my cute Flower Horn, some question about the fish

nairud
post Apr 13 2006, 03:22 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Fishes like Flowerhorn do External fertilization unlike whales which is internal fertilization tongue.gif
goldfries
post Apr 13 2006, 03:52 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Apr 13 2006, 12:35 PM)
and saltwater fish but its expensive and need alot of maintenance and care sweat.gif

smile.gif don't talk crap here. i see babylabbit has corrected you. smile.gif

how much you spend depends on how far you want to go.............

i can make freshwater tank more expensive than marine tank if i want to.

QUOTE(broken_string @ Apr 13 2006, 12:48 PM)
but might get a small size one first and keep 2 nemo for fun  laugh.gif

QUOTE(babylabbit @ Apr 13 2006, 12:59 PM)
one ekor nemo RM 5-6 bux only 2 ekor RM 12 bux hehe mana mahal wor happy.gif
anyway if u want to talk about it..open another thread nanti kena saman by mod wink.gif me simsui first
hehe.

let's not forget that he need to spend on marine salt and hydrometer.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 13 2006, 03:54 PM
-DaRReN-C-
post Apr 13 2006, 04:33 PM

463 posts

btw...regarding the head....
i've tried before
let them see mirror
1 day 1 hour, 2 times per day
the head really grow bigger than the other 1 that din see mirror
heard some senior said massage the head also got help abit

*billie*
post Apr 13 2006, 04:34 PM

37 posts

broken_string,
i can imagine your laying story.. interesting..

Believe it or not, i saw my neighbour hang a mirror (the old style round shape mirror with a stand) at the aquarium. i was curious and asked what is that for?
He told me that is to make the flowerhorn angry when look at himself and bang to the mirror to make the head swollen/big.. haha.
do u want to try?

broken_string
post Apr 13 2006, 05:53 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(testerretset @ Apr 13 2006, 02:51 PM)
regarding the breeding rite, b4 the female 1 mate and going to produce "penix' and the egg come out from there, do we need to put the male and female 1 together first without separate them, to let them do something that similar to the human being do, i mean after male & female do the "thing" baru the female can pregnant rite? is the fish oso like tat ar? I hope u guys get what i mean, haha  sweat.gif
wtf doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
u watch too much prawn i guess

fish dun need foreplay do they? doh.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 13 2006, 03:52 PM)
smile.gif don't talk crap here. i see babylabbit has corrected you. smile.gif

how much you spend depends on how far you want to go.............

i can make freshwater tank more expensive than marine tank if i want to.
hehe.

let's not forget that he need to spend on marine salt and hydrometer.
ya, i know wat u mean
but even a basic sw tank will cost more than freshwater
freshwater juz need a tank, and fish and some optional pump can start adi.

sw tank needs much more than tat, i think u pretty much know more about it than me. so if i am not ready yet why bother to start and sacrefice a few fish sad.gif

QUOTE(*billie* @ Apr 13 2006, 04:34 PM)
broken_string,
i can imagine your laying story.. interesting..
Believe it or not, i saw my neighbour hang a mirror (the old style round shape mirror with a stand) at the aquarium. i was curious and asked what is that for?
He told me that is to make the flowerhorn angry when look at himself and bang to the mirror to make the head swollen/big.. haha.
do u want to try?
try b4, doesnt necessary will work..

hungheykwun
post Apr 13 2006, 06:08 PM

1,058 posts

flower horn have number at the side? cos last time i saw 4 number on this flower horn. how they breed it to b like that?
broken_string
post Apr 13 2006, 08:27 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

those numbers are comes naturally also and are pure luck.

if urs got 8 on it, businessman will be fighthing to get it last time laugh.gif
goldfries
post Apr 13 2006, 11:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(hungheykwun @ Apr 13 2006, 06:08 PM)
flower horn have number at the side? cos last time i saw 4 number on this flower horn. how they breed it to b like that?
firstly you must understand how is flowerhorn created. smile.gif then you'll know those numbers are random.
shireiz
post Apr 14 2006, 01:58 AM

117 posts

anyone got pic ?
goldfries
post Apr 14 2006, 09:24 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

flowerhorn is a mix of Trimac and some other CA/SA.

here's some pictures of what a TRIMAC i mentioned......
http://www.aquahobby.com/gallery/e_trimac.php

the MIDAS is the other one that mixed with TRIMAC to get flowerhorn.

here's what a MIDAS looks like

now...... pattern of Trimac, shape of Midas, ferocity of both = flowerhorn was born!!!

FYI flowerhorn's shape again has been around for ages. Cichlids are known to have huge head humps way before flowerhorn was invented.

it's pretty normal for people to (especially Asians) to say "oh......another type of flowerhorn" when they see fish or similar marking or shape when in actual fact flowerhorn is actually a trimac mixed with some other stuff.

in short - those people who bought flowerhorn are paying stupid prices for fishes that existed ages ago. haha.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 14 2006, 09:28 AM
TStesterretset
post Apr 14 2006, 12:55 PM

Validating
186 posts

so for the breeding, i juz still let both of them (male & female) separate from each others, and then the female fish will automatically lay eggs when the time has come? anyway, when is the time? i mean when will the female fish lay the egg, after it grow up to certain size?

almost everyday, i see both of them play the stone, move stone here and there, much noise sound come out when the stone bang to the aquarium biggrin.gif ( nvm la as long as both of them happy), so does this mean that the female want to lay egg liao? so far i didn't see any egg in my aquarium yet, my female fish is only 4-5 inch i think... rolleyes.gif
goldfries
post Apr 14 2006, 05:01 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

cichlids have the tendancy to decorate the tank.
TStesterretset
post Apr 15 2006, 12:35 PM

Validating
186 posts

any idea on how to let female flower horn lay eggs?
TStesterretset
post Apr 16 2006, 10:59 AM

Validating
186 posts

can someone pls tell me how to determine the female flower horn is going to lay its egg? or i need to wait the female flower horn to grow to certain size or age then it has the ability to lay egg? pls..i need more information on that, thx alot all of u...smile.gif

0.0161sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:26 AM