Proton PrevĂ© V18, more and more on da roads!

:3mushy:3
post Sep 12 2013, 06:03 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(Super Saiya @ Sep 12 2013, 05:38 PM)
i heard saga has a lot of problems and maintenance is high. is that true?
The FC isn't as impressive as the car its class supposed to be having.
post Sep 12 2013, 08:29 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(vikneswaranc_17 @ Sep 12 2013, 06:39 PM)
compared to civic, altis, sylphy?
I was talking about Saga.
post Sep 13 2013, 05:39 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(preveverp @ Sep 13 2013, 01:33 AM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif my IAFM preve executive only getting around 200-220km for RM50 , city driving!! how do you get 300-350km for RM50 city driving??

i just did my first 1000km service only..

Before the 1st service, i went on highway drive from KL to Johor and back, had to pump RM100 petrol for the whole journey (rm50 each time before departure)
Was driving around 140-160kmh from KL > Johor . Coming back time around 100-120kmh Johor > KL .

Something wrong with my preve FC ?
Your FC will be much better after service.
post Sep 13 2013, 03:12 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Chill guys, it's all up to individual paddle control, you feel comfortable revving before it turns green, suit yourself. If you feel comfortable letting the car move on its own, up to you too biggrin.gif
post Sep 16 2013, 04:04 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(preveverp @ Sep 16 2013, 01:46 PM)
My slip didn't say barrel or container, just says 'Syntiun 800 SM 10w/40 - 4L' .. So I'm guessing it's 4Litres container. But I didn't get back my remainder, so I have no idea whether it was really changed.

He didn't really ask me about the magnetrap, but he didn't force it either. Its ok, I'll let that slip for now.. Will see if they try to sell it again next time.

- Anyone have any experience with jalan227 branch? Will it be better than Seksyen 13 or same?
Preve needs the whole 4 liters.
post Sep 17 2013, 01:18 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Sep 17 2013, 11:52 AM)
i've test driven preve cfe on last wednesday & saturday.

wednesday-noon-jln ampang-jln u-thant.

saturday-afternoon-near PJ state.

jln ampang-uthant.
low speed only (max 60km/h),
traffic ok.
cabin noise is on par with last gen myvi. i like.
whirring of CVT is audible during gear engaging from P to D,
also during kickdown.

jln near assunta PJ state.
achieve 90km/h,
traffic ok.
i drive like uncle only, suddenly realize almost 90km/h!
during entering a junction, i heard "kreok kreok"..may be loose panel? i dun like this.

+
great space for the rear passengers.
cool aircond.
less body roll.
good seats.

-
fit&finish

i always drive my mom's gen2 Hi-line, my waifu's myvi premium.
preve above all, except CVT whirring and fit&finish.

my rants on suprima S: http://farghmee.wordpress.com/2013/09/13/s...chop-suprima-s/

earlier, i test driven JazzHybrid, initialCVT noise is very low compared to Preve's.
The infamous sound from the rear is still something that plaguing current batch huh? Mine is already gone as mysterious as it came over time biggrin.gif I finally get my ears tuned to the CVT whirring, in fact I would feel slightly 'uncomfortable' when I drive other cars doh.gif

You lost one thing not to floor this car. Experience at 150km/h should be able to amaze you for a car with this price tag.
post Sep 17 2013, 02:43 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Sep 17 2013, 02:20 PM)
cuak already.

last time when test drove ExoraBold CFE, front wheel wheel spin woh.
belakang xde bunyi pelik2. boleh cakap loud n clear.
I guess you should try again with Preve CFE biggrin.gif It handles and accelerates better than Altis smile.gif
post Sep 18 2013, 10:24 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Sep 18 2013, 07:34 AM)
Anyone experience these issues as below for the Preve Turbo :-

1) When the engine and lights are switched off, you go shopping for 1-2 hours and when you come back you see the strip of white lights on the car is switched on. It's not the main (yellow) headlights but the strip of (white) lights below the main head lights.

Why these lights are automatically on sometimes? On the light switch, everything is already "Off".

2) When you insert the key and press the start button, the engine takes a longer time, say 3-4 seconds to start(usually just about 1 second). Before the engine starts there is a message "Battery Low".
Never experienced no.1.

No.2 is probably due to you start the engine too fast, the valve didn't open long enough for the fuel intake. Usually I Insert Key > Push Start Engine > Press Brake > Wait 3-4 seconds > Push Start Engine again.

