What if I use VPN?
The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v4, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM148
Jul 30 2013, 09:57 PM
14,899 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
Torrent is capped from 8pm to 1am?
What if I use VPN? |
Aug 16 2013, 09:51 PM
Aug 28 2013, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(lingkin @ Aug 28 2013, 12:14 AM) Desperate to terminate it after 4 month of usage on this 148 package, really cant tahan they throttle the torrent speed all day long now.. (before that the throttling was only start after 8pm, but since I make a complaint & show them my download speed on utorrent, they just fu*ked up my speed even worst, how stupid am I..), what use of 10mbps if cant download?? Really regret to subscribe, do u guys stastify with the service so far? Am I the only one sufferer? Reaally think about to pay the 500RM penalty fee instead of remaning contract monthly fees.. I think the only way to overcome torrent throttling is to subscribe to VPN services. |
May 7 2014, 05:10 PM
Can you guys bypass the throttling by using VPN services?
May 7 2014, 10:05 PM
Dec 28 2014, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(gkong3 @ Dec 25 2014, 10:30 PM) For those of you who do not want throttled service, access to region-specific content (e.g. BBC iPlayer, Hulu, Netflix), and unblocked, uncensored Internet from Maxis (or indeed any other ISP), subscribe to a commercial VPN service. Prices are less than RM20/month (but shop around and do your due diligence; instead of local ISP knowing your surfing patterns, now the VPN provider knows). I've never had to worry about throttling and, well, my VPN even comes with a static IP (so I could set up servers if I wanted to). Hi, which VPN service do you use?@r1nk: I use my own router in conjunction with the stock router. The stock router ONLY handles IPTV for Astro; everything else is DMZ to my ASUS. TPLink is great for normal - even heavy - Internet activity; it suxxor for P2P - at least, that is my experience. This dual router setup does consume a bit more energy, but everything works perfectly about 99% of the time. If you do not have either VOIP or IPTV (just naked Internet), then you can chuck the stock router out the window. |
| Change to: | 0.0417sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:38 PM |