sifu pls explain..
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 05:58 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Mar 24 2013, 05:39 PM)
sifu pls explain..
You can root because it is technically possible, but you will probably void your warranty, since it can be a condition of warranty.

Please read the link in my sig for an explanation. Go to any of the device threads and you will also see posts on how to root.

However if you are asking about the legality of rooting, in the US, it is legal to root your phone but not your tablet.

This should not be a separate topic. It should have been asked in the Android General questions topic.

This post has been edited by joytest: Mar 24 2013, 05:59 PM
TSjrshow
post Mar 24 2013, 06:02 PM

2,186 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 24 2013, 05:58 PM)
You can root because it is technically possible, but you will probably void your warranty, since it can be a condition of warranty.

Please read the link in my sig for an explanation. Go to any of the device threads and you will also see posts on how to root.

However if you are asking about the legality of rooting, in the US, it is legal to root your phone but not your tablet.

This should not be a separate topic. It should have been asked in the Android General questions topic.
oic...if i help people rooting hp for doing this kind of buisness is not illegal right?i man in malaysia...
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 06:04 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Mar 24 2013, 06:02 PM)
oic...if i help people rooting hp for doing this kind of buisness is not illegal right?i man in malaysia...
I do not think there is any law covering the specific practice of rooting. It should be covered under contract law due to the warranty being a form of "contract". Any lawyers here can advise on this?

IANAL tongue.gif
TSjrshow
post Mar 24 2013, 06:21 PM

2,186 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 24 2013, 06:04 PM)
I do not think there is any law covering the specific practice of rooting. It should be covered under contract law due to the warranty being a form of "contract". Any lawyers here can advise on this?

IANAL tongue.gif
'
it is a great idea to getting some lawyer here help me through this, i scare later violents to some sort of copyright thing then i gg lo..^^
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 06:23 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Mar 24 2013, 06:21 PM)
'
it is a great idea to getting some lawyer here help me through this, i scare later violents to some sort of copyright thing then i gg lo..^^
Rooting has got nothing to do with copyright. If it were LYN Android forum can bungkus already.
TSjrshow
post Mar 24 2013, 06:24 PM

2,186 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 24 2013, 06:23 PM)
Rooting has got nothing to do with copyright. If it were LYN Android forum can bungkus already.
dunno la~better ask first before start anything~ smile.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 06:30 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Mar 24 2013, 06:24 PM)
dunno la~better ask first before start anything~ smile.gif rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Sure, if your lawyer tells you that rooting is copyright infringement or violation we'd all like to know as well.
TSjrshow
post Mar 24 2013, 06:33 PM

2,186 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 24 2013, 06:30 PM)
Sure, if your lawyer tells you that rooting is copyright infringement or violation we'd all like to know as well.
thxs sifu^^
Mikeshashimi
post Mar 24 2013, 06:36 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

rooting is NOT against any law, because it is do-able very easily.

secondly, rooting will void your warranty in 99% of the time.

BUT, you can always unroot your phone if you want to claim warranty.
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 06:45 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Mar 24 2013, 06:36 PM)

Actually I don't think it's against any law in Malaysia. But the US has the DMCA and the Librarian of Congress has to review Exemptions to the DMCA every 3 years. Rooting is covered under the DMCA but the Librarian of Congress has authorized an exemption for Rooting lasting 3 years. Note that this exemption covers Phones only. Tablets are not exempt. It's an interesting read.

This post has been edited by joytest: Mar 24 2013, 06:46 PM
TSjrshow
post Mar 24 2013, 06:46 PM

2,186 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Mar 24 2013, 06:36 PM)

but the counter inside will determine ur phone got rooted b4 or not.. hmm.gif
TSjrshow
post Mar 24 2013, 06:46 PM

2,186 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 24 2013, 06:45 PM)
Actually I don't think it's against any law in Malaysia. But the US has the DMCA and the Librarian of Congress has to review Exemptions to the DMCA every 3 years. Rooting is covered under the DMCA but the Librarian of Congress has authorized an exemption for Rooting lasting 3 years. Note that this exemption covers Phones only. Tablets are not exempt. It's an interesting read.
which means...?
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 06:48 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Mar 24 2013, 06:46 PM)
but the counter inside will determine ur phone got rooted b4 or not.. hmm.gif
The counter is for purposes of warranty determination, just like the water damage indicator in your phone.
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 06:48 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Mar 24 2013, 06:46 PM)
which means...?
Um, please ask Uncle Google.
Mikeshashimi
post Mar 24 2013, 06:49 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 24 2013, 06:45 PM)
This is interesting.

What if I root, but never claim warranty?

But I doubt they'll outlaw it.

to TS: Go read up on warranty claims and rooting.
TSjrshow
post Mar 24 2013, 06:56 PM

2,186 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 24 2013, 06:48 PM)
Um, please ask Uncle Google.
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

0.0197sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:01 AM