The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V8, Keep on bricking

Charsiupao
post Apr 1 2013, 01:22 AM

128 posts

Star Wars planet series 3 and 4 are out in Brickboys Gardens Mid Valley. Hoth/Snowspeeder was completely sold out when I got there (although there were still 2 Battle of Hoth sets there). There were 3 TIE Bomber/Asteroid Field sets left (I bought one, and there was one left on the shelves when I went home). The other 4 - Alderaan/Tantive IV, Endor/B-Wing, Kamino/Jedi starfighter and Coruscant/Clone something ship (I didn't buy this one) - were still there in good quantity - I picked one of each other than Coruscant since I wasn't a fan of the new trilogy ships. The only reason I picked up Kamino was because of the cute R4-P17. smile.gif
Charsiupao
post Apr 1 2013, 07:44 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(dilvin @ Apr 1 2013, 07:20 AM)
I apply similar MO too, but was hiding it from my son. If not, he will want to build all and wont zzz  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Mine are hidden in the drawer under one of the cabinets - have to avoid wife's dirty looks AND kids' excited hands. Especially my 4-year old who is crazy over Star Wars ships - the moment he sees the Tantive IV I'll never be able to build it myself. Probably have to get another one - thankfully it's one of the easier ones to get.

Planet series is really nice - just wish I could think of a way to use the planets properly, but I guess if I have enough of them they can make a nice display set. Which means I'll eventually end up buying Naboo, Bespin and Tatoonie someday too...
Charsiupao
post Apr 1 2013, 02:25 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Apr 1 2013, 02:23 PM)
I'm still older than you! cry.gif  From the looks of it I'm the oldest here unless Mr. Alby chooses to +++ his years together! wink.gif

Anyone over 40? That will make me feel better! icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm one year your junior! smile.gif
Charsiupao
post Apr 1 2013, 07:39 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Apr 1 2013, 07:37 PM)
brickboy at garden midv.. is tat a shop in garden mid valley..sorry kind of noob with mid valley
went there twice only b4 this... notworthy.gif
Yup - it's a shop on the top floor of Gardens, same floor as Borders, opposite the Northern Indian restaurant, beside the Sony store.
Charsiupao
post Apr 2 2013, 10:46 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Apr 2 2013, 10:35 PM)
Bollocks - Unifi down just after 3 days installing it  vmad.gif

Anyway, this is my total haul from Oct 2012 - Mac 2013.

No Funhouse? My wife asked me what I wanted for anniversary, and I told her funhouse, and even showed her where in Suntec TRU it was going for a discount. Then after we went back to KL she said "forgot to buy", then went on a long tirade about how she had to look after the kids, put the small kid to sleep, where got time to buy things? and so on , and so on.. .... sad.gif
Charsiupao
post Apr 2 2013, 11:00 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Apr 2 2013, 10:52 PM)
Not yet. That and Arkham Asylum on my Wishlist.

When did you see it at Suntec TRU?
December last year. And I haven't seen it in any stores since!!! cry.gif
Charsiupao
post Apr 4 2013, 02:29 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Apr 4 2013, 10:16 AM)
You all talk like that. Makes me think twice about buying "Star Wars: The Complete Saga" Blu-ray. Scared it will be massive poison.
The Blu-Ray is, I think, almost RM500. You could get some nice Star Wars sets for that money... smile.gif

I wish they still had the DVD collection, but I read somewhere that Lucasfilm wanted Star Wars to be a Blu-Ray exclusive or something. I still have the old DVDs but my kids managed to somehow snap my New Hope DVD.... so annoying!

Star Wars LEGO is great poison - even more so than Lord of the Rings. You have the minifigs, the sets, and the spaceships, and they're getting nicer and nicer. The only thing I hate about Star Wars LEGO is how the new versions make the old versions look ugly and obsolete, and you then have to figure out where to keep the old ones. Like the Harry Potter series, Star Wars also had a few years of yellow LEGO men, so it's all mixed up and a bit annoying... but the new sets are REALLY poison!
Charsiupao
post Apr 5 2013, 11:32 AM

128 posts

All these Hobbit sets so cute, but I haven't watched the movie and DVD not out yet. Better to sapu now in case regret later, or finish the movie first and then decide?
Charsiupao
post Apr 5 2013, 11:59 PM

