819 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 30 2013, 11:57 AM)
Maserati:

Bentley:

Ok, maybe at least the Bentley didn't spontaneously started to burn (people mad at the owner cause he used up 3 (!) parking spots). But with Lambo and Ferrari it is known that they may spontaneously burst into flames. Owner parks the car, goes away, comes back and all that is left is a bit of burnt rubber, plastic, leather and metal. Or it may happen while driving. Maserati probably has the same issue. And so does Tata...

Happens to Proton too it seems, though not as frequent (look at how many Protons are out there, vs. Ferraris, and see how many Protons caught fire, vs Ferraris.

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...aught-fire-kepp

And don't say Toyota...
http://www.usatoday.com/story/driveon/2012...recall/1624003/
Camry and Yaris (Vios) also affected. Did they issue an recall here...? 7.43 million cars affected, sold world wide, so probably here too...
Are you trying to say Protons are better than others? brows.gif brows.gif
edison1437
post Mar 31 2013, 08:30 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 30 2013, 02:11 PM)
Nah, just that you can't say Proton is very bad and others are flawless. Which one is worse I don't know. Would have to make bigger surveys where all car owners will participate. And even then the question remains how much people care for their car... If it is cheap they probably care less.
My thinking is that Protons is every where on the road the quantity of proton are higher than other cars manufactures
It is not strange that more feed backs that people is giving
edison1437
post Mar 31 2013, 11:49 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(nyap2 @ Mar 31 2013, 10:06 AM)
how do u want to control part with thousand incoming everyday...yes they have system but to catch the reject part in a sample size is very hard especially part in plastic....example like mineral bottle....low grade or high grade material is the same on final product by visually....only by testing it we know which one is high and low grade...

like i mention...even proton did found reject part and send back to vendor...still they smuggle it back into proton...

i work in these area before and i know how the things going on...it such a regret to see these happening....
im not even blame proton...i know whose the culprit doing these....but seems proton new management oso still carrying the old way management...

drb shud appoint new vendor and sack those old vendor....
yes this is true my bro work in a factory that make preve's light as from him saying that the company even sent the thing out although it doesnt pass the water test.
some time cannot blame proton for the quality its their supplier take make those components

i work in aerospace industry that manufactured some structure's parts its our responcebility that to make sure that everything is in place before we send that part to our customers.
they not going to check every single parts they receive but to inspect it randomly.
most of the automotive industry also doing this if not mistaken including proton

This post has been edited by edison1437: Mar 31 2013, 11:53 AM
edison1437
post Mar 31 2013, 11:56 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Mar 31 2013, 11:54 AM)
who will buy proton if the price is not cheap . will u choose a proton instead of Toyota if the price is same ?
hard to say people's money people's choice. whistling.gif whistling.gif
edison1437
post Mar 31 2013, 11:58 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Mar 31 2013, 11:55 AM)
Simple, then potong should punish the vendor, re-evaluate and look for other vendors that can provide better good quality materials. Everyone know how to do this.
Do we really need to educate potong to improve their vendors management? My god.  doh.gif

Unless they just want to give business to specific vendors .. Their friends, cronies, brothers, sisters ...
not only proton the company also making many audi, VW, BMW even benz head lights brows.gif brows.gif
do you think they only did this to proton? whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by edison1437: Mar 31 2013, 12:09 PM
edison1437
post Mar 31 2013, 11:59 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Mar 31 2013, 11:57 AM)
One reason YES. If they can produce same quality as Toyota. Same price, I will support local made car. Support our country.

Here is the point: We want quality product and services .. Money and price is second thing. That's why you can see our people willing to pay moere expensive for blah blah blah taxes but avoid potong.
see your sig laugh.gif
edison1437
post Mar 31 2013, 12:44 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Mar 31 2013, 12:23 PM)
Yes. I think so. Because Potong mgmt never blame them even they didn't do it right. There must be 2 lines. 1 line for all good foreign car only can produce 500 head lights per days. 1 line for potong - can produce 5000 head lights per day.  rclxms.gif
yes you can have 2 lines what about workers?
if you are the boss u expect to have at least 2 batch workers to works in diff line?
or you want they can work in both?

