Looking for 4 channel Amplifier

TSloon1031
post Apr 11 2006, 11:18 PM, updated 20y ago

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

Currently I am using an agako 4 channel amplifier, but it not statify me for the sound quality!
The sound effect not enough clear...!

I am using
Front : DLS B6 (6.5" component)
Rear : Helix BLUE 69 MK II (6" X 9")
Head : Sony CDX-F5500

I wish to change a new 4 Channel amplfier !
Maybe Helix Drak Blue 4 or Steg !

ANy comment ?
Or any amplifier stuitable for me?
craziechild
post Apr 13 2006, 07:26 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

helix hands down... helix tends to give a clear clean sound... which is very very suitable for SQ setup...

since you are using DLS... i think helix will do a great job on them...

cheers...
Cola
post Apr 13 2006, 08:36 PM

585 posts

how much do helix's amp cost?

This post has been edited by Cola: Apr 13 2006, 08:36 PM
TSloon1031
post Apr 13 2006, 09:59 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(Cola @ Apr 13 2006, 08:36 PM)
how much do helix's amp cost?
For the Helix Dark Blue 4 (The lowest class for Helix 4 channel Amplifier) about RM 1,600 in Penang
driftmeister
post Apr 13 2006, 10:27 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

KL here can get half of the price i guess
less than a grand

This post has been edited by driftmeister: Apr 13 2006, 10:27 PM
TSloon1031
post Apr 13 2006, 10:43 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Apr 13 2006, 10:27 PM)
KL here can get half of the price i guess
less than a grand
Helix not a cap ayam brand ...
I don't think so can get 1/2 price of Helix... Maybe Kl can get RM200 or RM300 more cheeper la...

Cola
post Apr 14 2006, 04:27 AM

585 posts

OoOo.. i've check the brand, it's from germany, should be good stuff..
some more so expensive, should be nice if can test the amp..
tongue.gif
craziechild
post Apr 14 2006, 07:31 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

for tht money... i guess should take a alpine... or genesis... or top up a bit to take a phd...

cheers....
driftmeister
post Apr 14 2006, 04:44 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Apr 13 2006, 10:43 PM)
Helix not a cap ayam brand ... 
I don't think so can get 1/2 price of Helix... Maybe Kl can get RM200 or RM300 more cheeper la...
u give me that price i help u buy 1 unit icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif i'll keep the remaining whistling.gif

anyway..my vote goes to steg..
especially the masterstroke series brows.gif
actually the qx series also not bad for beginner already thumbup.gif
TSloon1031
post Apr 14 2006, 07:55 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(Cola @ Apr 14 2006, 04:27 AM)
OoOo.. i've check the brand, it's from germany, should be good stuff..
some more so expensive, should be nice if can test the amp..
tongue.gif
I had tried the Helix amp before...sound nice ..effiect also good..!
If it match with Morel 6.5" component speaker.. It perfect liao!
TSloon1031
post Apr 14 2006, 07:57 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Apr 14 2006, 07:31 AM)
for tht money... i guess should take a alpine... or genesis... or top up a bit to take a phd...

cheers....
For Alpine I prefer his HU more than other ..but only HU also expensive.. Somehow the amplifier le sweat.gif

Genesis from England... I not yet try before can't give any comment.... cool.gif
TSloon1031
post Apr 14 2006, 08:03 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Apr 14 2006, 04:44 PM)
u give me that price i help u buy 1 unit  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  rclxm9.gif i'll keep the remaining  whistling.gif

anyway..my vote goes to steg..
especially the masterstroke series brows.gif
actually the qx series also not bad for beginner already  thumbup.gif
Actually I want try Italy Steg... Because many people give thumb up but I never try this before... doh.gif
Fusion
post Apr 14 2006, 10:34 PM

.:ATI:.
1,201 posts

helix is very very suitable for an SQ setup ??....do u mean that Steg is not suitable for SQ??.....sigh ....what a statement ......
helix is clean n clear ....thats 1 statement that i cant argue with but at the same time its also lifeless n bland sounding .....SQ is not about clean and clear ...its all about the realism of the sound and the presents of the warmness and emotion of the music....
try out steg K-series or the masterstroke before u make a comment like "helix hands down"......the K-series and the masterstroke is even in the league of BRAX (btw Helix is the budget Brax....they r d same company).....
TSloon1031
post Apr 14 2006, 10:56 PM

