The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v4, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM148

gogetter83
post Mar 29 2013, 06:52 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 29 2013, 06:12 PM)
Astro SuperPack 3 = RM155, so we get it at RM135 via Astro IPTV ?
gogetter83
post Apr 7 2013, 06:03 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Apr 7 2013, 05:17 PM)
is actually 50kbps only...
At first it was 1mbps. Then reduced now to 500kbps. What you're referring to is 50kBps.
gogetter83
post Apr 10 2013, 02:17 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Apr 10 2013, 12:53 PM)
hi

i have been facing frequent disconnect from almost beginning till now (9 months already)

changed router already 4 times. even the so called new design for thomson (black/white design) also same (last time the router auto reboot, this design disconnect but never reboot)

anyway, today they change the same black/white router again. i make a deal with maxis that if still got same problem, they will give me 2 months free subscription. i can use this money to buy my own router

so my question is

what is your router recommendation? can i still make calls?

thx
sounds like you have a bad line. Are you on DSL or Fiber? Better get them to fix it correctly, else change router also you might end up with same problem.
gogetter83
post Apr 17 2013, 11:51 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Apr 17 2013, 07:36 AM)
Anyone notice there's a bug with the Technicolor TG784N V3 where after you switch off and on the router, the WiFi connections get stuck? Going into the router and saving the wireless connection settings makes it work again, but I hope I don't have to do that all the time.

Any ideas?

edit: phooey, just seen this: https://forum.maxis.com.my/forum_topic.asp?...908&whichpage=3
yeah, known bug I guess if you select WPA2-PSK only. Have to resort to use WPA-PSK+WPA2-PSK until firmware fix update.
gogetter83
post May 2 2013, 02:36 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ May 2 2013, 12:16 AM)
I was thinking of that too, especially with the bundle of Astro+Maxis IPTV, but after reading the ping and routing issues and also speed cap on certain time, i decided to go for Unifi.. dont want to risk a 2 year contract..
the issue had been going on for quite a while already.. go maxis forum and read up, they always say will resolve, but seems like no action taken or any improvement.
For gamers and round the clock p2p users, you should forget about Maxis Fiber. Period.

Don't subscribe hoping Maxis will fix it soon. Not going to happen anytime soon. The only solution to these problem is to invest heavily in bigger capacity and better peering. They don't have the numbers to do that, it's not bread and butter business for them, so not a priority to do it.

Save yourselves the trouble...

gogetter83
post Jun 20 2013, 01:05 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(bllizard19 @ Jun 19 2013, 10:21 PM)
after u restart u manage to surf via unblock-us DNS? i change that, but when i restart > open netflix > out of region. how laa
I don't think your problem is dns related. It should be due to your internet ip range which is not US IP range. You'll need vpn to US for that

gogetter83
post Jul 8 2013, 05:15 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(yoikn @ Jul 8 2013, 03:57 PM)
Hi, Maxis Home fibre newbie here. I just installed Maxis Fibre + Astro last week (no phone line). So far so good, wifi quite strong even at the farthest room.

Anyway, wanna ask,

1) to increase download speed from filehosting sites (netload, uploaded, ryushare), can i just change the dns or do i have to change to public ip as well?  hmm.gif

2) received quotation from ADT (alarm system). To install the alarm, they need extra RM300 for connection to their centralized system because i'm using Maxis Fibre (if unifi, no extra $$), what gives?

Thanks guys.
you said no phone line. Meaning, you already have a separate TM land line?
gogetter83
post Jul 24 2013, 06:57 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 24 2013, 03:40 PM)
agree with you!
even the router keeps on rebooting every 48hrs..hence, to play online games need to evade the "48th hour" to avoid losing or loss of data.
router rebooting every 48 hours? No lah, it's the BRAS renewing the session every 48 hours. Later people misled, thinking buy different router will solve problem when it's the backend that behaves this way. Even more frustration...

