** Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V8 **, Stock Android's Awesomeness!

skip2malou
post Mar 26 2013, 05:13 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(AweFace @ Mar 23 2013, 06:44 PM)
I heard the battery life is short,need to charge everyday?
I tot all smart phones are like that biggrin.gif hahaha ... as long as you are using 3G you will be ...

Have been playing game like a mad man on my nexus 4 ... charging 2 times a day lol ... bad bad for my battery sweat.gif

QUOTE(josh. @ Mar 23 2013, 10:32 PM)
No. the SNSD thread is the fastest.
LOL ... dont think Nexus 4 can replace SNSD tongue.gif

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Mar 25 2013, 01:34 PM)
Just received my bumper from tskhor,the quality is OK,but the can feel the back biggrin.gif
I got my casing from him as well. Trusted seller laugh.gif

QUOTE(devinz @ Mar 25 2013, 04:45 PM)
First day usage of xylon with Franco...
Full 3G usages..
and still has 25% left ... I should really flash my phone ... unsure.gif

skip2malou
post Mar 26 2013, 06:25 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Mar 26 2013, 05:39 PM)
My battery life so far with mostlymixture of 3G & WiFi. Turned on WiFi until now from 1.30pm till now. Mostly surfing via Chrome + Candy Crush + roughly 1 hour++ of Hot spot tethering.

Franco r111 is gooding thumbup.gif

[attachmentid=3365274]

[attachmentid=3365275]

[attachmentid=3365276]
Hmmm , i cant seem to see the picture ... am I the only one ? blink.gif

QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ Mar 26 2013, 05:40 PM)
yes bro. lai lai flash. unleash the beast behind this phone biggrin.gif
Hahaha ... just a quick check before I proceed with this ... If in the end , I do not like the custom ROM, can i recover it back to original ROM and Kernel ? I remember reading it somewhere if I do not backup my own image I will end up not being able to recover to original ROM and Kernel .. Is this true ? Or I can always get them somewhere ...

Time for me to unleash the phone's true power ... drool.gif
skip2malou
post Apr 5 2013, 10:04 PM

238 posts

Dear All,

I have just lost my Nexus 4 about 1 or 2 hours ago ... could you guys advice me is there anyway I can trace it using the GPS on the phone ?

Thanks ... Any help would be great ...

I am super sad right now ...
skip2malou
post Apr 5 2013, 10:13 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(Norameen @ Apr 5 2013, 10:10 PM)
do u install any antitheft apps?such as cerberus?avast?
unfortunately no ... i do not have that installed ...

My GPS should still be turned on though ...

I think I left it at the place where I dine in awhile ago and I checked in at that place and did not turn off my GPS
skip2malou
post Apr 5 2013, 10:26 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(FuuuuuuD @ Apr 5 2013, 10:23 PM)
Sorry to hear that man,  did you go back to the place? Try calling?
Tried calling but no answer ... went back to the place but no phone found ...

I tried to push a few apps to my phone but the problem is they all need it to be registered.

Any other way I can locate it ?
skip2malou
post Apr 5 2013, 10:56 PM

238 posts

OH GOD !!! THANK GOD !!! I JUST FOUND MY PHONE !!! MY PHONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My nexus baby is back in my arms now !!!! OH GOD ... she is still a virgin some more !!!

Anyways ... thank you everyone for your concerns ..

One last question.

What is the best app for tracing lost phones ? I will need to install that ... from now onwards ....
skip2malou
post Apr 5 2013, 11:45 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Apr 5 2013, 10:57 PM)
Congratulations  rclxms.gif  Oh yeah turning on data helps in tracing right? hmm.gif
QUOTE(Norameen @ Apr 5 2013, 11:02 PM)
lucky you...there are a few..but i only know cerberus....this one is paid apps...and avast is free and reliable...btw how u manage to get back ur phone?
QUOTE(IMfae_ @ Apr 5 2013, 11:31 PM)
Hahahhahh.... I'm cheering you on this.
How did you get it back?? Lookout seems pretty okay for track back device if stolen or lost. I think one of our device benefit is the battery is not replaceable. Because if got lost no one can remove the battery with the intention to prevent it from ringing or beeping loudly. So I'd +1
QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Apr 5 2013, 11:38 PM)
Do share the details! Would love to hear!  rclxms.gif
--------------------------------------------------------------

Btw, here's my review on the case that I posted just now.

