This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Jan 23 2009, 11:32 PM
University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.
Jan 22 2009, 11:13 PM
582 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: everywhere |
i just want to know more...anywhere...thanks for your advice!!!!
This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Jan 23 2009, 11:32 PM |
Jan 29 2009, 04:08 PM
If i go for AIMST...Can i get the hostel for one student/room? so i no need to share with others!!!!
This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Jan 29 2009, 04:09 PM |
Jan 29 2009, 05:39 PM
Feb 2 2009, 07:36 PM
A bit curious.The dental surgery of Aimst is also very competitive or not?If you free just answer me please edge85 ! Thanks!!!
This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 2 2009, 07:39 PM |
Feb 2 2009, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(edge85 @ Feb 2 2009, 09:33 PM) so ter is like percentile la? Oic!! thanks for your info!!! but still it's about being the best out of an 'easy' exam. like scoring 99% or 99.5% for Matematik Moden. competitive in what sense? entrance, or the studying years? if entrance, i'm not sure at all. but if have reasonably good stpm/a levels/sam results, then it should be no problem. for studying years, well, you just gotta know your stuff when you're in the clinics. or else, expect really bad scoldings lor... This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 5 2009, 11:19 AM |
Feb 7 2009, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(edge85 @ Feb 7 2009, 05:12 AM) Oo..haha!!! actually what i want to know is about admission,then you have give me a satisfied answer already,so I thanks for your info!!!Anything wrong there??Added on February 7, 2009, 2:25 pm QUOTE(bdsrulez @ Feb 7 2009, 05:14 AM) to mbbs siang, erm..thats true I will try to obtain more information before i ask the questions!!!!But ask a question about a profession from the related people is also a way to know more ,even though that is a stupid question ! Dont you think so?different courses have their different lvl of competition/challenges involve. As for courses that involved patients, of cause it is competitive and challenging. Dude, is human life we talking about! r u a medical student now? Please do read more about other professions b4 u ask any questions about it. This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 7 2009, 02:28 PM |
Feb 7 2009, 09:31 PM
no..im not!!!
This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 8 2009, 06:36 AM |
Feb 8 2009, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(bdsrulez @ Feb 8 2009, 05:34 PM) Nono...!!!I had finished my STPM ,once the result come out I will try to apply IPTA(med school),If i failed to enter then will try to apply CUCMS,If I failed again, then I will do the foundation in AIMST because MBBS in AIMST is too competitive until impossible to get in(SEPT 09 intake). Haha....!!!I don't wish to give up my dream!!!Hopefully can make it!!!Are you a dentistry student ?Your nick,BDSrulez means Bachelor of Dental Surgery is it?Not sure,but guess so!!!All the best!!! I use the MBBS as my nick because,Im too crazy to be a doctor...hehe!!! This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 8 2009, 06:33 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 9 2009, 02:24 AM) Why?I don't understand! You mean very hard to enter or this med school is not good?Can you tell me more about cucms?The course consultant tell me they are mostly base on the interview's outcome as their selection consideration.He told me, once the student are meet the academic requirement are required to attend an interview.Thats all he told me!This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 9 2009, 10:08 AM |
Feb 9 2009, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 9 2009, 12:06 PM) I mean the quality of the medical school is not on par even with many private medical institution in the country. The entry is ridiculously easy. They take in almost every applicants, even to the extent that the applicant's minimum requirements are not met. huh!Actually I went there last week but Im just went there to clear my doubt about the programmes!So,i need to consider twice before I apply!The medical programme in CUCMS is launched without much consideration like what limeuu has explained above. Try have a look or take a tour to the university and you should understand what i'm saying. Not to talk bad about any university here but IMHO AIMST should be a much better medical school if you were compare it with CUCMS. This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 9 2009, 02:09 PM |
Feb 11 2009, 11:44 PM
Hey csrulez!How about the Unikl(RCMP)? The MBBS ok or not?How about the admission?
Feb 12 2009, 07:49 AM
QUOTE Haha. I guess i'm not in the right foot to comment on any universities yet, but i'd advice you to go around collecting more info on your future med school. okok! haha! Added on February 12, 2009, 8:05 am QUOTE csrulez,Feb 12 2009, 01:13 AM] If unfortunately,I really force to enter cucms.Then,can i amass some detail and info or skill from you,in order to reach the standard.I will also get some information from my ukm medic friend lo!Haiz......Haha. I guess i'm not in the right foot to comment on any universities yet, but i'd advice you to go around collecting more info on your future med school. This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 12 2009, 08:05 AM |
Feb 21 2009, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(yshiuan @ Feb 16 2009, 06:18 PM) i heard from my lecturer that the intake has been changed to once per year since last year. but now become 2 intake per year. Hey bro! The bed at aimst can withstand the weight of about 150kg++ or not?Added on February 21, 2009, 6:16 pmerm...csrulez ,if one with hypertension will he still be accepted into medicine programme after doing foundation? This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 21 2009, 06:16 PM |
Feb 21 2009, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Feb 21 2009, 07:20 PM) Honestly, yes.Yesterday,I went to do a medical check up.MY family doctor tell me:"You are suspected suffered from hypertension"...150/90,but doctor not yet make sure.Its because this few days,I turn in at about 1-2am and the blood pressure are not very stable.After 5 minutes he do again then the pressure go down to 140/70...! Recently, I trying quite hard to slim down and to reduce my body weight.I have make a series of plan to lose my body weight within these few years.Haiz.......hopefully,it will not affect my medical school admission.Doctor ask me to check again on monday.Added on February 21, 2009, 7:55 pm QUOTE(hypermax @ Feb 21 2009, 07:35 PM) If you are obese and have hypertension, i would suggest you lose some weight first before entering clinical phase, as you will be required to stand a lot. thanks! of course, I will.This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 21 2009, 07:59 PM |
Feb 21 2009, 08:16 PM
My height is 181cm.So,normally,no one will know my body weight is over 150kg.
