The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v4, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM148

SUSLordDenning
post May 17 2013, 12:04 AM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

Hey guys. I'm currently using 1mpbs streamyx and can no longer live with such slow speeds, so i'd like to upgrade to fibre soon. Now my questions is which should I choose? Should i go for UniFi or Maxis Home Fibre?

Can you please list down the pros v cons of the two?

From what I know or understand so far, maxis home fibre seems to be the better deal because it's 148/month for 10mpbs while unifi is 149/month for 5mpbs?

I'd also like further info;
1)whether installation service, etc is free or charged
2)which is more stable? i seen people complaining about unifi being slow while I also see people saying that maxis fibre doesn't allow torrent or p2p.. and then there are people saying that maxis home fibre ping is high? Is this true? as I often play online games and this would be bad right? yawn.gif
3)does unifi or maxis home fibre cap torrent speeds?
4)and what about add-ons like for example unifi got the hypp thingy.. I tried reading it myself on the web but I don't really understand it :s

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: I have came across TIME also.. It seems TIME kills off unifi and maxis home fibre without a doubt.. 100mbps @ rm180/month(100gb quota) or minimum is 8mbps @ rm130/month(unlimited, not even a "until furthre notice" it's just plain unlimited) .. anyone have any say on this? Hmm..

This post has been edited by LordDenning: May 17 2013, 10:38 AM
SUSLordDenning
post May 17 2013, 01:29 AM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

QUOTE(pikaphebat @ May 17 2013, 01:13 AM)
Maxis is really bad.. Currently i haven't terminate Unifi so i'm running Unifi and Maxis at the same time. I can switch network anytime so i can do a comparison...

Ping is really bad on Maxis! Browsing also are not as fast Unifi, even google.com i had to wait 1 second before the page appears. Is this broadband????!!

Even right now , i did a ping test to jaring.my. Unifi averaging me at 6ms...
Maxis is averaging me 180ms.. sometimes it goes 250ms. You can't even ping properly a local server?

Day to day use.. it's really irritating when you have to wait a second or 2 for a page to load. That is not broadband!

For users who are thinking of switching, i wouldn't recommend it if you are a Internet critical user. Casual users and would like to save RM 80+ on the Astro package, may you have a better luck than me.

I even thinking of terminating Maxis even though i just installed for a few days only. If not for the penalty..

It was a really bad decision of me switching side..and i'm using unifi network to post this..
ohh.. let's not talk about torrent...
hey. can you refer to my post, 1 post above yours.. I'm currently planning whether to go for unifi or maxis.. Hope you can help me!
SUSLordDenning
post May 22 2013, 04:56 AM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ May 22 2013, 12:03 AM)
Ah, then this is different story, you're using vdsl, the fiber terminates at ground floor and it uses cooper line to your flat. Have no experience on this, but if the vdsl is capable of carrying more traffics, it should work. But, sorry, don't have experience on this.
any disadvantage of fttb(fibre then copper) compared to ftth(fibre all the way to house) ?
SUSLordDenning
post May 22 2013, 03:32 PM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 22 2013, 08:03 AM)
No difference.... copper can handle up to 100Mbps with Fibre handling much higher bandwidth
Ahh. Okay, then it is somewhat comforting to know that.. I live in condo and heard it will be fttb.. So I worried it will not be as smooth/stable/good as ftth...
SUSLordDenning
post May 23 2013, 02:53 PM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ May 22 2013, 10:02 PM)
looks like i have to find a new house to pasang this maxis fibre .. this maxis fibre dont have cap thingy rite ...
What cap you talking about? Download cap? Both maxis and unifi got download cap but is NOT implemented yet.. If one of the telco implement it, im pretty sure the other will follow soon..

If you talking about p2p/torrent cap. Then yes, maxis cap your speeds from 8pm-2am daily to around 0.5mbps ~ 1mbps... Unifi doesn't...
SUSLordDenning
post May 30 2013, 04:30 AM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ May 28 2013, 11:26 PM)
I noticed my line hasn't been good for the pass few nights. Only happens about after 8pm. Youtube doesn't stream properly not even at 480p. And higher latency on games.

