The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v4, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM148

jl_eleven
post Jan 19 2014, 08:02 AM

80 posts

Do you guys suffer massive slowdown in download speed from some US and Europe site since last week. My company is using Maxis 32M BizFibre and we really heavily for the connection to Amazon cloud US for daily operation, the download speed I get get now is only 10-15KB/s with direct connection (no other traffic). With the other leased line and also Unifi at my home, I can easily get 300-400KB/s. I also tested in my brother house (which use Maxis Homefibre 10M), the speed is very slow too.

Already complained to Maxis they don't seems to bother, just told me still investigating, now says wanna send people over to check. Really sucks. Send people to check also no use, its peering and routing problem.
jl_eleven
post Jan 19 2014, 08:03 AM

80 posts

My conclusion is avoid Maxis, its way worse than Unifi.
jl_eleven
post Jan 19 2014, 12:22 PM

80 posts

Just make a complaint to maxis, I think they will look into it if everybody complain.

ABN no comment, didn't know anyone using it.
jl_eleven
post Jan 19 2014, 04:52 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(adslgourou @ Jan 19 2014, 04:35 PM)
For Internet and international connectivity, no operator can beat TM. Maxis does not have their own international link and have to buy transit from other providers, the likes of TM, SingTel or NTT. And their quality is dependent on these operators.

TM being a tier-1 national telco has connectivity to most countries regionally.
TM is not that great either, we had TM metro E before and the international link is poor. China 200+ms latency, Europe 300ms. Now we bought local loop from our office to AIMs from maxis (because its cheap ). Then have a lot of choice there, Tata, PCCW, Hutchison just to name a few. We chose Pacnet which offers premium route, latency to Europe is 220, china 80. Way better than TM and actually its cheaper than TM.

jl_eleven
post Jan 19 2014, 04:53 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(adslgourou @ Jan 19 2014, 04:39 PM)
They do throttle customers from 8pm till 2am.  If you are not a heavy downloader it is probably OK.
We are using BizFibre I don't think the throtle .
jl_eleven
post Jan 19 2014, 05:04 PM

80 posts

Exactly. Uploading is just fine. Download really slow.
jl_eleven
post Jan 19 2014, 05:06 PM

80 posts

If anyone maxis user here wanna help me testing. Please pm me and I will provide u a amazon cloud ftp account.
jl_eleven
post Jan 20 2014, 03:24 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 20 2014, 11:00 AM)
Got cap meh? Mine always goes full speed regardless of the timing.

Only those download from Hotfile and certain file sharing sites are throttled kao kao.
QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Jan 20 2014, 12:02 PM)
ive been using maxis+astro iptv+second decoder for a month and a half now, converting from unifi(2 years contract ended). and i can say its better than unifi because i always get more than 10mbps.(unifi always gave me ngam ngam and never passed 10mbps while downloading).  rclxms.gif

speedtest stable at:

Can both of you help me to test download from Amazon cloud? I will provide you the FTP details if you agree.
jl_eleven
post Jan 21 2014, 08:22 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 20 2014, 05:36 PM)
I already test for you. Upload very fast, 700kB/s but download back the file from Amazon Cloud, 6~30kB/s nia... Not sure why upload so fast, download so slow.
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 20 2014, 11:50 PM)
jl_eleven

Here's the test result:

With speedtest to local / US server as comparison
Yup, just want to double check if everyone has the same issue. It has been almost 2 weeks and I get the same reply from Maxis.

Dear Mr XXX,

We have updated the email below in case number C1430XXXX. Our support team is still in the midst of investigating this matter and will revert once we receive the reply.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely,
XXXX
Enterprise Support
Customer Relations Unit
Customer Operations
jl_eleven
post Jan 21 2014, 08:55 PM

80 posts

Latest reply after I threaten to complain to MCMC.

Dear Mr XXX

Please be informed that our support team has sent request to TM on 19 January 2014 and has yet to receive the reply. We also have highlighted to them to expediate the process. We will revert once we receive the update.

Kindly accord us your patience and understanding on this matter.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

XXXXX

Enterprise Support

Customer Relations Unit

Customer Operations
jl_eleven
post Jan 26 2014, 08:42 PM

80 posts

Download speed from amazon clouds still super damn slow. Already more than 2 weeks still couldn't rectify the problem.
jl_eleven
post Jan 27 2014, 06:21 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 26 2014, 11:06 PM)
Yup. Still getting 10-30kB/s.

On a side note, I have changed my router to 12U HP and I gotta said better than stock router. Hopefully can get my 14U HP on Monday/Tuesday to compare. Range is better and seem like transfer speed more stable when using WiFi.
Using Cisco 881, definitely not equipment problem.
jl_eleven
post Feb 5 2014, 02:28 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 4 2014, 11:10 PM)
After almost two to three weeks of slowdown to US servers, and unsatisfactory answer given by Maxis (they called and told us that upgrade will be held in coming 1 to 3 months to resolve this issue, with no exact date / guarantee), and decided to close the ticket with the above remarks. Decided to log a case to CFM (albeit I doubt it'll help to resolve the issue).

cc: jl_eleven
It has been almost a month, and I'm still getting this:
Dear Mr XXXX,
Please be informed that this matter has been escalated to our IP core engineering team for further investigation and we will update accordingly once we receive the feedback.
And we already have another Unifi up and running, yes, purposely signed up because Maxis did nothing.

jl_eleven
post Feb 12 2014, 05:32 PM

80 posts

Maxis called yesterday and told the problem is fixed. Tested download from amazon about 200KB/s

0.0641sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:05 AM