6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

MBBS siang
post Feb 23 2009, 05:47 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Feb 23 2009, 06:08 PM)
if that's the worse u can expect, then don't worry...there are 120 places annually

but in any case if you're still worried, just sit thru the foundation course lah...should be a peace of cake since you've been thru stpm...

this is coz stpm results should be around april? the mbbs intake is in september...and if u get 3.92..straight apply for UMS or UNIMAS lah =)
MBBS siang
post Feb 23 2009, 10:50 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 23 2009, 06:53 PM)
if you have above 3.8, and put ums or unimas as 1st choice, you stand a good chance.......this is proven in recent intake batches.......
Thank you!Hopefully,my result can really help me at least enter IPTA(UMS or UNIMAS) or aimst.
MBBS siang
post Feb 24 2009, 12:00 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(se-ryn @ Feb 24 2009, 12:00 AM)
come aimst lah... ;-D
MBBS siang.. ur results is stpm results or wat wor... ?
official result not yet out.But the trial i got 3.92 but i think that may not be my real result in STPM,the actual exam is too difficult as compared with trial,only can hope for it.So,If i luckily get the admission of aimst (ipta will better because cheaper),you will be my school mate but if I failed and do foundation,then you will be my senior lo.Haha....

Added on February 24, 2009, 12:01 am
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 24 2009, 12:59 AM)
i wouldn't be surprised, but there are quite a few sub-4.0 around, and i know they only look at those who put unimas as 1st choice in the first round.......

my point is, if one is sub-4.0, it is better to just opt for the lower rank schools, rather than try um/ukm as top choices, and NOT getting anything at all in the end........
nod.gif nod.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 24 2009, 12:01 AM
MBBS siang
post Feb 24 2009, 12:03 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Feb 24 2009, 12:52 AM)
I think u only saw the tip of the iceberg, there are many more rejects out there who got the same results and put Unimas/UMS as their 1st choice. so there's a slim chance someone wif 3.83/4 will get into medicine.
I think ,I should make a wish,i will the lucky one who can slip in lo. rclxms.gif

Added on February 24, 2009, 12:04 am
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 24 2009, 01:02 AM)
i thought the final results are usually BETTER than trial results?.......at least in the schools i am familiar with, they tend to mark down the trials, to make the student work harder........

so maybe you will bet 4.0!!
Hope so!Thanks!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 24 2009, 12:04 AM
MBBS siang
post Feb 25 2009, 04:31 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Feb 24 2009, 01:53 AM)
i heard something about yayasan negeri selangor (or whatever negeri you are in), maybe can apply their scholarship (overseas)? not sure, try asking around...

Added on February 25, 2009, 8:27 pmThis is the email from GMC,uk.For who have the same doubt with me.Hopefully,in future aimst will be in the list of medical school which is eligible for registration.haha.... rclxms.gif

Dear Mr/Ms Tan

Thank you for your email of 22 January 2009.

Primary Medical Qualifications (PMQ) awarded by Asian Institute of Medicine, Sciences and Technology, Malaysia are not currently acceptable for the purposes of applying for provisional or full registration. This means that these degrees are also not accepted for the purposes of taking the Professional and Linguistic Assessment Board (PLAB) test.

We currently recognise most, but not all, of the (PMQs) listed in the Avicenna Directory (formerly the WHO Directory of medical schools) as acceptable for the purposes of registering to practise as a doctor in the UK. You can find the directory at

http://avicenna.ku.dk/database/who_directory/

An acceptable PMQ is one which has:

* been awarded by an institution which is listed in the Avicenna Database or otherwise accepted by the GMC
* been awarded by an institution which has a physical address included in the Avicenna Directory.
* been awarded after a course of study comprising of at least 5,500 hours (or four years full time equivalent study)
* not involved a course of study undertaken wholly or substantially outside the country that awarded the PMQ
* not involved a course of study undertaken wholly or substantially by correspondence

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 25 2009, 08:27 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 26 2009, 10:38 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(paigedark @ Feb 26 2009, 09:38 PM)
err....
just want to make sure some 'things' before april....

well...
for the orientation week....
is it really a week or less than that?
coz it stated that o.w is the day after registration day(wednesday)..
so does that mean o.w only on thursday and friday only?

and what are the original documents needed for the registraiton day?

and err....
about the dress code....
long sleeve blouse can be the normal secondary shirt or not?
and the 'long skirt', can until knee level or have to be the 'mop floor' style?
and what is court shoes anyway ?==

and for the sports attire....so that means t-shirt also can ?

(really stupid question...==)
Sorry! What course you are offered?April....foundation?SPM leaver?
MBBS siang
post Feb 27 2009, 11:30 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Feb 27 2009, 11:21 AM)
1st day of orientation week must wear white shirt and black long pants/ skirt. they will inform at the registration day.
Can I ask some"stupid"and"mountain turtle"question about the campus life in aimst?
Normally,during orientation week what are the activities will on?What new students normally do during orientation week?How about the campus life?Do you all think ok or not?
Or quite enjoy of it?Quite excited about the registration days!!!!Is all of you there communicate with each other using english?

