[wta] my diy itx case, any recommendation

SUSMatrix
post Feb 5 2014, 07:59 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Feb 1 2014, 08:04 AM)
Out of curiosity, where did you get your case fabricated, and what did they need to do it?  I'm thinking of designing my own Steambox/HTPC case and none of the cases I see on the market are slim enough while having a full-height expansion slot for a dual-slot graphics card.
you are asking impossible...how to fit dual slot full size gpu and be slim at same time? even if you build your own, its also impossible. htpc are meant to be small, if sacrifice space for larger gpu, then it defeat the purpose. Might as well buy bigger Atx casing.

i have a jonsbo v3+, can fit a dual slot gpu provided its not too long. Even then, i felt its already a bit too big and wish its smaller.

SUSMatrix
post Feb 5 2014, 10:42 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Feb 5 2014, 08:41 AM)
It's possible with a horizontal expansion slot and a PCIe riser card.  That's how Valve's Steam Machine does it, but very few cases on the market are designed to allow a similar layout with a dual slot card.
Wah lau...no room to breath...will it have problems in the the long run with high-end dual slot GPU? Even consoles...mid-range GPU ...SONY and MS have hard time trying to keep the heat down and cause all sorts of problems.

I doubt these Steam machines can run good for prolonged hours.

btw...i have that Silverstone SFX PSU...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Feb 5 2014, 10:51 AM

0.0144sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:26 PM