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Mar 31 2013, 12:34 PM)
You mean my current car? hahaha. Before that, I own potong car for 12 yrs before changed to this. I was in dilemma also when need to choose Forte / Inspira / Preve (Those cheapest segment C car). At the end I go for Forte, just because I love the looks, feature and design. I am not dare to comment about Preve.

My old potong 12 yrs, engine got 1 problem after used 1 year because valve seal rosak - engine no ummmppphh no pickup at all. Sent to potong SC many times they said no problem. Sent to outside mechanics, one malay mechanic fix for me immediately and can run for 12 yrs without problem. smile.gif

And then the big problem with old potong, alignment always pull to left. cannot be fixed forever. many many tyre mechanic adjust properly for me end up one side of tyre get botak very soon. They told me the body car itself got problem.

Then within 1 year, the steering inside parts get melted when turn on the light. Because the high current of electric melted the low quality of plastic. They replaced free for me but it was very dangerous because steering broken.

2. Belakang trunk leaked in. because of low quality of rubber from windows.

3. All central locks koyak for 4 doors - Replaced many times but still rosak after some while.

4. Air con is very good!!! But never get cold in the car especially hot day. donno why.. Could be cheap interior material cannot hold the cold.

The last thing is maintenance fees: The price is like a bomb. Replace engine oil, filter ..minor service always charge me RM165 ++ ... Labour charge RM80-90. I asked why so enpensive? He told me they spent time check everything but can release the car for me after 1 hour maintenance.
Of course this is old story. But that has make me fear to get another potong.

I hope new genenration of potong don't have such problem as I mentioned.
indeed luck some time required.
my house has a bunch of proton none of them have big problem icon_rolleyes.gif
edison1437
post Mar 31 2013, 12:53 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 31 2013, 12:48 PM)
Haiya... how often do I need to repeat? ASEAN cars are taxed exactly the same way as Proton and Perodua. There is NO difference. So the 40k you pay more for the Vios over the Saga goes to Toyota. With that money they can do better QC, use higher quality materials, and still make a ton of profit, unlike Proton.

Cars that are exported are probably more expensive to build if the quality is indeed better. That they are still cheaper than in Malaysia is because they are taxed much lower than they are in Malaysia. Most countries have a 10-20% tax on cars, including Proton models. Malaysia taxes Protons at 75%. Yes, obviously it is going to be more expensive.

Look at China: They can produce well made devices that last forever (Lenovo ThinkPad for example), Apple devices (ok, one could argue about that), they can also produce extremely lousy devices that disintegrate the moment you open the box. It always depends on how much money you give them to build it. Looking at how extremely cheap Proton cars are after you take away the ridiculous taxes it's probably save to assume that Proton parts have to be very cheap.
i need to press a "like" for this rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
edison1437
post Apr 2 2013, 12:18 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Apr 2 2013, 10:48 AM)
Fair to potong. Some of us telling very old stories. I haven't go back to potong since 8 yrs ago.

But for sure I heard about service maintenance still quite expensive for potong nowadays.
my very old proton also gave me very less problem other than the fuel gauge not accurate laugh.gif

QUOTE(azzry @ Apr 2 2013, 11:50 AM)
ok, since most of u here is telling about old stories, let me tell u a not really old one. waja cps model. the rear light set, all the socket can easily get burn and melt after 3-4 years. have to change to aftermarket set ones (the whole light), since original ones not last long. never heard this rare problem from other manufs. the front lip that chrome color, is actually plastic. i never mind about plasticky, but mine has been broke at the joints and have to change to new. it was easily broken because there's where u hold on to when u open up the front hood. and u cannot simply change to 16" rims, tire will torn apart the inner plastic wheel arch. have to do some modifications. the spare tyre's compartment can be flooded with rainwater after ur rear light broke just now and affect the waterproofing. anybody still expect pipu still trust proton? waja cps is not really an old model bro.. they should have learn from earlier waja.. (if earlier waja dont hav the probs, then situation is even worst!)
if the rear light broke ofcoz rain water can go in ma sweat.gif
edison1437
post Apr 2 2013, 01:37 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(azzry @ Apr 2 2013, 12:30 PM)
so whose fault? the overheated bulb that meltdown the light unit and then let water come in bro.. never heard old wira got this problem. seems like proton appoint new fresh grad QC and replace the experience ones? or somebody in supply line is making money?
lucky your car never caught on faiya