The battery low indicator is because of the system detected the engine couldn't be started, and regarded the symptom as had been caused by low battery.

This post has been edited by :3mushy:3: Sep 18 2013, 10:26 AM
post Sep 18 2013, 10:46 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Sep 18 2013, 10:35 AM)
Oh, okay. As for starting the engine, once I inserted key, I pressed on the brakes and push start button. Guess I skipped one step by pushing start engine button first this morning.

As for the lights, funny thing. Perhaps I have accidentally pressed Unlock on the remote which caused the lights to come on when I took it out from my pocket, and I am not aware of it. Anyway, will monitor further.
Pushing the Start Engine with the brake at one go is akin to Insert Key and crank it to start position in normal key-ignition car. This can seriously damage your engine overtime. The proper step is to go by Acc > On > Start.
post Sep 18 2013, 01:28 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Guys, before I set up appointment to install reverse cam, can any of you who have installed it post a picture of where the reverse camera is mounted? hmm.gif
post Sep 19 2013, 06:49 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(lkyoong @ Sep 18 2013, 11:03 PM)
So which sequence is better:

1. Insert key, Press Start once, Press Start again, Press on Brake for 3-4 secs, Press Start to Start Engine.

or

2. Insert key, Press Start, Press Brake for 3-4 seconds, Press Start to Start Engine.

To me method 1 seems better as it gives chance for the electronics to initialize properly.
#1 should be the best. However, if you follow the sequence suggested on the screen (#2), it should already be fine.

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Sep 18 2013, 11:10 PM)
I found this to be very helpful. Thanks gkl83! thumbup.gif
post Sep 19 2013, 11:40 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(vikneswaranc_17 @ Sep 19 2013, 11:37 AM)
haven try yet.. would try it soon.. smile.gif.. thanks for the info.. but on this CFE, cruising below 2k is much more fuel saving than above 2k rpm..
It takes real patience when autocruising... always feel the urge to step on the paddle... doh.gif
post Sep 19 2013, 09:17 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Sep 19 2013, 08:48 PM)
i think kena flying wood as have lot of unavoidable pieces woods along the high traffic highway...
Which part is this?
post Sep 20 2013, 04:25 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Sep 20 2013, 03:38 PM)
tolong bg pencerahan,

servis interval utk preve cfe ni berapa, 5k km atau 10k km?

dr web PE, http://proton-edar.com.my/pdf/procarePacka...A)Preve_CFE.pdf
5k km.
Semi-synthetic =5,000 km
Fully-synthetic = 10,000 km
post Sep 20 2013, 07:52 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 20 2013, 07:37 PM)
Suprima owner here. The SA, and few Suprima owners SA also was recommended 5k over 10k service, even though the 10k service is in the book. Why? Preve owners can help shed light on this.

The book says 10k. The SA say better do 5k and semi-synth. He also says if 5k service, (which is not stated in book) will not void that 5 year warranty.
The answer is simple. Your engine might need to be regulated for every 10k if you used fully synthetic, but what about other parts? Some people have concerns about this, but usually your car will be fine with 10k interval because for every car, they already have a schedule of which part needs to be replaced at what interval, for example, you need to change your timing belt at 80,000km.N ot only Proton, Honda, Toyota, Peugeot, Ford, they all recommend 10k interval.

The SA recommend semi-synthetic for 5k is because, well, it is only good for that mileage. Full-synthetic engine oil can last until 10k. If you're going to do 5k intreval service, why do you need the unnecessary and more expensive fully-synthetic oil that can last up to 10k? smile.gif

This post has been edited by :3mushy:3: Sep 20 2013, 07:54 PM
post Sep 21 2013, 12:13 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Alert : Thread derailing. Please take the discussion about the Malaysian car market, tax, excise duty, cronyism and baseless conspiracy theory outside
post Sep 26 2013, 07:36 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Sep 25 2013, 11:37 PM)
i heard preve got alignment problem?
Not having any smile.gif
post Sep 26 2013, 11:21 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Yeap should open V19 thumbup.gif
post Sep 26 2013, 09:28 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(duke_of_doom @ Sep 26 2013, 09:04 PM)
Car noob here. Just got my Preve CFE for 2 days.

My wiper water runs out very quickly. Cannot even tahan for a full day. I wonder what could be the problem? Got leak somewhere?
Bring back to Scotland quick. It might be a leakage. I don't think other users are having this problem though.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0492sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:58 AM