The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v4, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM148
pikaphebat
May 17 2013, 01:13 AM

Maxis is really bad.. Currently i haven't terminate Unifi so i'm running Unifi and Maxis at the same time. I can switch network anytime so i can do a comparison...
Ping is really bad on Maxis! Browsing also are not as fast Unifi, even google.com i had to wait 1 second before the page appears. Is this broadband????!!
Even right now , i did a ping test to jaring.my. Unifi averaging me at 6ms... Maxis is averaging me 180ms.. sometimes it goes 250ms. You can't even ping properly a local server?
Day to day use.. it's really irritating when you have to wait a second or 2 for a page to load. That is not broadband!
For users who are thinking of switching, i wouldn't recommend it if you are a Internet critical user. Casual users and would like to save RM 80+ on the Astro package, may you have a better luck than me.
I even thinking of terminating Maxis even though i just installed for a few days only. If not for the penalty..
It was a really bad decision of me switching side..and i'm using unifi network to post this..
ohh.. let's not talk about torrent...
This post has been edited by pikaphebat: May 17 2013, 01:16 AM
pikaphebat
May 18 2013, 01:28 AM

QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 17 2013, 01:29 AM) hey. can you refer to my post, 1 post above yours.. I'm currently planning whether to go for unifi or maxis.. Hope you can help me! LordDenning, If you are Internet heavy user... get Unifi.. If cost is your concern and u want with Astro package, get Maxis.
pikaphebat
Jun 21 2013, 05:19 PM

Still cant find a way to use my own router for Maxis Astro IPTV.. Changed the VLAN port on my asus 823,822,821,721 all but not working. AStro shows IP and multicast gateway...but no picture.. adding 1 more problem to me..
Also, if your Internet is down.. bye bye ASTRO even in hybrid mode.. Reboot modem also..
Thought hybrid mode would just change the signal to dish but it's not.
pikaphebat
Jun 23 2013, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(brucesss @ Jun 21 2013, 05:24 PM) pikaphebat.. the installer told me vlan 823 is the id for iptv.. sure not working? shit means need to stick with default router Tried to follow the guide on how to tag vlan port on the hwawei, doesnt work.. tried to tag 823 on my ASUS router also doesnt work. Astro IP diagnostic shows the multicast gateway but no picture.. I'm sure they must've add something on the Tehcnicolor modem... hopefully the Networking Gurus would jump ship to Astro and Maxis so that we can get some guide on this.
pikaphebat
Jun 24 2013, 11:25 AM

Agree.. This Maxis and Astro thing is really giving problem on the support.. You call astro , they say MAxis, u call maxis they say astro.. Can't even solve my public issue yet coz i've given up.. They point to each other..
I got public before they upgraded to Astro, then when AStro came to install.. it reverted back to private.. Asked both on how to change to public back, they point to each other
pikaphebat
Jun 25 2013, 05:23 PM

Once you are on Astro IPTV, u need to contact ASTRO... call Maxis no use one.. they will say it's ASTRO. then ASTRO say its Maxis.. but ASTRO was the one doing the instsallation.. guess its correct to bug ASTRO.
Calling astro now to get my public! Maxis told me it's already public but i can't configure it.. definitely ASTRO
pikaphebat
Jun 25 2013, 05:33 PM

just called ASTRO, they say public ip are not offered with Maxis IPTV package.. then bug that guy saying that nobody mentioned about this. Why would someone subscribe to them with all this limitations..
Say that need to check to management bla bla..gonna bug them everyday till i get it
pikaphebat
Jun 26 2013, 02:07 AM

Similar experience.. Astro called and later even sms me on the installation date and time almost a week before the date.. Ive set my arrangements for the installer to come....
On that date, nobody came.. Called astro 1 hr later and they told me someone called in to cancel.. I was surprised as i never called them..and they wont tell me who called.. 2 days later astro called me back for arrangement on new date.and i had to wait another 5 days..
Really bad service by them.. My whole experience converting to maxis is really really bad..
If only unifi offered cheaper plans, wouldnt have converted...
This post has been edited by pikaphebat: Jun 26 2013, 02:08 AM
pikaphebat
Jul 2 2013, 09:15 AM

QUOTE(pjaya @ Jul 2 2013, 07:40 AM) Hope any sifu can help Hi I just install astro iptv just last 2 days. My complains is the Internet keep disconnecting even though astro channel is working fine. For the past 2 days I have to switch on/off the modem to reconnect. Wonder can I change the modem(I think astro maxis given me a faulty one) the current tm line is ok. Anyone having this issue? Worst I wonder if I can just use the astro without the Internet? My unifi account still active. Can I change the package with 10mb to just astro without Internet? That modem is the problem. Before i had Astro IPTV i was able to use my ASUS but now with AStro IPTV still cant find a solution to use my ASUS back.
pikaphebat
Jul 2 2013, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(brucesss @ Jul 2 2013, 03:01 PM) means it was working at first then suddenly not working properly? what is ur model of the router? It's because of Astro IPTV.. stupidly this ASTRO wont work at all without internet connection and if i use ASUS as router, i can connect to internet but my ASTRO will not display. If i revert back to technicolor then astro appears. Stupidly i still need to also use the satellite cable and also the internet cable for astro in their so called hybrid mode but actually without either one.. it's useless. I really don't understand why they do it this way. I thought by having IPTV i would be able to move the decoder easily as long as i have the CAT 5/6 cable but that's not how it works...
pikaphebat
Aug 5 2013, 03:22 AM

QUOTE(red.mosquitos @ Aug 2 2013, 06:07 PM) I got call from astro today to change to maxis + together with astro. I have 2 main concern: 1. I am currently using asus rt-n66u, I love this router to cover all my internet usage including NAS and cctvs. Does rt-66u will be able to use with maxis and i will not need to Maxis thomson? Or i need maxis thomson for the phone? I was using this router also during Unifi but after change to Maxis with IPTV, the IPTV won't work at all. If you are using for Internet only, then this router does work. Issue is only on IPTV .. oh and telephone2. Does maxis has any limit of usage e.g. 40gb and than the speed will slow down? AFAIK only some torrent cap speed between 8pm-2 AM. They say that it's only torrent but somehow i do feel that the overall speed is a bit slower during that time
Hope you guys would help me. Tq