sure about that. Probably you can try giving the school's admission division a ring. They should provide you with ample information on how you should prepare you documents for registration.

Hopefully some of the info i've provided above would help you abit. Feel free to ask your doubts here, AIMST ppl here are very friendly. No worries. Hahaa. Jolene, you included.
TScsrulez
post Sep 2 2008, 08:42 PM

1,114 posts

I have replied your previous doubts, if you could see it above. Haha.

Well, foundation will be much easier if compared to other pre-u courses such as STPM, A levels etc. Still, you gotta study. Nothing comes easy. To qualify for MBBS now, you need at least 217 of total marks. Previously it was 215, and not to worry for the seats as places have been increased. It seems that much of the external students will be coming in for the next intake, 130 of them in 1 batch (Batch 14).

I think to graduate for all professional courses, you need at least Band 3 or 4. Am not too sure about that, you need to clarify with your english lecturer.

University paper. Haha. Have currently Psychology and EPP paper to go. 2 more and i'm out! Lol. As for the ptptn loan, no worries. For MBBS you will definitely get the full loan of RM150,000 if you have filled up and attached all the documents properly. In my batch, all of them got the full loan except for few who got rejected due to some minor errors they did on the application documents. So financially, you'll be defnitely getting 150k. I guess that should help alot as you only need to fork out another 70k for the tuition fees plus cost of living. wink.gif
TScsrulez
post Sep 2 2008, 09:34 PM

1,114 posts

Jolene :
It's definitely you being friendly. LOL. In fact, you're my senior and i should be the one asking you questions. How do you feel of AIMST now? Lotsa improvements after Prof. Geoffrey came in eh? Haha.

Paige:
Roken is my batchmate plus roomate! LOL. This world is just so small. Yeah, most of us here has a blog. Jolene has the more popular one, while me the not so. lol. Nyways, you can try searching "aimst" in google. I believe many blogs will pop out by itself. wink.gif (That's what our lecturers used to do, to check on student's blog. Haha.)

Abi:
Hmm, still dun understand. Who kutuk you? Which senior?
TScsrulez
post Sep 3 2008, 02:46 PM

1,114 posts

QUOTE(jayelleenelial @ Sep 2 2008, 09:45 PM)
hahaha awwww  wub.gif

and to think we've yet to meet around uni. sigh. (bangga la aimst so big..haha)

I think it's pretty good, especially with the recent coverage that the uni received in the papers. Particularly impressed with the tuberculosis research one. Also when I first entered, the MBBS course had no LAN accreditation yet and now you see, two batches of doctors out and about in Malaysia. smile.gif

We were tiny little Year Ones who got ragged by the first batch of MBBS (who were then in Year 4) back in 2005. How time flies! I'm starting Year 4 on Monday!

With state of the art architecture on sprawling greens... this feels so damn real compared to our shop lot days.

I'd say I definitely feel secure studying in AIMST. Knowing that I'm doing a good course and graduating SOOoon.

And the swimming pool is awesome but we need a bloody permanent life guard.
Hahaa. Yeah, haven't got the chance to met up though we're in the same uni. We should, one day! Haha. I think you know Kenneth right? I'm actually quite a close friend to him. Totally agree that time flies, it's been 2 years plus since i first step into aimst. We're actually the first batch of students to have moved into the in campus hostels, this uni has certainly grown alot. I can actually feel kinda proud to study in AIMST now compared to before when you go around mentioning AIMST and nobody knows about it. Haha. Well yeah, the sad thing is that the first few batches of our senior do not have the chance to try out all the facillities in our new campus. And hey, all the best to you there! It'll only be a blink of eye before you find yourself standing for the convocation. wink.gif

QUOTE(rokenlim @ Sep 2 2008, 10:24 PM)
hey csrulez, this world is really small huh! icon_idea.gif  helo paige, nice to meet you here.

well, in my perspective i think that you, paige should take a serious consideration for that dicision. Before i get further on,  pls do let me clear your past doubts. see below....

1. moral(LAN)- yup it is compulsory. it is a LAN paper for the private university's students. Besides that, Malaysian study is also another compulsary paper for us to sit. enjoy them!!!!

2.university's papers- selective papers. all together, 5 of them( 3 english papers counted as 1 paper)

1 and 2- you will take those papers during your degree studies, not in foundation.

3. MUET- too bad, in malaysia's edu u have to sit for that. so good luck in ur muet exam in this october.

i think that's all which im able to grab from my blog. hope i can solve your puzzles.

well, if u really wanted to let go ur form 6 after any further consideration, then you should have made up your mind in ur coming education. i think csrulez has already brief u about the uni's system rite. before i end here, i think i can give u some guidelines...by the way, is not any golden rules. simply a reference.

identify, think, work, and stay.
then, enjoy all along!!

identify ur needs or doubts
think and considerate all the solutions
work them out and make wise dicision
stay and stick with your interest and dicision
finally, enjoy ur studies!

all the best! thumbup.gif
Dude punye study principle ar? Indentify, think, work and stay. Then enjoy! Lol. Anyways got you Robbins Patho liao, international ed. At least more worth it to get from IBS or Top Rank. 159 Hard cover. wink.gif Shall see you soon after the hols man. Enjoy there at Kuching, dude!

