[WTA] Bodybuilding Help

TSDrEaMmyZ
post Mar 19 2013, 06:33 PM, updated 13y ago

418 posts

I am 16 years old this year. Been eating much each day and workout.
But it seems that I am still very thin ( arms quite thin , chest can barely see some rib bone ) and not much muscle had developed.
Is it with the problem that I ate wrongly ?
I always eat rice with a few dishes ( like most Chinese families eat at restaurants ) at home.
Every morning I will drink a cup of milk and a bowl of oatmeal plus some bread.
Sometimes I will have supper but rarely though.
I eat 3/4 times a day.

I worked out by doing pushups, situps and jogging. Is this enough or I need more ?
I can only do workout at home and can't go to gym.
Can someone introduce me some other workouts to do at home if my current workout is not enough ?
Do I need to buy dumbbells etc ?
playstan211
post Mar 19 2013, 06:52 PM

352 posts

read the sticky.
TSDrEaMmyZ
post Mar 19 2013, 07:18 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(playstan211 @ Mar 19 2013, 06:52 PM)
read the sticky.
I did but I cant get most of the food from the mass gaining thread...
And those deadlifts i just cant do it in home right
VeeJay
post Mar 19 2013, 07:19 PM

3,854 posts

This I really need to know, since you are long term member in Lyn.

Why didnt you search or read stickies before opening this thread?

I need a honest answer here, I'm really confused. Fine, its a new dumb newbie, but being in this forum since 2011!
harris92
post Mar 19 2013, 07:21 PM

-
536 posts

A pair a dumbbells will indeed come in handy once you outgrow bodyweight exercises.

And I'm pretty sure you can learn to cook eggs for protein, and find a healthy source of carbs to gain weight from.

Ps. If you're still thin, it means you're not eating enough. Find how many calories does your body burn every day, and consume an excess of that.

This post has been edited by harris92: Mar 19 2013, 07:22 PM
McDBigMaC
post Mar 19 2013, 09:01 PM

479 posts

If you can't go to a gym, pull ups in the park is a good choice if you don't planning to get dumbbell etc.
darklight79
post Mar 20 2013, 01:56 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(DrEaMmyZ @ Mar 19 2013, 06:33 PM)
I am 16 years old this year. Been eating much each day and workout.
But it seems that I am still very thin ( arms quite thin , chest can barely see some rib bone )  and not much muscle had developed.
Is it with the problem that I ate wrongly ?
I always eat rice with a few dishes ( like most Chinese families eat at restaurants ) at home.
Every morning I will drink a cup of milk and a bowl of oatmeal plus some bread.
Sometimes I will have supper but rarely though.
I eat 3/4 times a day.

I worked out by doing pushups, situps and jogging. Is this enough or I need more ?
I can only do workout at home and can't go to gym.
Can someone introduce me some other workouts to do at home if my current workout is not enough ?
Do I need to buy dumbbells etc ?
Hmmm.... makes me consider adding new stuff to the existing sticky thread for people like you, as in for home workouts, bw exercises, etc. Will get to it shortly.
TSDrEaMmyZ
post Mar 20 2013, 02:57 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 20 2013, 01:56 AM)
Hmmm.... makes me consider adding new stuff to the existing sticky thread for people like you, as in for home workouts, bw exercises, etc. Will get to it shortly.
Thanks smile.gif
helven
post Mar 20 2013, 03:14 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

There is a godly word to aid you in search
"alternative"

google/youtube deadlift alternative, xxx alternative and stuff should get you something. Have you done ur macro? If not how u benchmark urself your are eating alot?
thekid94
post Mar 20 2013, 03:47 PM

38 posts

in my opinion, no hating on me ya'll. cuz i was once like you. thin, we're known as hard gainers. basically you need to eat even more than what you're eating now. in my opinion. if there aint no changes still, then you just have to increase the intensity of your workout. example : pull ups. lets say at the park, ya doing bout 3-4 sets of 10 reps, and ur resting for a very long period approx. 2 mins? . try reducing the resting time to 30seconds - 1min and continue the next set. that should do it. smile.gif and if you still not getting any gains, try using some extra weights in ur training. like putting some textbooks into ur school bag and wear it while doing push ups. this is just an example i just came out with.
darklight79
post Mar 20 2013, 04:40 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(thekid94 @ Mar 20 2013, 03:47 PM)
in my opinion, no hating on me ya'll. cuz i was once like you. thin, we're known as hard gainers. basically you need to eat even more than what you're eating now. in my opinion. if there aint no changes still, then you just have to increase the intensity of your workout. example : pull ups. lets say at the park, ya doing bout 3-4 sets of 10 reps, and ur resting for a very long period approx. 2 mins? . try reducing the resting time to 30seconds - 1min and continue the next set. that should do it. smile.gif and if you still not getting any gains, try using some extra weights in ur training. like putting some textbooks into ur school bag and wear it while doing push ups. this is just an example i just came out with.
General rule of thumb is.... IF one is looking to BULK properly:-

If your lifting poundages are going up but you're not getting bigger, you need to fix your diet.

If you're getting bigger but your poundages are not going up, you need to fix your training program.

Of course it's overly simplified but imma noob so what do I know.
lilredridinghood
post Mar 20 2013, 04:43 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 20 2013, 04:40 PM)

If your lifting poundages are going up but you're not getting bigger, you need to fix your diet.

If you're getting bigger but your poundages are not going up, you need to fix your training program.

Noob? shocking.gif shakehead.gif

You lazy je tongue.gif
darklight79
post Mar 20 2013, 05:01 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Mar 20 2013, 04:43 PM)
Noob?  shocking.gif  shakehead.gif

You lazy je tongue.gif
o0o

You think I'm mikehuan is it. So genetically gifted can metabolize alcohol like an on off switch. Pre and post workout, breakfast, etc.
lilredridinghood
post Mar 20 2013, 05:10 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 20 2013, 05:01 PM)
o0o

You think I'm mikehuan is it. So genetically gifted can metabolize alcohol like an on off switch. Pre and post workout, breakfast, etc.
mikehuan? that guy is unbelievable, maybe u have that as well? You too safe. Try Guinness with raw eggs for a change.

I hear Guinness can help burn fats, then again, that's from abang mike and u know that he's on a different league
thekid94
post Mar 20 2013, 07:41 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 20 2013, 04:40 PM)

haha i was just giving examples only. besides, like you said, in order to bulk properly, we need to lift properly/heavier if our muscles are not growing. but if we are getting bigger by a bit during a period of time, there are problems with the training program. either if ur workout form is good or bad OR you're not working out properly.

0.0225sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:32 AM