[wta] my diy itx case, any recommendation

TSNoobHacker
post Mar 30 2013, 01:00 AM, updated 12y ago

1,753 posts

All 3mm aluminium and front is 8mm aluminium (solid enough)

I want to make the case as small as possible so 240mm probably the max length for graphic card

my requirement :
1. CPU watercooling like corsair h50
2. 1 HDD and 1 SSD slot
3. must fit ATX PSU
4. graphic card space musnt too short
5. SOLID
6. good airflow

Anymore recommendation? If not i gonna make order smile.gif

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Mar 30 2013, 01:02 AM
marfccy
post Mar 30 2013, 01:32 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Mar 30 2013, 01:00 AM)
All 3mm aluminium and front is 8mm aluminium (solid enough)
I want to make the case as small as possible so 240mm probably the max length for graphic card

my requirement :
1. CPU watercooling like corsair h50
2. 1 HDD and 1 SSD slot
3. must fit ATX PSU
4. graphic card space musnt too short
5. SOLID
6. good airflow
Anymore recommendation? If not i gonna make order  smile.gif
the PSU slot will be above the motherboard? hmm.gif

as long it confers to the 180mm long standard ATX size, the slot for PSU should be fine. though im pretty sure your choice of GPU may be severely limited for a 240mm long case. most non-ref GPUs are about 10.5" which is close to 270cm. i suggest you make it longer abit (reference cards are 9.5" (~24cm))

small casing and good airflow are hard to go well together, at least fit in one slot for one rear 120mm perhaps?

SSDs are thin, about 7-8mm i think, you should get ample space for that wink.gif

as for water cooling.. radiator definitely have to be outside hmm.gif

my 2 cents
laurelgt
post Mar 30 2013, 07:21 AM

LEARN & SHARE
1,160 posts

I like the idea of this , but perhaps you can ditch that HDD slot for an exhaust. Can use external HDD.

Mind to share the full dimension of the case?
torino
post Mar 30 2013, 08:13 AM

><
978 posts

consider these two major factors...

- airflow / ventilation
- cable management (where you want to hide unused / long cables

its gonna cramp real tight with that current size IMHO..
TSNoobHacker
post Mar 30 2013, 08:37 AM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Mar 30 2013, 01:32 AM)
the PSU slot will be above the motherboard? hmm.gif

as long it confers to the 180mm long standard ATX size, the slot for PSU should be fine. though im pretty sure your choice of GPU may be severely limited for a 240mm long case. most non-ref GPUs are about 10.5" which is close to 270cm. i suggest you make it longer abit (reference cards are 9.5" (~24cm))

small casing and good airflow are hard to go well together, at least fit in one slot for one rear 120mm perhaps?

SSDs are thin, about 7-8mm i think, you should get ample space for that wink.gif

as for water cooling.. radiator definitely have to be outside hmm.gif

my 2 cents
Yeah, I want it as small as possible. This case can only install 170mm card but i extend it because i want to install radiator. Those itx cooler temperature very terrible. I will get cards like gtx660 i believe next generation cards will become shorter. 270mm makes my case looks ugly because it become rectangle. I prefer as square as possible to look like mini tongue.gif

I don't want to drill anymore hole because what i think is single front fan and the hotair goes out to the back. If i drill a hole at graphic card area, the air that came from the front might go to the following hole then the air suck by graphic card.

SSD can fit there. for watercooling, I didnt see any wrong with radiator inside. Its all in one cooler like corsair h50.

QUOTE(laurelgt @ Mar 30 2013, 07:21 AM)
I like the idea of this , but perhaps you can ditch that HDD slot for an exhaust. Can use external HDD.

Mind to share the full dimension of the case?
I prefer internal HDD because I prefer solidness tongue.gif (Internal hdd stays stablely there, screwed to a 3mm thick aluminium but portable ones always move). anyway putting a fan there doesn't help too much since its blocked by the psu.

QUOTE(torino @ Mar 30 2013, 08:13 AM)
consider these two major factors...