QUOTE(edge85 @ Sep 3 2008, 12:08 AM)
fuah, if other people drop by our AIMST thread, they'll be laughing their ass out reading our posts....

sangat memalukan oi....
LMAO!

QUOTE(abi @ Sep 3 2008, 10:49 AM)
MESSAGE FROM ABI THE GREAT
Instead of asking the salary of the jobs, why not ask yourself - What is YOUR interest?

For an example, Job A might offer a very good income. But you never liked that job. You took it because of the pay. Will you be happy working? Yes, you got good pay monthly. But at the end of your life, after you've retired, will you feel as if you have wasted your life doing something you never like? Won't you feel like it's a waste?

Salary does not matter. Because no matter what fields you are in, there are chances to excel, to get better pay. The opportunities are definitely there. The question is, Are you good enough to be there?

Follow your heart; your interest. If you don't like your job, you won't have the enthusiasm to work harder.

Well, it is just an opinion. Sorry if anyone feel offended.

Good Luck,EVERYONE....... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Hey, great abi.

Haha. Yeah, all this while i do not deny that interests do play an important in your studies and career. But trust me, when you come out to the society you'll see how the income affects you. You can't say salary does not matter, it does, to a lesser extent. Working opportunities is another thing, it depends on how competent you are and also the market when you graduate. If there's no market, no matter how competent you'll still find it hard to secure a job. And do remember that there are also thousands of graduates coming out at the same time competing for the job that you're interested in if that happens. Nobody's feeling offended here, no worries. Did you copied this from the other thread? Looks kinda familliar to me. wink.gif
TScsrulez
post Sep 3 2008, 03:04 PM

1,114 posts

LOL. I can detect sarcasm here weih. Oh my, AIMST thread. LMAO.
TScsrulez
post Sep 3 2008, 03:12 PM

1,114 posts

Ohhh, that Mr. English's grandmother arh? Mine's fine. I think. LOL. If this is still not sarcasm, i dunno what is. LMAO. Hey Jolene, you guys on hols?
TScsrulez
post Sep 3 2008, 05:57 PM

1,114 posts

Dear Abi,

It's just an opinion dude, you dun have to take it so seriously. Try to think wider, and learn how to accept people's opinion. Even if it's not nice to hear, this is what you're gonna face in the future during your studies and also after you graduate. You won't wanna place caps all over your words and ask the others to shut their mouth up when you hear something you dun like isn't it? Chill la.

Firstly, there's no discrimination about biotechnologist. We're just giving you ideas on what will the biotech market be like after you graduate. Truths are hard to accept sometimes, but this is what most of the biotech graduates are facing now. We're just pinpointing the problem, and it depends on how you see it yourself. Of course you can excel, but DEFINITELY NOT with this kinda attitude dude. Trust me, change your attitude before you come aimst. Else, you'll be beated up for no reasons. Just a piece of advice from your seniors la. So, chillek laa.

AND, you did not hurt any of us. Just that u made some of us go pissed off sometimes. So, if can jaga jaga la your words alright. Chillllll. wink.gif This thread is meant for info exchange so that you get to know AIMST better alright. I'm sure most of us here will help you much if you could learn how to respect the seniors abit. Have fun k. Again, chillll. Haha.
TScsrulez
post Sep 3 2008, 11:03 PM

1,114 posts

LOL. MTV Punk'd. You're punk'd, abi. biggrin.gif

Dude, please just continue posting in this thread la. We're just messing around only, study stress la. Haha. Trust me, this is going to be so much better than the real orientation you're gonna have by your seniors. Haha. And really, theres nothing wrong with biotech. I have quite a number of friends in the course too, your seniors. They're all doing real good. wink.gif

As for the mega cultural night, i heard there are some external artiste performing. Something like a cultural show, but i bet indian dance will dominate. Will be held at the great hall, should be something big i guess. Haha.

This post has been edited by csrulez: Sep 3 2008, 11:08 PM
TScsrulez
post Sep 4 2008, 12:39 PM

1,114 posts

Closing date for application is Sept 8 this year. Courses will commence on one week after if i've not mistaken. Give AIMST a call or check out their website, it seems that places are really limited. wink.gif
TScsrulez
post Sep 5 2008, 01:26 PM

1,114 posts

Haha. Pillow will be provided but not the teddy bear, but i'll still recommend you to bring your own pillow as new pillow won't be provided. You'll be using the pillow of god knows how many of em' have used before. And basically, you can bring almost anything to your hostel. It's gonna be your room for the next few years. =)

As for the sport shoes, yeah i think you should have one. Not only for the orientation but for future uses, such as the sport facillities. Running tracks, badminton, basketball etc. I think you need a sport shoes for that. wink.gif
TScsrulez
post Sep 5 2008, 04:06 PM

1,114 posts

You should say, so many AIMST'er here. Haha. And we've moved to Semeling. Our new campus. wink.gif

16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0536sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:11 AM