17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Bottom

STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V129, All time high!

SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 10:17 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Apr 18 2013, 09:10 AM)
next klci

biggrin.gif just kidding
What is next next hmm.gif

The falling yen coupled with a fall-off in Chinese investment inflows "increasingly resembles" the run-up to the 1997 currency crisis, said Albert Edwards, Societe Generale's ultra-bearish strategist.

"It seems investors may have forgotten that yen weakness was one of the immediate causes of the 1997 Asian currency crisis and Asia's subsequent economic collapse," Edwards wrote in a global strategy note on Wednesday.

Edwards, who recently returned from meeting clients in Hong Kong and Singapore, forecast the Bank of Japan will lose control of its recently launched program of aggressive monetary easing, leading to spiraling inflation and an increasingly unsustainable debt position.

SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 10:59 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 18 2013, 10:52 AM)
One of major root of problem of 1997 AFC, was about unsustainable high external short debt.
As at that time, due to red hot economy in Asean countries, many go for external borrowing to fund the needs of money. (as USD and Yen is cheap due to rising currency of those countries)

Yen weakness is not the culprit of AFC.

Why link Yen weakness to AFC?  rclxub.gif
Further explanations as below :-

If the market really believes the Bank of Japan is committed to the 2 percent inflation target (and I certainly do), then Japanese bond yields will quickly attempt a move above 2 percent," he said.

"If the Japanese government bond yield begins to rise, then an unsustainable debt position becomes even more obviously unsustainable and the government will be obliged to ramp up its quantitative easing operations to pin yields at low levels."

"I certainly expect accelerating quantitative easing to undermine the yen further, and the market to anticipate this," he added.

Edwards warned investors they should expect money to pour out of Japan in the same way it did after the BoJ's foreign exchange intervention in 2004.
"Who will be a beneficiary of this carry trade ? Probably high yield GIIPS [Greece, Italy, Ireland, Portugal and Spain] bond yields and the euro . And hence the periphery will appear to have been 'fixed'. Who will suffer? Germany, as the euro soars," he said
(Read More: Audacious BOJ Policy Sends Dollar, Euro Soaring )

A weak yen combined with deteriorating balance of payments situations in China and other major emerging markets is reminiscent of the mid-1990s, said Edwards.

"When I see a sharp rise in China' s real exchange rate and deteriorating Balance of Payment, it rings alarm bells. China is not the most vulnerable of the emerging markets currencies to a weak yen, but this conjunction could easily trigger a currency crisis as growth is crushed. High levels of foreign exchange reserves are no protection," Edwards added.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 18 2013, 11:00 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 11:10 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Apr 18 2013, 11:06 AM)
They don't have any choice, either carry on the old way, or choose to print money and stimulate

All i know is weak Yen is good for their export, as well to increase their inflation
I think of , to put some money to buy a bit of Japanese stocks instead laugh.gif

Affin is quite steady today hmm.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 18 2013, 11:11 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 11:19 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Apr 18 2013, 11:17 AM)
I think there was a mistake in my calculation.
18% + 9% of RM 1.00 par value is 27 cents actually.
EPF has a new CEO, what is his next plan for MBSB laugh.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 11:21 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 18 2013, 11:16 AM)
The ultimate question, did/does the JGB bond yield rise above 2 percent?  whistling.gif

It is almost identical to article saying US debt is too high and unsustainable, treasuries is too low yield, USD is going to crash etc (didn't we heard this many many time already?). it has been talked for years, and now US economy is way better than most countries, stock market making new high. USD is not crashing either.
Those bet against treasuries one has been in losing money position for many years.

In reality or so far from my own experience, economy, market a lot of time do not behave like text book saying.
Hard to have a US Currency Crisis no matter how , but Asia had one.

It does not mean history would not repeat itself hmm.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 11:23 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Apr 18 2013, 11:22 AM)
Good move, but do consider the risk of devalue in Yen icon_rolleyes.gif
That could be offsetting in stock prices hmm.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 11:25 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Apr 18 2013, 11:23 AM)
i tried doing that just before yen started to fall last year
but it is difficult for foreigners, unless you are good at japanese and are living in japan
I am curious why all mutual funds are more or less Ex Japan one hmm.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 11:31 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Apr 18 2013, 11:28 AM)
i am not sure if there's any differences between funds and individual but i am referring to the latter one
I am looking for mutual funds investing into Japan.