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Jul 24 2013, 06:57 PM
gogetter83
post Jul 24 2013, 08:48 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 24 2013, 08:29 PM)
seriously? that's what we've been told..darn it..
then it's difficult to judge when the session will be renewed
true...i thought it was router rebooting, bought a TL-WR841ND, tp-link SW pun same, openWRT pun same...48 hour still disconnect then reconnect back.
gogetter83
post Jul 25 2013, 08:49 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 25 2013, 07:53 AM)
What is BRAS? It is infact a forced IP change by Maxis, it will do it every 48 hours on the dot. So what I did, I'm using my own router and have a cron entry to drop my WAN connection at 3am every other day. This won't interrupt my works during the day and it is much quicker than the forced IP change which took almost a minute to get a new IP.
Broadband Remote Access server. The server which interfaces betwen you and other network elements for the authentication and session allocation.

Yes, you're right. It disconnects 48 hours from the successful PPP login. So, disconnecting and reconnecting back manually within the 48 hour window is a good way to reset the session timer at your own control. Need a router that's capable of that though... openwrt allows that I guess with some scripting function.
gogetter83
post Jul 30 2013, 10:22 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jul 30 2013, 09:57 PM)
Torrent is capped from 8pm to 1am?
What if I use VPN?
should be able to bypass. make sure it's encrypted vpn.

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Jul 30 2013, 10:23 PM
gogetter83
post Aug 7 2013, 06:31 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(simon82 @ Aug 7 2013, 03:07 PM)
Ok.. some review..
Got it last week (Saturday) - 10MBps line

Suprised to see both Unifi contractor + maxis installer at the same time.
Both are friendly. Installation finished in 1 hour. Feels RM 170 is quite expensive for over the ceiling installation. Anyhow, unifi contractor willing to give more than 15m without extra charge. Installation are tidy.

Being told unlimited download by the maxis guy -> Kena con
Throttle to 50KBps for 6 hours.. @@ (Found out the 2nd day)
This duration = anything oso slower than usual. Ping response quite high.

The router is thomson brand. Blardy useless. Cant even change dns. So little stuff to configure. Even my old streamyx router have more stuff to configure than this crap. So far it held quite ok. No restart so far. Maybe coz I use chikai fan to cool it.

I have existing VPN account. Sometimes work sometimes not. Headache here. Any suggestion?? If work, can get up to 1.1MBps. When it is not working, download speed like 1 to 2KBps. Average around 500-700KBps.
When download, I still can surf. But not always.

Questions.
1. The TM device thingy got 4 ports. Can use other port to connect or only connect to Thomson router?
2. Anyone using Microtik router? Any review? If change router, the phone still can use?
3. Anyway to change the dns in Thomson router?

P/S : I think streamyx is much more stable and faster than this.
Just 2 posts above yours has info on how to change dns. Btw, change to public IP, the VPN might work better

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Aug 7 2013, 06:42 PM
gogetter83
post Aug 9 2013, 08:52 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(boon2000 @ Aug 9 2013, 07:51 PM)
how much is the termination fee for maxis home fibre RM118/month promotion package? i heard its RM2500 from my friend who gonna terminate it.
still another year of contract. But i think you can terminate with RM500 penalty, I believe Maxis has revised their termination policy
gogetter83
post Aug 24 2013, 05:11 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(zuiichi @ Aug 24 2013, 02:15 PM)
hello there maxis fibre users, i got a few questions:

1)throttle to how much? at night only?

2) online gaming experience dota 2/steam game mainly. any lags/delay/spike? average ping is how much.
my area is bukit tunku if thats help.

i intend to switch from 5mbp unfi to maxis astro iptv. as thats easir, pay in one bill, more benefit and mainly a lot cheaper. but  scare if switching will gave me a hard time. i dont expect it to be perfect tip top, a few maintainance here and there is understandable.

