Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL offcial thread V4, now selling

fx_53_xt
post Mar 20 2013, 12:15 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Mar 19 2013, 10:22 PM)
one small question, seem like no Dk26 charging dock available in Msia?? How come geh??
Anyone know when will it available to be purchase?
It's not here yet
fx_53_xt
post Mar 20 2013, 02:41 PM

2,048 posts

This map thing in the background sucking all the power is really annoying.
Does anyone else has this?
I've tried reverting back to older version, reinstall it, and its still happening.

fx_53_xt
post Mar 20 2013, 02:46 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(GP mad man @ Mar 20 2013, 02:44 PM)
weird  hmm.gif
should be "screen" at first place followed by android system...
mine is screen>candy crush>android>etc
All my other device power usage is as you mentioned, heck all my other device has latitude and location reporting switched on all the time and maps never concerned me as power sucker.
My XZ never lasted more than 12 hours no matter how little i use it and its always maps being the champion murderer.

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Mar 20 2013, 02:48 PM
fx_53_xt
post Mar 24 2013, 04:47 AM

2,048 posts

Gosh, 3 days and 50 pages? damn.

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Mar 21 2013, 01:03 PM)
Anyone here can get the schematics of the dock? If we can find out how to wire the microUSB to the 2 pin input at the side of the XZ, i think we can make our own Qi charger or we can make our own dock =D
I just ordered 5 sets of pogo pins from RS today. Plan to do a DIY like they did over in XDA. tongue.gif

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Mar 21 2013, 04:15 PM)
Crap mine is JDC sad.gif

Viewing angle isnt that good. But I've yet to see a Sharp one tho
Mine is jDC as well.

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Mar 21 2013, 04:19 PM)
Sorry, this might be a little off-topic.

4. Did you guys try Playstation Mobile? I tried signing up but it doesn't work as they mentioned that the service is not available in Malaysia, what gives?

Thank you =)
Just select USA. But there's really nothing much in the PSM. Play Store has much better games and cheaper too.

fx_53_xt
post Mar 24 2013, 04:49 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ Mar 21 2013, 10:17 PM)
I didn't pay very close attention but later after doing my three LTE speedtest.net tests and being logged onto LTE network for about 5-8mins, I noticed my battery had dropped about 15-20%. I have read somewhere the LTE networks drain a lot of battery power but this is insane. I can imagine future phones may need at least 3,500 Mah rating batteries and above to effectively last at least half a day for LTE usage.
QUOTE(nasiayam @ Mar 22 2013, 03:19 AM)
i drove around ttdi juz now to try the LTE, but can't detect it  sad.gif

i went to klcc last week to ask bout lte activation, they say no nid activation or change sim card, it will automatic switch to it when detected, my sim card 4-5 years d, can use hsdpa

confirmed that the setting is "LTE (preferred)/WCDMA/GSM" d

so i need to call maxis customer service to ask them activate lte for me? or maybe change sim?
QUOTE(nasiayam @ Mar 24 2013, 03:57 AM)
more than 4 years d, the maxis center i went and the customer rep i spoke to all insist the sim card is fine to run lte

seems like to know whose the culprit need to test a sim card that is proven can run lte on my phone and trying my sim card on a phone that confirm can run lte, to see which is the problem
Maxis staffs knowledge on LTE is laughable. I went to get the LTE activated in TTDI and its an frustrating hour spent.

On the phone:
CS1 - LTE only works on phone purchased from Maxis (false)
CS2 - LTE activates automatically when you're in LTE coverage using a phone with LTE band 7 (partially false)

Over at TTDI:
TTDI Staff 1 - Your phone doesn't support Maxis LTE.
Me - It does, and I think it has something to do with my SIM
TTDI Staff 1 - So you wanna change your SIM card, go look for staff no.2? (giving me a SIM damaged replacement form with RM25 charges)
TTDI Staff 2 - fill up the form please
Me - My SIM card is not damaged, I just want LTE activated on my phone.
TTDI Staff 2 - Ohh, no SIM card change is needed. Just go to 1st floor and look for the technical staff, they will help you to configure your phone to use LTE.
Me - ok
TTDI Staff 3 - You need a new SIM card for LTE, and we need to configure from our end too.
Me - I do?
TTDI Staff 2 - Ya kah? !@#$%+_)(*&^%$
TTDI Staff 3 - Issue a new Micro SIM, LTE works right away.

From what i gather, your old SIM card, manually cut out Micro SIM, will not be able to register onto Maxis LTE. You'll need the NEW wholly white color Micro SIM for LTE to work. And if you already has that but still can't hop onto LTE, you'll need to inform customer service for technical department to configure from their end.

After getting it done, i did approximately 10 speed tests with speed hovering around 20Mbps to 30Mbps for both upload and download, with excellent ping of <50ms. Quite impressive i must say. But a total of 280MB of my data was sucked by speedtest.net just to perform these speed test which was done in less than 5 minutes.

Battery wise its draining faster than 3G/HSPA, but definitely not 20% drop in 5 minutes.

QUOTE(gouken @ Mar 22 2013, 08:12 PM)
Can some one with XZ help me check if the youtube videos at sites like the verge or soyacincau can be loaded when using chrome. No problem at youtube.com and engadget site, just these two and some others sites. Thanks!
i had problems with chrome doing HTML5 too. Chrome keeps crashing when i load iCloud. It was find on Nexus 4.

QUOTE(philip42 @ Mar 22 2013, 09:34 PM)
Why is my cpu says armv7 in antutu?
ARM v7 is the instruction set used by the processor, not processor version.