- airflow / ventilation
- cable management (where you want to hide unused / long cables

its gonna cramp real tight with that current size IMHO..
I want as small as possible so I don't think i need cable management (adds some width to the case)
The airflow concept is single fan front push, and the air can only go out to the back.
Plus my psu is modular tongue.gif

Heres the pic with size with PSU installed
chocobo7779
post Mar 30 2013, 08:42 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

FYI, how about making your case fits SFX PSUs? 450W SFX PSUs should work... ...and SFX PSUs are a lot smaller than ATX ones.
TSNoobHacker
post Mar 30 2013, 08:49 AM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 30 2013, 08:42 AM)
FYI, how about making your case fits SFX PSUs?  450W SFX PSUs should work...  ...and SFX PSUs are a lot smaller than ATX ones.
already bought seasonic x650 sweat.gif Now i wondering need to add another 3cm or not(fits 270mm card, radiator push pull). need extra rm30 and the case became longer again
laurelgt
post Mar 30 2013, 09:07 AM

LEARN & SHARE
1,160 posts

It will be quite 'stuffed' in there. How bout the clearance between the Modular cable and the radiator? And i assumed that you aware of the extra length caused by the modular interface. As for the GPU , it would be nice if you could spare some ventilation holes to feed cool air to the GPU. Reference based card is best suited with this kind of layout as it will blow most of the hot air out directly from the rear. Just my 2 cents.
N1ck
post Mar 30 2013, 04:18 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Mar 30 2013, 08:37 AM)
Yeah, I want it as small as possible. This case can only install 170mm card but i extend it because i want to install radiator. Those itx cooler temperature very terrible. I will get cards like gtx660 i believe next generation cards will become shorter. 270mm makes my case looks ugly because it become rectangle. I prefer as square as possible to look like mini  tongue.gif

I don't want to drill anymore hole because what i think is single front fan and the hotair goes out to the back. If i drill a hole at graphic card area, the air that came from the front might go to the following hole then the air suck by graphic card.

SSD can fit there. for watercooling, I didnt see any wrong with radiator inside. Its all in one cooler like corsair h50.
I prefer internal HDD because I prefer solidness tongue.gif (Internal hdd stays stablely there, screwed to a 3mm thick aluminium but portable ones always move). anyway putting a fan there doesn't help too much since its blocked by the psu.
I want as small as possible so I don't think i need cable management (adds some width to the case)
The airflow concept is single fan front push, and the air can only go out to the back.
Plus my psu is modular  tongue.gif

Heres the pic with size with PSU installed
QUOTE(laurelgt @ Mar 30 2013, 09:07 AM)
It will be quite 'stuffed' in there. How bout the clearance between the Modular cable and the radiator? And i assumed that you aware of the extra length caused by the modular interface. As for the GPU , it would be nice if you could spare some ventilation holes to feed cool air to the GPU. Reference based card is best suited with this kind of layout as it will blow most of the hot air out directly from the rear. Just my 2 cents.
Yea are you sure you can fit the PSU with the wires in there. Seems like you need more space/ the wiring will block the radiator.

And I assume GPU getting outside air, quite good design IMO. If want even better, try to get the GPU to vent all of the hot air out of the case. Most likely there are still slots in the GPU shroud that vent back into the motherboard area, maybe add a duct to seperate the GPU from the motherboard area.

BTW can share the estimated cost to fabricate a custom casing?

TSNoobHacker
post Mar 30 2013, 09:31 PM

1,753 posts

I decided to make it 300mm deep so i can install any card I want, including custom designed cards. I don't want to limit my preference of cards since i have a powerful psu. Now the problem is there are a lot of space between psu and radiator (already push pull), what should i put there?
TSNoobHacker
post Mar 30 2013, 09:31 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(N1ck @ Mar 30 2013, 04:18 PM)
Yea are you sure you can fit the PSU with the wires in there. Seems like you need more space/ the wiring will block the radiator.

And I assume GPU getting outside air, quite good design IMO. If want even better, try to get the GPU to vent all of the hot air out of the case. Most likely there are still slots in the GPU shroud that vent back into the motherboard area, maybe add a duct to seperate the GPU from the motherboard area.