128 posts

I am so dead... Hobbit DVD came out today.. just bought it, and haven't even watched the show yet, based on what I saw on the screen in Speedy Video when they were playing it, I bought 79000 just like that. I think sure die now.... die ....
Charsiupao
post Apr 6 2013, 02:05 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Apr 6 2013, 12:20 AM)
no worry..
79000 is still affordable...

wait till u get 79001 n 79002...  brows.gif

click if u dare  whistling.gif

Ya, matter of time.. luckily 79000 was cheap, and was the only scene I saw at Speedy Video. I think they also had the scene with the Goblin King... but I was thankfully too far away then. Hold on to my cash for a couple of days.

I've seen all the poison on the forum and the sites, and even the Youtube reviews. The DVD is going to be the trigger.. smile.gif
Charsiupao
post Apr 7 2013, 02:56 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Apr 6 2013, 07:30 PM)
Yupe for real. When I saw the box, I grabbed it straight. But after seeing the price, I put it back shakehead.gif . Also they have this Vintage corner now beside the counter where they have a few of those old classic sets (SW, City). There is a big banner which says "No discount" and the price is really shocking.gif
I got the impression that the vintage corner was for members to sell off their old sets, and pay a commission to Brickboys. I never did ask them, though - the old stuff has simply astronomical prices.
Charsiupao
post Apr 7 2013, 09:50 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(ilfort @ Apr 7 2013, 09:34 PM)
This set was good actually. I think 750 when released here.
One of those sets where the box does not do the actual model justice. I never thought it looked good until I saw one in my friend's house - that thing is HUGE, close to the size of the Tantive IV.
Charsiupao
post Apr 14 2013, 03:55 AM

128 posts

Today I saw that IKANO TRU had restocked on a couple of older sets:-

7879 - Hoth Echo Base - RM449.90
9495 - Gold Leader's Y-Wing - RM249.90

Kena poison big time by 7879, especially with the new Battle of Hoth set released, and so bought one.

When I left there were about 4 7879s and about 6 9495s left there.
Charsiupao
post Apr 14 2013, 02:43 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(faish888 @ Apr 14 2013, 01:23 PM)
Just found some photos of new SW sets coming soon. Better start saving more bullets if you're into SW!  drool.gif  thumbup.gif

I'm definitely getting Jabba's Sail Barge to go with my Jabba's Palace, Rancor Pit and Desert Skiff sets....  wife's not going to be happy about this.  whistling.gif
That Jabba's skiff set is lovely - Max Rebo is adorable!! Ree-Yees and Weequay have never been released before either, and would make great additions to Jabba's palace too! Makes we wonder if there's any point in opening my older Sail Barge - there's nothing really unique there which hasn't been re-released in the new Jabba sets. The Slave Leia was the only figure which hasn't been released yet, but with this new barge it makes the entire old barge redundant other than for investment or collection.
Charsiupao
post Apr 16 2013, 07:02 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(yktan7 @ Apr 16 2013, 06:04 PM)
Dear All Lego Sifu, was surfing the net, and found that Lego is launching Legends of Chima theme lego.
Wonder is it worth collecting? The minifig look nice...
Or maybe its better to collect LOTR and Hobbits set..
I am in dilema to start on Legends or LOTR/Hobbit... which is better? icon_question.gif

Chima is really nice if you're into fantasy creatures - they look quite awesome when put with castle sets - especially the eagles and the ravens. Buy a small set first (lots of small Chima sets, thankfully) and get a feel for the minifigs, and see if they fit into any role you may have for them. When you hold your first one, either you'll love them or hate them. I suggest starting with a Raven or Hawk figure, as they're the nicest, and unlike the others, even the smallest set will have them with body armour pieces because that's where the wings clip on!
Charsiupao
post Apr 16 2013, 07:05 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Apr 16 2013, 06:12 PM)
9499 i like princess padme amidala..
I love this figure too, but the set which it comes is is really meh... the Gungan sub is not easy to play with or display with other sets. I want the Qui-Gon too, but I really don't think I'll be getting that sub.

This post has been edited by Charsiupao: Apr 16 2013, 07:06 PM

0.0508sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:25 PM