Google Desktop, anyone using?

TSsmashpOp
post Apr 11 2006, 03:39 PM, updated 20y ago

smashing pOpstar
2,116 posts

isit good? i feel like trying.. but dono if it will take lotsa ram or anything like that

pls tell me if u r using it.

http://desktop.google.com
HMMaster
post Apr 11 2006, 04:22 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

im using and it is pretty good! and you gonna love the huge amount plug-ins icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif
rebelsoul76
post Apr 11 2006, 08:07 PM

Hakuna matata
2,644 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Apr 11 2006, 04:22 PM)
im using and it is pretty good! and you gonna love the huge amount plug-ins  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif
like what? can be more specific so we dun need to go through/test all the plug-ins tongue.gif
dsiew
post Apr 11 2006, 08:29 PM

715 posts

u can check out the best ones here..
mystvearn
post Apr 11 2006, 10:48 PM

6,639 posts

I am not using it. I forbid any kind of "dekstop/browser" add ons. Makes pc slower. Startup slower. Another thing is the spyware. Regardless of google, data is transmitted
HMMaster
post Apr 11 2006, 10:54 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(rebelsoul76 @ Apr 11 2006, 08:07 PM)
like what? can be more specific so we dun need to go through/test all the plug-ins tongue.gif
currently using tweakGDS, integrate GDS to firefox (the best feature, IMHO), etc...

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Apr 11 2006, 10:48 PM)
I am not using it. I forbid any kind of "dekstop/browser" add ons. Makes pc slower. Startup slower. Another thing is the spyware. Regardless of google, data is transmitted
spyware?
samurai1337
post Apr 11 2006, 11:51 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Google Desktop is great. Well actually I just like the Desktop Search, hardly use other features.
TheFalcon
post Apr 12 2006, 03:18 PM

126 posts

i use to link with gmail, as well as use it to get latest rss feeds from slashdot and digg
and the remote desktop search feature is amazing
a little dangerous, since it allows google to keep your data for 30 days
but still, keeps my documents and stuff synchorinzed between my office and home PC
asellus
post Apr 12 2006, 03:57 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

Google Desktop Search is too slow for my liking. It takes way more memory resources than Copernic and Microsoft Desktop Search.
samurai1337
post Apr 12 2006, 05:16 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Apr 12 2006, 03:57 PM)
Google Desktop Search is too slow for my liking. It takes way more memory resources than Copernic and Microsoft Desktop Search.
Didn't aware of it. It's running amazingly fast here (though I haven't compared it with Copernic and MS Desktop Search, I don't have to wait too long for a search) and not notice any memory issue yet (probably with high RAM on it?).
slingswish
post Apr 13 2006, 03:47 PM

560 posts

any picture for it ?
hehe
slingswish
post Apr 13 2006, 03:52 PM

560 posts

sorry ..see it already ...and by the way..can we change the skin so that it suit the desktop ? hehehe.. i guess this thing is more the desktop customization
Giant
post Apr 14 2006, 04:20 PM

1,124 posts

i heard is very cool to use, but will it slow down our sistem alot?

samurai1337
post Apr 20 2006, 08:14 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Just understand that my company does not allow the use of Google Desktop because of some security reasons.
gamestx
post Apr 20 2006, 09:11 AM

395 posts

Google Desktop is not recommended at all..Its a kind of spyware and it allow google to keep copies of your files. Can you imagine that, a copy of your important/personal files is stored at an unknown remote site.

It is never allowed to be used in a corporate environment because of its spyware nature.. Soo.. I still think that using it is a bad idea although its fancy looking. Its one of google scheme to get more data for it to manipulate.. on its journey to online data supremacy..

SAY NO TO GOOGLE DESKTOP
SAY YES TO WWW.GOOGLE.COM

and its not worth the extra resources that it consumes from your system, which could be used for more productive tasks.
PCcrazy
post Apr 20 2006, 09:20 AM

Milanista
3,224 posts

I personally never trust any of these cheap free mini GUI theatrics programs on my desktop. But if you are okay with it, that's your choice. But be aware of the consequences.
HMMaster
post Apr 20 2006, 11:39 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(gamestx @ Apr 20 2006, 09:11 AM)
Google Desktop is not recommended at all..Its a kind of spyware and it allow google to keep copies of your files. Can you imagine that, a copy of your important/personal files is stored at an unknown remote site.

It is never allowed to be used in a corporate environment because of its spyware nature.. Soo.. I still think that using it is a bad idea although its fancy looking. Its one of google scheme to get more data for it to manipulate.. on its journey to online data supremacy..

SAY NO TO GOOGLE DESKTOP
SAY YES TO WWW.GOOGLE.COM

and its not worth the extra resources that it consumes from your system, which could be used for more productive tasks.
afaik, google wont store your files in their server. smile.gif

but yes, they do have some securities issues where people in the network can search the files of other computers.
soulmate
post May 11 2006, 05:11 PM

..your girlfriend said im a good kisser
1,276 posts

new version of Google Desktop launched
sneak preview of mine
giasens
post May 12 2006, 01:56 PM

625 posts

hmm.. does it mean those ppl using desktop search is an unorganize ppl?
not to offend, but some how i think it's not so applicable if u've organize yr stuff.
or perhaps u can giv me some good features that noteable.
HMMaster
post May 12 2006, 03:37 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(giasens @ May 12 2006, 01:56 PM)
hmm.. does it mean those ppl using desktop search is an unorganize ppl?
not to offend, but some how i think it's not so applicable if u've organize yr stuff.
or perhaps u can giv me some good features that noteable.
the reason desktop search exist is for u to un-organize ur stuff laugh.gif

why waste time on organizing files when u can search for it? and it will be very tedious why u wan to organize thousands of files.

This post has been edited by HMMaster: May 12 2006, 03:39 PM

0.0203sec    1.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:37 PM