BTW can share the estimated cost to fabricate a custom casing?
<RM300

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Mar 30 2013, 09:37 PM
laurelgt
post Mar 30 2013, 10:22 PM

LEARN & SHARE
1,160 posts

Just leave the space between the PSU , u'll need it. =) And , with such PSU orientation , i assumed it will act as an exhaust. Not really a good idea but that Seasonic is a top of the line model so i think it wouldn't be a problem.

Cable707
post Mar 30 2013, 11:12 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

Why not silverstone PSU?they've got that short cable kit(model PP05 iinm)which might be helpful for such a cramp case.. hmm.gif

Edit : did not see that you've already bought the PSU.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by Cable707: Mar 30 2013, 11:13 PM
TSNoobHacker
post Mar 30 2013, 11:21 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(laurelgt @ Mar 30 2013, 10:22 PM)
Just leave the space between the PSU , u'll need it. =) And , with such PSU orientation , i assumed it will act as an exhaust. Not really a good idea but that Seasonic is a top of the line model so i think it wouldn't be a problem.
dun worry the fan always don't spin
but there are a lot of 6cm ~ 7cm space there thinking way to utilize it or i dun like too much space like that

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Mar 30 2013, 11:12 PM)
Why not silverstone PSU?they've got that short cable kit(model PP05 iinm)which might be helpful for such a cramp case.. hmm.gif

Edit : did not see that you've already bought the PSU.. doh.gif
Shorter psu doesn't help it will still get blocked by motherboard
JakeGFX
post Mar 31 2013, 12:53 AM

660 posts

You seem, you keep thinking of placement, bro.
You forgotten something else. The size of PSU.
Since you going to run a 660(ti or not I'm not sure about you).
450w is enough for your card.
So I gonna recommend you silverstone's 450w sfx psu (ST45SF-G)

And yes, damn squeakers, I'm ready to fight with you on your arguement with evidence. A 660ti consume less power than a gtx670, that's a fact.
google it before arguing that.
This quote is from Silvune from tom's hardware.

"This review shows a system with an i5-2500K (if anything the power consumption of the i5-3550 will be lower) and EVGA Geforce GTX 670 FTW drawing 228W at the wall under Batman: Arkham City.
http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphics/40613-evga-gefor...

BTW a GTX 670 doesn't use 30A, a system with a GTX 670 might use 30A under a very heavy/torture load. It also seems unlikely to me that the overclock on the EVGA GTX 670 FTW would increase power draw by 6A.

So based on all that, my opinion is that the SilverStone ST45SF-G is more than enough for your system."
laurelgt
post Mar 31 2013, 02:14 AM

LEARN & SHARE
1,160 posts

QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Mar 30 2013, 11:21 PM)
dun worry the fan always don't spin
but there are  a lot of 6cm ~ 7cm space there thinking way to utilize it or i dun like too much space like that
Make the case shorter / thinner . 300MM to say like 280MM . There's not much you can do there .

If you haven't bought the PSU yet , i was going to recommend the same PSU model as JakeGFX mentioned . But yeah , unless you wanna sell it off and get the Silverstone. =p ( I know it's new )
TSNoobHacker
post Mar 31 2013, 08:13 PM

1,753 posts

sorry all, i found a OEM GTX560ti 448cores at 22.8cm
So my design will become this again

regarding the psu i didnt choose silverstone because its ripple around 45mv and seasonic only around 15mv. Im serious audiophile so i must get a good power supply. Yeah i dont like those person keep needs a lot of power (so-called for safety) but what i want is seasonic x series and not 650W tongue.gif
razor16190
post Apr 20 2013, 07:34 PM

74 posts

I'm wondering, which application did u use to render this? smile.gif
TSNoobHacker
post Apr 20 2013, 07:38 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(razor16190 @ Apr 20 2013, 07:34 PM)
I'm wondering, which application did u use to render this?  smile.gif
google sketchup smile.gif
JakeGFX
post Apr 20 2013, 11:06 PM

660 posts

If you still thiking, I don't mind telling you that the amount of space won't be a factor.

Since you're watercooling it, just make sure the tube won't get block
and since you're getting a reference card. The card will blow at the back to the pcie slot. So yea, for me, just make sure you can fit everything since you don't have a window to show what's inside.

0.0196sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:23 PM