The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V8, Keep on bricking

paanjang16
post Mar 28 2013, 09:12 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Mar 28 2013, 08:14 PM)
shocking.gif The 8043 Motorised Excavator cost RM1000? shocking.gif
hmm.gif Will the mobile crane MKII also cost the same as well...
8043 cost that much because it is an old and discontinued set. When I bought my 8043 last time it was well below 1k since it just came out and still in production. I do not think the MKII will cost more than 1k too since even the Unimog and crawler is still below the 1k mark when it was first released.

Same like Green Grocer, Cafe Corner where it is so @#$%$#@$# expensive due to it being out of production already.

paanjang16
post Mar 29 2013, 11:40 PM

335 posts

In the morning it was only page 15, now back at home already so many pages past sweat.gif You guys are going so fast I can hardly keep up!!! This is madness!

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Mar 29 2013, 05:12 AM)
This sucks. Exceeded quota for mobile internet and modem not working.

Anyway, today's sightings at AEON 1U but only 1 of everything.

Galaxy Squad sets - I think this is all or most of them.  Not really familiar with this theme.

Hobbit sets - 1st time I've seen this one at retail (with Thorin Oakenshield)

City Police # 60008

Thanks for the info on the latest stock. I am surprised got a few Galaxy Squad sets at Aeon, guess ALJ want to beat our local ALJ here. But WTF the Hobbit set with the tree and a rock cost a bomb!! Even the spiderman set with the tan building also not as expensive! Not sure why but I feel the Museum robbery set is overpriced too.

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Mar 29 2013, 09:32 AM)
LOL...  I spend my childhood years without a LEGO train.  after my  dark ages I attempted to "revive" this hobby but that time is not ideal coz LEGO had been juniorized. this: http://www.brickset.com/detail/?Set=6548-1

then I laid low for a few more years until one fateful day I spotted a LEGO train (just one there, jusco) in a very beaten up box , cellotaped back again, felt like Back-in-box .  Bought it home and the poison started till now smile.gif

http://www.brickset.com/detail/?Set=4560-1
Very very lucky to come across a 9V train set! I wish I had one too since it is much much better than the crappy Power Functions version. Although the locomotive and car design is boxy atleast you got the 9V metal tracks, regulator and motor.

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 29 2013, 10:42 AM)
I have taken pics of my MOC of a Penang Straits Heritage House. This is based on 1930 design of the shophouse.

I also uploaded this to MOCPAGES liao.
http://www.mocpages.com/moc.php/357313

More pics in the spoilers

Excellent MOC! Much much better than I had anticipated and lots of detail too! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Mar 29 2013, 03:02 PM)

If you have the budget and want a more fun track layout (because the 7938 only comes with enough tracks to make a circular loop, read boring!) either buy 7939, 3677 or 10233 to go with it (this will be the best) or buy extra tracks.

Also do take note that straight tracks are hard to come by so you may want to focus on buying sets with straight tracks. In BrickLink straight tracks cost around RM5 and up while curved tracks is only asking for under RM1!
As for tracks I think the Enlighten tracks are of the same gauge and can connect to the Lego ones. I believe it is cheaper too. Sometimes I really hate TLG because of this kind of issues like bundling the curve with the straights. So since TLG wants you to buy the curves to get the straights I think Enlighten is doing a big favor to provide cheaper straight tracks.

QUOTE(Caryane @ Mar 29 2013, 04:40 PM)
Initially during my come back to LEGO, she doesn't really like to idea as LEGO isn't cheap and its considered as TOYS.

So i thought why not i import more LEGO along with the sets i want then sell them to help fund my LEGO. Well she ok with the idea.

Then one fine day when i bought Superheroes Loki's cosmic cube escape from Uncle Kenny.

My wife wanted to build it and she likes LEGO after completing it tongue.gif

Then i bought her spring time scene as a gift and she built that too.

THE SECRET TO POISON YOUR WIFE - spoiler alert!!!

Lucky Brickster!! I wish I have a gf or wife like that. Too bad I have no gf yet (curse or a blessing?, I know can spend much more on Lego without a significant complaining haha)
paanjang16
post Mar 30 2013, 01:07 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(zoomckng @ Mar 30 2013, 10:51 AM)
I see ALJ pricing is back again  doh.gif  Got a feeling these sets will be peg warmers like the the hospital 4429 sets in all the TRU  doh.gif
For some weird reason ALJ price based on the box price plus some other factors. That is why you will see sets like Creator with big boxes costing much more although they are the same price as their small counterpart. Then of course the huge markup on Star Wars, Superheroes and LOTR. The police station is a classic example of an overpriced set and there is simply no reason for it to be priced this way. Other sets is Destiny's Bounty, Batcave, Unexpected gathering, Dino HQ.

The hospital has its charm, but I too cannot accept the fact it cost so much for a simple building plus some minifigs, one of which does not have a proper printing (the doctor, torso and leg different color of white jacket).

Some of the sets in TRU lagi teruk, has been warming the shelfs since 2011 or earlier if I am not mistaken. The Toy Story, Prince of Persia stuff simply cannot sell at such an overpriced price. So high that even during TRU sale also nobody buys them!
paanjang16
post Apr 2 2013, 08:42 PM

335 posts

I'm 29 this year, so still got many more years to collect Lego. Also still single so don't have a significant other to share the hobby. Some of the tips you guys mentioned early on about how to poison your gf and wife into collecting Lego is fantastic! laugh.gif Never knew this Lego thread can become a bit like Cupid Corner. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by paanjang16: Apr 2 2013, 08:44 PM
paanjang16
post Apr 4 2013, 09:44 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(maldiniho @ Apr 4 2013, 09:07 PM)
space theme u! i also got ... pic spam!

i have this set too. havent open to assrmble yet. need to sort out the place to put it on first. smile.gif
you have the mission commander... sweat.gif real classic space set you have there.

Now my turn, featuring the SP-striker!

Blacktron dude is kept in the rear.

The best part is the 9V light system with illuminated panel inside the spacecraft!

Of course my recent acquisition... whistling.gif
paanjang16
post Apr 12 2013, 11:06 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Apr 12 2013, 08:03 PM)
Hi guys!

Finally completed the bulk order thread! Please take a look and add your name to the registry if the sets and pricing are to your liking. biggrin.gif

Please note the deadline is midnight this Sunday, 14th April. By Monday morning I have to put in the order.

Also note that currently demand outstrips supply for the 10232 Palace Cinema so the supplier may not be able to ship immediately. The other sets will be shipped as soon as the order is confirmed and fully paid, I anticipate this to be within the week beginning 22nd April. After that the shipment will take between 6-11 days to reach Malaysia. My current shipment just reached Malaysia, only took 6 days but now waiting for Pos Malaysia to clear customs and this will probably take the whole of next week. So shipment for this bulk order I estimate will probably reach us early to mid May.

Here is the link to the bulk order thread: BULK ORDER!

You can also follow the link from my signature below.

Happy browsing and have a great weekend! thumbup.gif
cry.gif cry.gif So many sets..... so little money cry.gif cry.gif

Ya, my pocket is dry too!!!
paanjang16
post Apr 16 2013, 08:24 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(ilfort @ Apr 16 2013, 08:13 PM)
3 more page, help spam please. . .
Yes boss.....

Some Chima spam

Thundertank and eagle jet with a croc bike. thumbup.gif

paanjang16
post Apr 16 2013, 08:32 PM

335 posts

Some Friends spam. Its too bad this Olivia's house set is soooooo overpriced here doh.gif I managed to snag one when I was in Korea on holiday.

The best part is that it fits the normal minifigs perfectly!

0.0210sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:47 AM