EDIT: And of course when I ping to local servers I get 10ms and max down/up rate speed.
Kena throttle la tu.. 8pm-2am

QUOTE(maru @ May 29 2013, 01:07 AM)
My unifi contact end soon

I heard they limit the torrent speed,  is that true?

If limit torrent speed, pointless I change
Yes they do. and it's limit from 10mbps to 0.5mbps.. 50kpbs dl speed... can do what?

QUOTE(maru @ May 29 2013, 05:05 PM)
oh ok la 4 hours only...

so i still got 20 hours to torrent ? haha
if im not mistaken it's 8-2am. and they throttle to 0.5mbps...

QUOTE(syzwn @ May 29 2013, 10:23 PM)
im considering to take 30mbps plan.izzit good for online gaming and torrenting?please give some feedback smile.gif
Online gaming is definitely a no-no.
Torrenting when not during the throttle period is okay..

SUSLordDenning
post Jun 11 2013, 02:10 PM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

QUOTE(jacky1678 @ Jun 11 2013, 01:46 AM)
anyone have download speed as below speed or more than the below attachment speed ?
10mbps? That's considered low. You should be getting at least 1mbps/dl

My unifi 5mbps im getting around 500~600kbps/dl
SUSLordDenning
post Jun 15 2013, 06:44 AM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

QUOTE(jacky1678 @ Jun 12 2013, 10:06 AM)
is 500KB/s  not 500kb/s
i guess got different right ... sad.gif
Slow means slow la. Haha. Trying to comfort yourself eh? tongue.gif Call Maxis up about it, you should be getting around 1mbps for 10mbps. if you're only getting 500~600, that's like unifi 5mbps plan..

QUOTE(jacky1678 @ Jun 12 2013, 10:08 AM)
By the way, anyone from Wangsa Maju Area, getting disconnect at night time ?
is Wangsa Maju is doing some kind of maintenance for FTTH ?

i keep getting dc recently for last week till now  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
QUOTE(jacky1678 @ Jun 13 2013, 01:36 PM)
any one realize the the Line FTTH for maxis modem will disconnect intermittent recently ?

but when i look at the Huawei modem [black color] the color  of light still remain [no restart no anything]... just the Thomson router will get restart.

So here just wanna ask you guys, anyone happen such thing to you ?
Welcome to Maxis, their stock router is shit. Go get yourself another router..

QUOTE(Liuism @ Jun 12 2013, 03:10 PM)
mostly i read all compain wan, no good comments meh?
Nothing good to comment about so how to give good comments?

SUSLordDenning
post Jun 15 2013, 06:47 AM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Jun 14 2013, 11:18 AM)
That's the angle which many users do not mention.

I signed up for the rm118 deal. For that, I got:

a) 10mbps up and down. I'm not much of an online gamer, so I have no complaints on the ping issue (although that has improved a lot since the early days). My downloads (unlimited so far) are super fast and upload (pictures, dropbox, etc) also no complaints.
b) I get 200 mins IDD to 20 countries, including places relevant to me like UK and Australia, so I save easily rm30-50 per month on that.
c) I get 600 mins for my house phone to call Maxis mobile phones. As many of my family and friends are on Maxis, that's a real saving.
d) There's also 150 free minutes added to my personal Maxis mobile line

I was on Unifi before this, paid rm150 fpr 5 mbps which included IPTV which I never watched, and got free calls to TM fixed line phones (how many friends do you know use that?). And calls to mobile were expensive.

So for me, the numbers were compelling. In fact, I paid the rm500 penalty to TM to break my contract. Though, I must say, there have been some hiccups along the way, but nothing so bad that I would want to give up the service...
Conclusion:

If you game and torrent 24/7, Unifi would be better.

If you dont game at all but stream/download and torrent anytime other than 8pm-2am, Maxis will be better.

0.0423sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:09 AM