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Mar 24 2013, 04:51 AM
fx_53_xt
post Mar 24 2013, 04:50 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 23 2013, 06:19 PM)
Unplanned purchase of Xperia Z. Sony Centre Midvalley lured me by giving me free NFC speaker and also promised a Sony portable charger if I purchase with Maybank card, but only white Xperia Z is available. Only came to know that the NFC speaker is currently out of stock till April and portable charger is purchase-with-purchase at RM99. The salesman compensated the mistake with a laptop bag. To make up for everyone's day, I just gladly taken my new white Xperia Z

I actually wanted black. huhu sad.gif
QUOTE(squall0833 @ Mar 22 2013, 03:59 PM)
Celcom now only have White color Z ??

it force you to get white color

I am so disappointed sad.gif
I want white !!!! but they only had black. Aih.

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 22 2013, 12:30 AM)
w
weekday - pyramid  brows.gif
y all bug me for landyard???  sweat.gif  doh.gif
I have plenty of them. Haha

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Mar 24 2013, 04:52 AM
fx_53_xt
post Mar 24 2013, 01:19 PM

2,048 posts

Some LTE test result from last week

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Mar 24 2013, 01:20 PM
fx_53_xt
post Mar 24 2013, 01:41 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Mar 24 2013, 01:32 PM)
Demm, im jelly. Btw only maxis currently got lte right? How bout celcom?
Celcom currently only has LTE "experience" signal at two kiosks located at Sunway Pyramid and Menara TM.

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Mar 24 2013, 01:32 PM)
oh god, LTE speed is 28x faster than my streamxy... lol.
hopefully there are LTE tower in penang island/mainland area.
I'm transferring to Penang next month onwards and hoping for the same thing too.
fx_53_xt
post Mar 24 2013, 01:42 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(EdEd @ Mar 24 2013, 01:40 PM)
For people still trying to get LTE, last week i went to Maxis TTDI and they insist that LTE is not ready for any devices other than their own HTC One XL  and Nokia Lumia 920, so i argued abit and said other people already using it but they show me bullshit face.

123 customer service say its imposible to get LTE because:-
1.) Im not using their "4G Phones"
2.) Im on iValue plan, which does not support 4G

This week i went there again and instead of asking them to activate my LTE, i asked for a sim replacement.

After waiting for 1 hour, i finally got my turn. while waiting for the guy to get my new sim i asked one more time, and this guy also said LTE wont support other phone.

As soon as i got my new microsim, I poped it in and LTE Shows up. Then i went to show it on the guy's face.

However while trying to upload a picture on facebook it says "LTE is not supported on your device" other than that everything is smooth and fast. Speedtest @ 34mbps
As i mentioned, Maxis staffs is not equipped with sufficient knowledge on LTE at all.
Someone should pin up an instruction on how to get the LTE done the right way instead of arguing with staffs who knows nothing.
fx_53_xt
post Mar 24 2013, 03:49 PM

2,048 posts

Time for some portrait: When Zach meets Zack

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Mar 24 2013, 06:15 PM
fx_53_xt
post Mar 24 2013, 05:03 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 24 2013, 04:46 PM)
LTE elsewhere unknown n uncertain. I hope in next 2 years we can see more coverage
Once you experienced it you will hate the current 3g/h+ download speeds
LTE definitely will be deployed nationwide, just pray that the roll out will be rapid.
And you're right, the superb latency of LTE just made me scream.
Hope that performance figure stays as the number of users grow.

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Mar 24 2013, 05:03 PM
fx_53_xt
post Mar 24 2013, 05:32 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Mar 24 2013, 05:24 PM)
yeah..
sorry to inform but penang island wont be receiving any LTE right now..
if you mean mainland, there are a few places that already received LTE update by Digi..
check out their schedule..

http://www.digi.com.my/tomorrownetwork/schedule.html
Someone already posted a comprehensive list of LTE coverage area and i know penang is not one of it. I just hope maxis rolling it out fast enough.

Digi on the other hand has been promoting non stop about their LTE site upgrade but actual service is nowhere to be seen, typical Digi's cock talking louder than action. Equipment upgrades is still a long way from actual green lightning the service. By the time Digi finish "upgrading" their site, other telco probably already has more actual usable LTE base than Digi does.
fx_53_xt
post Mar 25 2013, 12:28 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 25 2013, 10:59 AM)
Hey guys,

I read many reviews say Sony Z is battery hog and it cannot really last very long. What your views on this?

And if apply screen protector, will it reduce sensitivity on the touch scren?
Coming from Motorola, the battery isn't up to expectation. Heck coming from motorola, none of the battery life of any phone on market is up to the standard. But as many mentioned, the stamina mode works really well during standby, so i can still bear with that

QUOTE(matt3773 @ Mar 25 2013, 11:39 AM)
After updated to .434 the wifi signal sometimes dropped and sometimes been disconnected

did u guys also have this problem?
Mine works just fine.
fx_53_xt
post Mar 25 2013, 08:21 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(CyborgR @ Mar 25 2013, 02:57 PM)
check in please: xz - black owner

and then i wanna ask fellow sifu, how to disable the auto save picture in whatapps. it suck everytime i send/share picture another duplicate come out in the album again. help please
The problem lies within the Sony Album apps which doesn't obey Android's .nomedia exclusion rules.
If you're keen on keeping photos from whatsapp but do not want it to show up in photo gallery, the only way is to use other apps.

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 25 2013, 03:39 PM)
got other brand other than nilikin? or is it the most best quality?
Martin Field and SGP.

0.0208sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:23 AM