any thoughts sifus? thanks
this has been discussed to death many times. Gamers stay away from maxis fiber. Period.
gogetter83
post Sep 30 2013, 10:56 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Sep 30 2013, 09:11 PM)
hi guys

my unifi package going to end , wanted to switch to maxis

i am heavy user for torrent, my dad into streaming movie , my bro into dota

heard that maxis cap p2p

how bad?
bad idea. p2p cap to 50KB/s 8-2am daily. Poor latency according to many gamers. Still want to switch?
gogetter83
post Dec 22 2013, 04:05 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Dec 22 2013, 01:15 AM)
I can't get full speed on Thompson's Wifi ..
LAN cable .. no problem...

trying to install home plug ... a bit .. on and off for the connections ..

just installed 30MB line today...
What's your wifi client?
You're testing with wifi client side by side the router?
How congested is your wifi environment?

gogetter83
post Dec 22 2013, 11:50 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Dec 22 2013, 10:11 AM)
5cm from the router....
tested different wifi channel ...
only full speed on LAN...

Trying to avoid using own router ... i op for homeplug . but doesn't seem to be working well ..

*sigh*..

but 30MB speed is awesome and I got no complain .. just that wirelessly .. just below par ..
Funny thing is .. on wifi .. the upload speed can hit high 25Mbps ...
download however cannot keep up ..

but on LAN .. no issue on both ..
Sound like congestion to me. Likely your surrounding wifi environment is busy with many APs. If you use inSSIDer, how many wifi APs do you see?

Also your wifi client? Is it N-150 or N-300?

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Dec 22 2013, 11:55 AM
gogetter83
post Dec 22 2013, 12:28 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Dec 22 2013, 12:21 PM)
smile.gif no congestion at all ..

I have 4 signals here

1 is neighbour ..
3 .. is my own ..

1 from streamyx modem
1 from maxis fiber
1 from homeplug ..

all running different channel and already monitoring with inssider ...

tested all wifi signal ...

if there is congestion , the upload speed would also be affected ..
Interesting... must be some non-wifi interference. I can get about 40Mbps over wifi (transfer from my NAS on wired to my PC on Wi-Fi over 10m in between a wall). So your homeplug has wifi as well? If yes, what's the speed you're getting from it?

by the way, you still haven't say what wi-fi client you're using...

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Dec 22 2013, 12:29 PM
gogetter83
post Dec 22 2013, 01:45 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 22 2013, 01:08 PM)
Homeplug is overrated. Bought one pair of those with 500mbps and only gets few MB/s at best. Use WiFi also same lor.

As for the WiFi, I have no problem but I'm not using Thompson. I just use Thompson to connect and off the WiFi. Then I connect my old DIR655 to Thompson via LAN for all WiFi connection. No problem maxing my 10mbps line.

Luckily I did not register for 30mbps because I did not use it much now after having Astro On Demand. Initially registered for 30mbps due to 50% discount for OKU but they registered mine for 10mbps instead.

I think the Thompson at best also 2x2 only. Just get those 3x3 router, and if got budget, 3x3 on both 2.4 and 5GHz.
True, the Maxis router is 2x2 only. Still there is some dependencies on why wifi client is used. For example, the iPad have pretty sucky wifi, 1x1 only, only the recent iPad Air has improved with 2x2 client.

To avoid a lot of fiddling to get the desired speed on 2.4GHz, if wifi client supports 5GHz, consider investing in a router/AP that supports 5GHz (N or 11ac) to get the desired high speed. Take note, coverage is smaller with 5GHz.

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Dec 22 2013, 01:45 PM
gogetter83
post Dec 23 2013, 09:38 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Dec 22 2013, 10:07 PM)
Homeplugs are Aztech.. Hl110ew & hl117e
The connection between plug is average... Probably lots of interference in the electrical wiring..

Getting average 8-9mb ...

For maxis Thompson router , varies 10-17mb download
Upload , usually at Max speed , 25-27mb

I believe I just need to invest more for a better router
Maybe a better router can be a solution if you're ok to fork out the cash. the good ones in WiFi are the Asus ones, you should look into dual band solution (N56U, N66U, AC56U, AC66U)

0.0441sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:12 AM