Added on February 21, 2009, 8:17 pm QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 21 2009, 09:14 PM) 150kg and bp 150/90 at 20 years old is a perfect recipe for a potential ischaemic event by 40.........serious attention and correction is required........ Ok.Thanks.I must slim down.but they will not discriminate against you on the basis of weight or bp......... This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 21 2009, 08:17 PM |
Feb 21 2009, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 21 2009, 09:14 PM) 150kg and bp 150/90 at 20 years old is a perfect recipe for a potential ischaemic event by 40.........serious attention and correction is required........ what are the differences of myocardial infarction and ischaemic ?but they will not discriminate against you on the basis of weight or bp......... Added on February 21, 2009, 9:03 pmNo need to answer me lo. I have found it.Suddenly recall the spoonfed theory.haha.... Myocardial infarction (MI or AMI for acute myocardial infarction), commonly known as a heart attack, occurs when the blood supply to part of the heart is interrupted. This is most commonly due to occlusion (blockage) of a coronary artery following the rupture of a vulnerable atherosclerotic plaque, which is an unstable collection of lipids (like cholesterol) and white blood cells (especially macrophages) in the wall of an artery. The resulting ischemia (restriction in blood supply) and oxygen shortage, if left untreated for a sufficient period, can cause damage and/or death (infarction) of heart muscle tissue (myocardium). This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 21 2009, 09:03 PM |
Feb 22 2009, 07:28 AM
QUOTE(Visualize @ Feb 22 2009, 01:47 AM) Normally, no one would assume one is over 150kg no matter how fat they are. I thought that figure was simply fictitious.. until now. No offence though. Thanks.This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 22 2009, 07:47 AM |
Feb 22 2009, 09:01 PM
QUOTE hey siang, being obese means u r very likely to have high bp, blood glucose and lipid level. But dun worry, u r still too young to have any medical problems. so now the priority is really to reduce ur weight. try to do it slowly, mabbe lose 1kg each month, so by the time u become an HO, u will have an ideal weight and muscular body to show off arnd in the hospital. yaya! sure I can do it.wahsai!!!!show off my muscular body?haha.....hope so. this is a very long commitment, just like ur medical education, so must start off slowly and be determined enough. I believe u can do it man! Added on February 22, 2009, 9:02 pm QUOTE(Visualize @ Feb 22 2009, 01:16 PM) True. Recently, I saw some patients talking bad about a fat indian doctor in SJMC behind his back after he left. The conversation was in Hokkien and it goes something like this (direct translation): yes.you are right.haha....the hokkien always like this one.thanks for sharing your view and public view. Patient A: He know or don't know one? Ask me reduce my weight but he ownself so fat. If so serious, he early already reduce lah. What a hypocrite. Patient's friend: Ya loh. Added on February 22, 2009, 9:08 pm QUOTE(MBChB @ Feb 22 2009, 10:21 AM) Don't worry. I highly doubt they will discriminate you based on your weight alone. However you might want to lose a bit of weight. It can be quite ironic in the future if you advise patient who is in a high risk group of developing IHD if you yourself are overweight to begin with. Another incentive or curse for being a doctor. You will be constantly being judge by the public in term of image since the public always view the doctor as someone who should know better when it comes to health. Thanks a lot for you view.Really thank you.Im sure i can succesfully lose my weight.Have a healthy body first will only fit to maintain public's healthy.haha....This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 22 2009, 09:08 PM |
Feb 23 2009, 07:04 AM
QUOTE(honeystarrzz @ Feb 23 2009, 12:35 AM) hey guys.. im interested in taking foundation in science at aimst. but the recent news about aimst is not tat assuring.. Im stpm leaver but I decided to do foundation in science first before doing medicine,in order to secure a place in aimst if i rejected by any medical school la.So,I think that should be no problems.That news is nothing to do with the quality of aimst but about "makan makan makan "of construction fees of aimst new campus in semeling.As limeuu and csrulez say before and I heard from my senior from UKM.The Pharmacy board "must"recognised the degree from every local Uni as long as their pioneer batch graduated ,don't care how lousy the student come out or quality of school.But,aimst actually,no need to worry la....because the things i heard about this uni is quite positive and the comments about the quality from public is quite good la.http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...1747&sec=nation will there be a problem for the students to continue studying? what do you guys think about it ? and how's the pharmacy students doing?? are they gonna get recognition from the board of pharmacy? thanks for reading and please please answer my question This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 23 2009, 07:30 AM |
Feb 23 2009, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 23 2009, 02:05 PM) No point doing the foundation again if you've finished stpm with excellent results. It's a waste of time. Don't be afraid to apply. Im not very confident in my official result,the real stpm is more more more difficult than the trial one.Haiz........if I get A Bio,B+Che and B+math,is there any chances?Im not very sure,but I think my result shouldn't like this lo.This is my worst expectation.Before exam,I think should be no problem to get a4.0 for my stpm but now,only can hope for it.This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 23 2009, 01:59 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0655sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:24 PM |