Knuckle vs palm push ups

TSdywx07045
post Mar 24 2013, 10:11 AM, updated 13y ago

112 posts

Which 1 do you use? I usually use palm push ups but i have serious pain on the wrist after the workout day, so i changed using knuckle (as suggested by scoobysworkshop.com ), but my reps decreases to 30+ (usually can tahan till 50 when using palm) sad.gif
myremi
post Mar 24 2013, 07:52 PM

1,846 posts

Your wrist is directly below your shoulders? That's the strongest alignment when arm is straight 90 degress and less tension on your wrist. Then roll your wrist after the pushups to get the circulation back.

Nothing beats getting yelled at by a tall lady coach about wrist alignment during planking and push-ups.

You can try resting your palm on folded towels or mat but it may be harder because now you have an uneven surface to balance on.
TSdywx07045
post Mar 24 2013, 10:00 PM

112 posts

Well, i did 2 types, directly below shoulders and the other one, fist/palm near my waist to train for the lower pecs, thats the one that put alot of Pressure on my wrist sweat.gif

This post has been edited by dywx07045: Mar 24 2013, 10:00 PM
myremi
post Mar 25 2013, 08:49 AM

1,846 posts

No wonder your wrist is hurting. Try the video below to help loosen up. Use either a ball or one of those spiky reflexology mat. What she's using in the video is called Foot Wakers which is like RM300+ to get shipped here so I don't think you wanna pay for that.

When I did this, there's a sudden relief on my wrist, elbows and shoulders. Especially shoulders but the wrist too.
wts6819
post Mar 26 2013, 01:50 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(dywx07045 @ Mar 24 2013, 10:11 AM)
Which 1 do you use? I usually use palm push ups but i have serious pain on the wrist after the workout day, so i changed using knuckle (as suggested by scoobysworkshop.com ), but my reps decreases to 30+ (usually can tahan till 50 when using palm) sad.gif
Perhaps you should try using Push Up bar or dumbbell. It's work better and u can do much more variation. I'm using dumbbell in the gym for my push up exercise as well.
TSdywx07045
post Mar 26 2013, 10:40 PM

112 posts

Thanks for all the suggestions, will try them for the next few days ! biggrin.gif
darklight79
post Mar 27 2013, 08:59 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Fisting is usually harder. I prefer the traditional style. I find that fisting is kinda uncomfortable.

Not the floor. Your knuckles.
Killerjeff88
post Mar 29 2013, 03:29 PM

Climb, Lift, Dance, Sing, Cook, Eat, Play, Sleep
602 posts

depends. for me since i have wrist injury, knuckle is easier with less strain.

0.0166sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:35 AM