Lazy to do any researches for a small start up capital. biggrin.gif

Plse suggest if u do have any good ones in mind. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 18 2013, 11:32 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 11:38 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Apr 18 2013, 11:33 AM)
affin good ah?

can go somemore?
Good in what way ? gorengable laugh.gif

Hard to answer traders Q hmm.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 11:39 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Apr 18 2013, 11:38 AM)
sorry, this one i am not sure
that's why i was checking about individual acc
but if you wait some more until japan economy is showing some good results, maybe some funds will appear out of nowhere just like those china funds
Maybe Singapore should have.... yawn.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 12:02 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Apr 18 2013, 11:58 AM)
Public mutual fund do have Far East Mutual Fund, a huge percentage invested in Japan

Bingo
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 12:04 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 18 2013, 11:59 AM)
Closer to home is the impact of GE13 on the stock market.

Further away are the Euro & USA crisis. Difficult to decide what to do now on the shares. A year or 2 ago, read something about Elliott wave predicting a MAJOR crash coming. When? Any time from now till 2016. What to do? Put $ in FD, buy some recession resilience stocks, etc I guess.  rclxub.gif  icon_question.gif

http://www.elliottwave.com/freeupdates/arc...x#axzz2Qmf3FBtK
Seriously, lot of cash damaging things happened in Bolehland.

Cash tight could come to Malaysia sooner than expected........
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 12:44 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 18 2013, 12:40 PM)
I got Lionglobal Japan Growth Fund.. this year already gave me YTD >15% already.  laugh.gif
Thanks Guru Gark .

Can talk on on this fund, and any sites available notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 18 2013, 12:48 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 12:50 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 18 2013, 12:46 PM)
You can buy thriugh fundsupermart.sg or dollardex.sg and poems.sg
I thought we have a fundsupermart in Malaysia hmm.gif

What is the diff bet Singapore and Malaysia one hmm.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 18 2013, 12:52 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 12:53 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 18 2013, 12:51 PM)
Different UT offered. SG site offer UT by international UT company. Malaysia one.. all must be MY UT company .. so mostly jaguh kampung.
Malaysia one is kinda all Ex Japan funds laugh.gif

That is the beauty of operating a Supermarket Fund here, with limited choices.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 18 2013, 12:55 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 12:58 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 18 2013, 12:56 PM)
No choice.. Malaysia law prohibits non-MY companies from selling UT here.. SG is free for all..
Then better call Funds Mini market laugh.gif

I do not see a high level of fund management here too, Kampung Standard maybe hmm.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 18 2013, 12:59 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 18 2013, 01:04 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 18 2013, 12:48 PM)
UBAH from worse to good....

If you don't UBAH, you have only yourself to blame for ...

rclxms.gif
Quote of the month thumbup.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 19 2013, 09:34 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Apr 19 2013, 09:31 AM)
Good... Now sitting on nice show.

Yesterday and the day before yesterday is just using some machine guns.

My father is loading nuke into silos already.

I think he launch probably 2.30 later or next week
Well done Bones.

Nice calls thumbup.gif

Forumers love u laugh.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 19 2013, 09:35 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 19 2013, 09:59 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 19 2013, 09:50 AM)
There are far more fortune lost by market timing and staying out of the market than staying in and ride the ups and downs.  tongue.gif
It depends on what stocks u ride.

If u ride on Apple from US 600 all the way down, chance is that u might not see the us 600 again ( for a very long time )

In Bolehland, many stocks could be in super coma stage too , whether market is up or down.

And if u ride on reits all the way to 2% yield, then u are a super hero .

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 19 2013, 10:04 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 19 2013, 11:00 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Apr 19 2013, 10:52 AM)
If got people hold stock like KNM from RM 3.00 all the way down to current price I really salute him  notworthy.gif
Yes, exactly .

Holding on to MISC by Penang State turning out to be a loss too.

But if stocks appreciate 100 to 200 % gain a year or so , I see no point to fall in love with them and hold them forever.

Like Axreit ,up from rm 1 to rm 3.70, good to hold IT forever hmm.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 19 2013, 11:19 AM

17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Top

0.0207sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:22 PM