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 27 2009, 05:44 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 27 2009, 05:38 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 27 2009, 04:41 PM)
Senior orientation will definitely be fun and unforgettable! Haha.
Your"haha"sound strange,something very evil.Do the senior will create a lot of things to play the new students?But I think sure very fun one.Thanks for sharing experiences.getting more and more excited!!!!haha...!!!! icon_question.gif What bank in aimst?

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 27 2009, 05:59 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 27 2009, 06:02 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 27 2009, 06:59 PM)
You'll get to know when you come. wink.gif Lol.

Btw, CIMB atm machine at the student centre. No bank.
haha!!!Thanks....
MBBS siang
post Feb 27 2009, 10:28 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(paigedark @ Feb 27 2009, 10:05 PM)
what are u sorry for?  ohmy.gif
foundation in science...
well...
nearly the same case as u....
but i stop halfway....
(spend 8 months for stpm and now switch to foundation...dad wants it...==)
ok~great~

i did search google....
the high heeled low heeled....
some all mess up.....==

swimsuit ...==
it there any chance for us to get thrown into the water....==
sounds like ....waitresses......
well~  laugh.gif (shake hand first~)
same question~ha~thanks for asking~
but what is the meaning of mountain turtle?
(my brain is sdn bhd~ sweat.gif )
me too~looking forward~
and finally is my time to leave house~
(so envy all cousins go outside~)

i will try to use english...
will not make the same mistake as when i was in lower 6....

Added on February 27, 2009, 9:09 pm
evil? but i think 'hehehe' is more evil ... rolleyes.gif 
like the big bad wolf.... whistling.gif
foundation orientation should be ok.......
heard quite a lot of info about the orientation for medicine ...
well...
is more exciting......
haha~
yesterday specially went to cimb and open acc.....
Aim for medic? Well, if the answer is yes,then work hard together ! The wise decision!Hey...not same! far far far different lo...!You are better than me because I have finished already.hehehe....!!!! laugh.gif Me wear like waiter.really look like lo!haiyo...can't "tahan"!mountain turtle means"know nothing"(like a turtle live in mountain never go out), a word directly translated from hokkien!!!(shake my hand with you too~)haha....We should try very hard to use the english,try to speak.Really need!!!!

I never speak english with my friend before ,only use it during my speaking test! Score a very terrible mark for speaking (36/45),my friends always laugh me! open account directly Oo?Wah!so "kiasu"!!!Hokkien again means daren't to lose!

All the best to you,me and who with the same fate with us!!!!!!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 27 2009, 10:30 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 28 2009, 09:09 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(rav063 @ Feb 28 2009, 02:55 AM)
the sports complex is pretty good. You can probably bring table tennis bats, tennis or badminton rackets ... running shoes (there is a track) or even a basketball ...
Can bring along the badminton rackets Oo?Nice~!I love to learn how to swim....Is there any courses available?I only know how to play water but not swim....
MBBS siang
post Feb 28 2009, 01:03 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(paigedark @ Feb 28 2009, 01:41 PM)
i think so~
haha~actually u are better than me....
well... surely i know i won't get 3.9 and above in trial stpm....
and u have completed it...
not easy ~^^

waiter also not bad....
well....very decent looking..i guess.. laugh.gif

oh~well ... basically my hokkien learnt from tv drama's sub.... unsure.gif

yaya~
no environment for english .......

at the speaking i was terrified...
they said the examiner come from singapore and is one of the channel 8'drama producer ...
but try to seem calm...relaxed...

36 is not bad ah~i got 32 only but teacher said it is ok since it was the first try..
so what band did u get?
and by the way, what is the band required for the course?
i really dun wish to retake haiz....
but my hearing sure got some problem .....
so marks all pulled down by listening ... sad.gif

i know kiasu...haha ...
well.... early preparation as dad said loh~
gambateh~
well... anti-water...i think....haha~
i love basketball yeah~ rclxms.gif
haha.... i learnt swimming before but give up after a few lesson...
the coach is bad-tempered and well...
a little bit strange ....

at that time i told myself to stay away from water and all that ....
haha ~
but "soak" inside is no problem .....
That is trial! I don't care that result very much.3.9 is nothing because that is not actual result!We are same ok?haha...really need to work very very hard in order to realize the dream(doctor)!Do you mean your hokkien learn from subtitle?channel 8 drama producer is your examiner? I don't think so! Maybe your friends try to scaring you off.High Band 4 the only band 4 in my school.All the science stream students get at least band 5 except me.haiz......

Good attitude! Always make an early preparation is definitely good!As csrulez told me the minimum band for medicine(MBBS) graduation is band 3.I'm sure you no need to take it again!Band 4 or higher?