It feels nice although it only contains single layer, rubber on sides hardshell + rubber behind.

one this I love about it, it has rubber cover for both headphone jack and charging port.

It even has some kind of "web" to cover both the noise cancellation speakers!

with price $8, I give it 8/10 and 2 for only single layer.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/300870694936?ssPag...984.m1497.l2649

Thanks you guys for the feedback.

Luckily the person who pickup it up is super duper kind to return me the phone ... oh god !!! It was a super nice aunty from the restaurant ! Will need to go back there more often to eat and tip her !

Will do more research on the few of the apps you guys mention and give it a try.

QUOTE(devinz @ Apr 5 2013, 10:32 PM)
Me me me. Include me too!!!
Hmm this look nice though... Any GB?
Sorry, I am lost here, what are you are you guys planning to group purchase ?

This post has been edited by skip2malou: Apr 5 2013, 11:50 PM
skip2malou
post Apr 9 2013, 10:47 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 6 2013, 04:50 PM)
Few of the good things with Cerberus is, most notable as mention-ed by azrash is the root and disguise mode which'll survive flashing. But a few otheradvantages that I noticed is that Cerberus comes with multiple mode of tracking/remote controlling - either via the Internet or via SMS commands (which'll be deleted and hidden from the user upon receiving the command so they'll not be alerted or notified, just tested it myself).

So if they disabled Mobile Data or WiFi, you can simply use the SMS command to re-enable it and continue tracking. Haven't tried the root flashable version (which enables GPS automatically) yet.

Noticed one flaw tho, it'll most likely help in recovering the device if it was dropped without anyone picking up / good guys pick it up as in the lock screen (even with Pin or Pattern lock), one could just simply turn the device off by holding the power button for 1~2 seconds; or force reboot by holding the power button for ~8-10 seconds which would render Cerberus useless.

Still it comes down to the conclusion that if the device is powered-off; or the thief is a power-user who have the knowledge of flashing / rooting / etc (less likely tho); Cerebus is rendered useless sad.gif

*Note: It's been quite some time since I last tested / tried those theft-protection apps; as previously most just plainly suck including HTC Sense's. No mobile data or internet = good bye; or factory reset = good bye.

So my opinions are rather more to first-hand experience/opinions instead of comparison reviews

Awesome info ! Thanks a lot for the sharing !
skip2malou
post Apr 10 2013, 06:47 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 10 2013, 01:05 AM)
You're most welcomed smile.gif

Been having it on my phone for few days already and tbh, it just feels like it's not there (especially if you've used the disguised version + hide it from app drawer). No battery drains too, except if I activated it and start tracking my phone laugh.gif
QUOTE(Norameen @ Apr 10 2013, 01:24 AM)
i have a real experience using cerberus on my nexus s day..and cerberus did save my phone..feel free to read it here...

Cerberusfunction
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 10 2013, 01:29 AM)
Good thing that it saved your wife's device! I had a very similar experience with yours, which only realizing that she lost her device at least 30minutes ~ 1hours later (was at cinema, wasn't even sure when she lost her phone).

That time I seriously regretted that I did not install any of the anti-theft apps, even if it's just a slightest hope of recovering the device (but mainly due to most app just sucks that time, and I wasn't aware of Cerberus until azrash mentioned it here).

My opinion is, investing RM12 for a protection of your device (or multiple devices) which easily cost more than thousands, is definitely worth it IMO. Even if it doesn't guarantee to recover a lost device for you, at least there are chances of recovering which are definitely better as compared with NIL, ZERO, NONE, NULL chances of recovering a lost device cry.gif

If you don't mind me asking, in your post
Is it someone that you know; or it's just that you happened to know who's the thief? How come never lodge report blink.gif
I see I see thank you guys for sharing your experiencing here. I will spend the few ringgit as I think it will be worth it.

0.0342sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:12 AM