1,105 posts

I see BRAX amplifier before in Penang near Gurney Drive..!
It cost about RM10k... BRAX is big brother of Helix

http://www.audiotec-fischer.com/index.html

This post has been edited by loon1031: Apr 14 2006, 10:57 PM
craziechild
post Apr 14 2006, 11:12 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

I know SQ setup is not jus about clean and clear sound... its how the vocal and the other musical instruments should sound... and where is the vocal and intruments should be at... i didnt say tht everyone must use helix for their SQ setup... and i didnt even said anything regarding the steg... so dun get too excited... i guess i had audited steg in my friends car and a helix in another friends car too... both are good stuff for SQ no doubt... but i still like the helix more than steg as my ears are looking for those clean and clear sound which my friends steg didnt gave me enough... dunno whther is the tuning or wut... so back to your post... i think its jus a case about personal preference and taste...

and well as for brax... i still hav not had the chance to audit one... i dun care whther they are the same company with who... cuz i think in ICE, you will hav to choose your stuff on your own... not me say tht helix is good then you take helix... or a ICE sifu tht say TRU is good then i take TRU... cuz everyone has thier own personallity... thats wut make everyone special...

cheers....

This post has been edited by craziechild: Apr 14 2006, 11:18 PM
driftmeister
post Apr 15 2006, 12:32 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Apr 14 2006, 10:56 PM)
I see BRAX amplifier before in Penang near Gurney Drive..!
It cost about RM10k... BRAX is big brother of Helix

http://www.audiotec-fischer.com/index.html
so u c only la ? ic.. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Fusion
post Apr 15 2006, 01:55 PM

.:ATI:.
1,201 posts

the detail doesnt only depend on the amp ...the detail depends very much on the HU, speaker and also the cable used.....
a setup with alpine F1 hu with some cheap 20cent cable n some Brother speaker will have much less detail than a normal eclipse/Chord cable/Focal K2p setup ....at the end of the day a system depends very much on how its being tune and also component matching....u cant really say which is the best n which is lousy ....a properly tune n matched 10k system can sound better than a 40k system setup that doesnt have any tuning ....
go try around n listen to other ppls setup ....go try other setup n listen around before u decide on what kind of sound that u really like ...by then i m very sure u would know your preference on sound n types of amp that u like .....
craziechild
post Apr 15 2006, 02:36 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

agree on the tuning part... even a capalang setup will sound better than a budget brand when the tuning part was done properly...

well i would say nothing in I.C.E. is the best... its all about the personal preference... you might listen to RnB but i listen to mozart... so we will never agree on any terms on each others setup...

well to me... i hav listen to the Helix A4 on my setup... and well i think they make my "high" but steg doesnt give tht feeling due to my personal preferences... i do listen to RnB but i also like mozart and other classical musical ochestra...

and also in I.C.E. i trust tht its not how much you spend... its how you use what you hav... by the end of the day... the one that matters the most is the front component... not anything else...

cheers...
TSloon1031
post Apr 15 2006, 03:33 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Apr 15 2006, 12:32 AM)
so u c only la ? ic..  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Ya loh.. see only and ask the price... but too expensive about RM10k leh...
It very heavy ...
doh.gif
TSloon1031
post Apr 15 2006, 03:35 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Apr 15 2006, 02:36 PM)
agree on the tuning part... even a capalang setup will sound better than a budget brand when the tuning part was done properly...

well i would say nothing in I.C.E. is the best... its all about the personal preference... you might listen to RnB but i listen to mozart... so we will never agree on any terms on each others setup...

well to me... i hav listen to the Helix A4 on my setup... and well i think they make my "high" but steg doesnt give tht feeling due to my personal preferences... i do listen to RnB but i also like mozart and other classical musical ochestra...

and also in I.C.E. i trust tht its not how much you spend... its how you use  what you hav... by the end of the day... the one that matters the most is the front component... not anything else...

cheers...
sometime you should compare the amplier by the level of amplifier...
You can't use one ayam brand amp compare with famous one...

0.0185sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:50 PM