This post has been edited by edison1437: Apr 2 2013, 01:41 PM
edison1437
post Apr 2 2013, 03:09 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Apr 2 2013, 02:53 PM)
care to give me comparison chart?

normal engine oil? oil filter? or engine parts?
basically the mechanic going to do the same if normal service.

drain the old engine oil, change the filter, and pour the new engine oil.

not? hmm.gif hmm.gif
edison1437
post Apr 3 2013, 08:29 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Apr 3 2013, 01:33 AM)
yeah that;s true..mindset.no matter how many properties u have or how rich u are,if u drive a protong there is no class ..
i do agree that there are many more car manufacturer that are better than proton, but proton is much more better than some other brand
edison1437
post Apr 3 2013, 02:53 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(reshbala @ Apr 3 2013, 01:56 PM)
+1  thumbup.gif
demanding is good but over demand is the other way round wink.gif
edison1437
post Apr 4 2013, 08:52 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Apr 4 2013, 12:28 AM)
especially those wiralution or myvians who want to race.i just give way cos its really no class to race with cars like that.especially if they win with their pimped out engine they just feel great for themself where else i feel sorry for them if they got crashed
that is the driver not the car doh.gif
edison1437
post Apr 4 2013, 10:24 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 4 2013, 10:03 AM)
Are you sure? a few years ago I drove my junker iswara to the Palace of the Golden Horses. The bellboy came and open my door with a smile just the same as he did for other Beemers or Mercs. It was a bit embarassing actually because my central lock was broken  blush.gif

Maybe the bellboys are not as shallow as you are.
oi what shallow shallow. Low class proton driver go cry at corner . vmad.gif vmad.gif
edison1437
post Apr 4 2013, 10:25 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Apr 4 2013, 10:14 AM)
Got.... many. Not mansion lah but okay financially. At least among my closer friends lah.
Here's some of them. Hope they don't surf FnF.

Job: Neurosurgeon
Properties: Bungalow lot + several terrace
Drive: Hyundai Accent

Job: Doctor (GP)
Properties: Two clinics, 1 terrace, 1 condo
Drive: Proton Iswara

Job: Regional Manager (Electrical Engineer).
Properties: At least 2 terrace.
Drive: Kelisa

Job: ?Accounts Manager (International Bank)
Properties: Several including daddy give
Drive: Honda City IDSI

Job: Businessman (several shops)
Properties: Too many, lost count already
Drive: Proton Gen2

Job: Orthopaedic Surgeon
Properties: At least 2 terrace, prob more
Drive: 1st gen Suzuki Swift

Job: Gynecologist
Properties: At least 1 bungalow
Drive: Kia Spectra 5

Job: Orthopaedic Surgeon
Properties: A lot maybe, filthy rich daddy
Drive: Dugong

Job: Businessman
Properties: At least 3 condos
Drive: Hilux

Job: Consultant Pathologist
Properties: Don't know
Drive: None, public transport

Job: Hospital Director
Properties: At least 1 terrace
Drive: 1980s Proton Saga

When we go TT, all park cheap 'low class' car.
my boss also the same, he is an operation director
driving a 1994 inswara sweat.gif
edison1437
post Apr 4 2013, 10:28 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Apr 4 2013, 09:52 AM)
everytime we spot an accident it always involve a protong or myVI cars on the road.statistic shows that 80% of the accidents and fatality daily here are local cars due to poor workmenship and especially mentality of driver as compared to a branded car drivers who tend to driver more safely on the road.
i would like to see the source or this is yourself assumption
edison1437
post Apr 4 2013, 10:41 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Apr 4 2013, 10:39 AM)
owh ya...one funny thing is...some of the brand minded people comparing wish vs exora and they said...PLASTIC...

i just laugh at them cos toyota also uses plastic...and the argument continues by sayng toyota uses different grade of plastic! tongue.gif hahaha
Plastic also got hai klas 1 ok??
whistling.gif whistling.gif
edison1437
post Apr 4 2013, 10:42 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Apr 4 2013, 10:35 AM)
do not insult or offend.we all have our own opinions on local cars.most people here also i would say,drives a proton and would feel offended to hear this.but as for me if i were to own a protong which i never will,i would just keep swallow and work hard to change car
10q teacher i'll learn sad.gif

0.0266sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:59 AM