QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ Jul 15 2013, 12:52 PM)
Has anyone tried streaming netflix? Full HD with netflix? Because I am in the midst of getting either Unifi 5 or MHF. Please advise.
Yes, mine using AppleTV, streaming full HD right now.The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v4, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM148
Jul 15 2013, 01:35 PM
3,892 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Back on earth! |
Jul 15 2013, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ Jul 15 2013, 01:59 PM) My kids usually watched Korean movies/dramas/music videos and most of them are SuperHD, seems smooth, netflix will change the quality if it detected a slow down, automatically, so you will not see if buffering. |
Jul 25 2013, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 24 2013, 06:57 PM) router rebooting every 48 hours? No lah, it's the BRAS renewing the session every 48 hours. Later people misled, thinking buy different router will solve problem when it's the backend that behaves this way. Even more frustration... What is BRAS? It is infact a forced IP change by Maxis, it will do it every 48 hours on the dot. So what I did, I'm using my own router and have a cron entry to drop my WAN connection at 3am every other day. This won't interrupt my works during the day and it is much quicker than the forced IP change which took almost a minute to get a new IP. |
Jul 25 2013, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 25 2013, 08:49 AM) Broadband Remote Access server. The server which interfaces betwen you and other network elements for the authentication and session allocation. Ah, alright .. too many abbreviations Yes, you're right. It disconnects 48 hours from the successful PPP login. So, disconnecting and reconnecting back manually within the 48 hour window is a good way to reset the session timer at your own control. Need a router that's capable of that though... openwrt allows that I guess with some scripting function. I'm using OpenWRT and I've this entry in my schedule tasks/crontab: 0 3 */2 * * /sbin/ifup wan This will bring down the wan connection at 3am in the morning and happens the other day (48hrs). It does the reconnection within few seconds, much faster than waiting for the BRAS to do the IP change. |
Aug 7 2013, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(yoikn @ Aug 7 2013, 12:16 PM) Bro, thanks for your help, successfully changed the DNS (to google DNS, unblock-us not yet). I don't need to. No problem so far.Just wanna check, do you ever need to go back to unblock-us website to activate vpn every time maxis reboot the connection? I read in the forum maxis 'refresh' the internet connection every 48 hours. |
Aug 27 2013, 06:14 AM
Sep 4 2013, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Sep 4 2013, 08:02 PM) I've replaced my maxis setup, I'm using Buffalo router running OpenWRT and voip is directly connected to the Huwaei HG850a.This post has been edited by wiraone: Sep 4 2013, 09:11 PM |
Sep 5 2013, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Sep 5 2013, 12:20 AM) How about Huawei-ONU HG8240w? Interested to know more as I've always wanted to switch to other routers for reliability but the VOIP is holding me back. Mine is actually on TM fibre and not the Maxis fibre, hence the old ONU model that I have. I was with Unifi and terminated my account and migrated to Maxis. Are both of you on land-based building (direct FTTH) or high-rise building (VDSL to end unit)? If it's doable I don't mind buying a much more reliable router (as compared to what I face). On a side note, they have replaced the router for me today (better efficiency than what I expect, as I called them on 9pm yesterday and they came on 3pm today to make the replacement). Hope that the same problem would not occur or else I would really have to seek alternative permanent solutions. Looking at HG8240w, there is a TEL1 & TEL2 ports and I believe reading the manual, it has dual support, SIP & H.248. Save the current config you've, go and play around with the ONU, if something goes wrong, just restore the old config and restart again. Sorry, no experience on HG8240w. |
Sep 5 2013, 06:11 PM
Sep 6 2013, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Sep 5 2013, 06:42 PM) As a matter of fact, mine's on TM fibre as well. Are you connected directly to the ONU or to the router? Get your PC connected directly to the ONU's lan port.I have tried to play around with HG8240w yesterday but too bad, I couldn't access the configuration page at all as there are no gateways from that ONU. Tried setting some static IP on the same subnet mask as the modem's default subnet mask for the gateway but to no avail. |
Sep 6 2013, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Sep 6 2013, 05:51 PM) Well of course I connected it to the ONU directly whilst experimenting. There's no gateway IP at all (I did configure my network adapter to use a fixed IP of '192.168.1.88' with subnet mask of 255.255.255.0). By right, the ONU's gateway SHOULD be accessible but I've tried many times, even trying it out with different range of fixed IP and/or subnet mask but to no avail. Since I don't have the one that you've .. here is the table that I found in the user manual (can be found on google search):You don't need a gateway, just set your fixed ip to 192.168.100.100 or something (default IP for the unit seems to be 192.168.100.1 as per the manual). Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 17 2013, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 17 2013, 12:16 AM) Hi. Recently i just installed Maxis Fibre. What kind of modem/ONT/ONU that given for your new installation? Replacing the router should be straight forward thing, just unplug the Thomson router and replace it with your new router. The new router should be VLAN capable though, check this thread:My house is landed. Was wondering any router suits it. Some of my friend said landed 1 don't have, but the 1 like condominium or apartment can use custom routers https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2384890 |
Sep 17 2013, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 17 2013, 04:18 PM) It doesn't matter what colour actually, just buy a router which has UNIFI sticker. Most of them routers are VLAN capable router, you might be able to change the VLANID. But before go and buy, do ask here first This post has been edited by wiraone: Sep 17 2013, 04:54 PM |
Sep 18 2013, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 17 2013, 10:24 PM) I couldn't give any recommendation |
Sep 19 2013, 06:43 AM
More info on the printer make & model. You can't make the router detect the printer if it is using wifi, depending on the printer, you need to scan on wifi ssd, put the key manually on the printer.
Sep 25 2013, 10:35 PM
To tell the truth, for daily browsing, I can't feel the differences between unifi 5mbps & maxis 10mbps. Some file downloads feel faster, netflix streaming, no different in term of video quality. For me, not much improvement after swapping to maxis.
Oct 2 2013, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(siconsole @ Oct 2 2013, 12:26 PM) I'm moving to a new house and i asked maxis about the relocation and they need 2 weeks for the relocation and ive found out that the new house already have a unifi fiber line.Can i just connect the maxis fibre router and the modem to the existing unifi line?? If your modem has password, nope, you need them to activate the password at the exchange and on your modem. |
Oct 2 2013, 04:18 PM
Oct 2 2013, 05:52 PM
Oct 23 2013, 10:59 PM
Just go to your control panel -> network -> change the DNS there, problem solved.
| Change to: | 0.0427sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:15 PM |