tyre howling sound, wongggg wongggg sound....
TSshamsulyahya
Mar 25 2013, 08:55 PM, updated 13y ago
salam guys, jz change my tyre with continental MC5, when certain speed and 100km/h more obvious inner car wil have wonnngggg wonnngg like bee sound howling sound....
try chk wit tyre shop they say ntg to do with tyre as if tyre sure constant wit sound, they say mayb bearing causing sound..
need advice further before changing n send for repair etc... anyone or sifu have idea regarding of this..
apprecaite feedback n tunjuk ajar from sifu here...
SUSedmunz
Mar 25 2013, 08:58 PM
asphalt problem?? i notice sometime road surface can cause this to happen.
TSshamsulyahya
Mar 25 2013, 09:14 PM
hi there, the thing is its very common on almost nearly every road... b it highway, freeway etc...
u mean its due to TYRE asphalt stcked wit? or road wise...
StereoPony
Mar 25 2013, 09:26 PM
this only happened after you changed tyres?? I'm not very sure myself but some tyres thread pattern can cause that kind of sound. What's more important, when u drive, evaluate the alignment. if it's ok then nothing serious at the moment. check with the service center to get some advise too.
TSshamsulyahya
Mar 25 2013, 09:43 PM
ok mate... thx for the advice... ya got the sound after chg tire n alignment done as well...
wil seek for SC advice as well as others.. as the tyre shop insist ntg wrg wit their tyre..
6UE5T
Mar 25 2013, 10:03 PM
High performance tire will never be really quiet, will always have some noise on certain asphalt, some will be louder, some can even be very quiet. Unless you got cheated and given an actually very old stock which already a bit brittle but I really doubt that. You can check the tire production week & year on the sidewall to make sure.
blacksunday
Mar 27 2013, 12:13 PM
hey bro i just changed mine to mc5 as well but i dont get that kinda noise you were saying. from my experience usually that kinda sound comes from your wheel bearing which i changed mine too bout 6 months ago. since you only notice the noise appear after changing the tires, then you should really check wheather they gave you a new set or not....
SUSMrUbikeledek
Mar 27 2013, 12:15 PM
Most likely bearing. both side RM200 or so.
Also check ur wheel allignment. poor allignemnt may accelerate the degradation of the wheel bearings.
This post has been edited by MrUbikeledek: Mar 27 2013, 12:17 PM
NelsonBoy
Apr 15 2013, 10:21 PM
from i what see
bearing faulty can be tested by jack up car, and use hand to rotate the tyre. if you notice any vibrating on suspension , then the bearing is kong.
from the bee sound, uneven thread on tyre will cause this too.
Quazacolt
Apr 15 2013, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Apr 15 2013, 10:21 PM) bearing faulty can be tested by jack up car, and use hand to rotate the tyre. if you notice any vibrating on suspension , then the bearing is kong. may not be the case. a bearing issue i experienced could not be tested by hand rotation a loan, it needs load/pressure to produce the grinding sound. (eg: hard cornering on a specific side) was fed up and did the bearing replacement anyways and problem solved.
sleepwalkerz81
Apr 18 2013, 08:54 AM

If it is really loud, then it's the bearing...
Albert B
Apr 29 2013, 09:31 PM
If it sounds like army truck, it is likely the wheel bearings.
Asphalt marks/grooves (e.g. crawler tractor track damage) can also sound like this, but only at certain locations.
You may try to change wheel/tyre (eg spare tyres) and see if any difference, to narrow down the causes.