Are you good in basketball?Must teach me lo.I love badminton and gym very much.But no time and no much facilities in my living area.Im sure in aimst,definitely can do any activity that i like to! I love water but don't know how to swim really pity! haha..... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 28 2009, 01:05 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 28 2009, 03:11 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(paigedark @ Feb 28 2009, 02:40 PM)
ok ok~haha...in the same boat ~
en~everything need efforts~

yup....
lazy to write subtitle.....==

dun know.....
but they said so....
but he looked very serious and tense....
so i avoid eye contact with him ~

all?
wow...
in my school only 1 physics stream girl got low band 5....
i need 8  marks more to get band 5...haiz...
listening too lousy...
i only got 27 for it ....==
(all friends laugh when they saw that....)

never mind lah...
can always retake if doesn't fulfil the requirement....
only need to waste 60 loh....

actually not good lah...
i just likes the bouncing  sound of the ball...
it is so...energy feel~
love it~
but not many chance to play coz the basketball court always occupied by boys...

seems like u like sport very much?
haha~then learnt loh~
i enjoy books more than sports~^^
Actually,I less 7 marks to band 5!!!die in the writing part!!!yes all of them.so,i always laughed by them.I love books more more more than sports because,i always study and study,less socialise activity too.DOCTOR leh!!!No effort sure can't achieved.Anywhere,Im sure we can make it if we put in much much much much much effort lo!!!!This time,sure i can enjoy a more relax and better study life than before and as long as put in effort nothing will bad at last.Totally different with STPM!!!!hope to see you soon.haha..!!!!!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 28 2009, 03:16 PM
MBBS siang
post Mar 1 2009, 07:39 PM

582 posts

urgent questions:physics of foundation in science(biological science) will have any differences with the foundation in physical science or not?Please tell me!

If there is differences,please let me know:
1.forces and motion
2.forces and pressure
3.heat
4.light
5.waves
6.electricity
7.electromagnetism
8.electronics
9.radioactivity

The syllabus of biology in STPM:
lower six
1.chemicals in life
2.cell structure
3.enzymes
4.photosynthesis
5.respiration
6.nutrition(autotrophic and heterotrophic nutrition)
7.gaseous exchange
8.transport(mammalian heart,blood circulation and plant)
9.homeostasis
10.nervous system
11.chemical coordination(hormones)

upper six
1.immunity
2.reproduction(no human)
3.development(embryology,human fetal development,parturition process and plant
development)
4.growth
5.genetics and heredity
6.mutation
7.population genetics
8.gene regulation and expression
9.modern genetic technology
10.taxonomy
11.biodiversity
12.variation and theory of evolution
13.ecosystem
14.quantitative ecology

Please tell me which one do you all didnt study it,so i can easily do revision.

in stpm we study

Physical chemistry,organic chemistry and inorganic chemistry!!!!3 books,I also don't know why i still alive.haha......
Please tell me which one do you all didnt study it,so i can easily do revision.

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Mar 1 2009, 07:47 PM
MBBS siang
post Mar 1 2009, 08:36 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Mar 1 2009, 08:51 PM)
WOW. Haha. I don't think i can answer that. Lol.
Why?dear senior haha....
MBBS siang
post Mar 1 2009, 08:58 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 1 2009, 09:45 PM)
what you have studied in stpm is significantly more, and the stpm exam more difficult, than what is taught and tested in foundation studies.......aimst, or whatever uni.......
Thanks!!!
MBBS siang
post Mar 1 2009, 09:01 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Mar 1 2009, 10:00 PM)
when's stpm out? all the best
Really thank you!Not sure the date yet.Normally,is around 11-13March

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Mar 1 2009, 09:02 PM
MBBS siang
post Mar 2 2009, 12:41 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Mar 2 2009, 12:42 PM)
hope can see u in MBBS, although i'm from different department.  tongue.gif
Me?Thank you so much!Muackz......haha!
MBBS siang
post Mar 4 2009, 06:07 PM

582 posts

csrulez.....I heard you say before aimst medical graduates can take USMLE is it?I wish to learn more about that,very hard to find the answer through the Internet.If I wish to undergo the specialist training in USA,fist step is to register with USA gorvernment isn it?If you are free please answer my questions thanks.
MBBS siang
post Mar 4 2009, 06:37 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 4 2009, 07:30 PM)
I think now it's not the time for you to worry about specialization, but how to get into medical school and how to pass out. Rulings can change anytime, therefore it won't be late if you start collecting info after you have passed.
yaya...thats true but Im quite free now,beside doing revision,i also trying to find out some details about postgraduations that i wish to know tongue.gif !!!"kena"again.last time is limeuu and this time is hypermax,still dare to post...haha!!!Me really "cari mati"!anyways,thanks for your advice! notworthy.gif Haha laugh.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0210sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:52 AM