Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL offcial thread V4, now selling

daijoubu
post Mar 19 2013, 06:53 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

QUOTE(chinook @ Mar 19 2013, 06:36 PM)
My phone's never been dunked and it looks 'foggy' (the LED flash).

Reason is coz the LED flash used in the phone has a plastic piece over the LED module that gives it the blur effect. It's not water, don't worry.

Used a few of those LEDs during college so yea, I'm pretty sure about this.
Sony uses a diffuser sheet over the Led so that the lights will not be so sharp. It is normal and isn't vapor
daijoubu
post Mar 20 2013, 10:49 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Mar 20 2013, 10:46 AM)
Hmm.. i would like to know this as well.
200 points for RM1?
Yes 200TP/RM1 conversion rate.
I've redeemed RM1000 for my Xperia Z =D
daijoubu
post Mar 21 2013, 01:03 PM

5,193 posts

Anyone here can get the schematics of the dock? If we can find out how to wire the microUSB to the 2 pin input at the side of the XZ, i think we can make our own Qi charger or we can make our own dock =D
daijoubu
post Mar 21 2013, 01:31 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Mar 21 2013, 01:06 PM)
Internet got selling wireless Qi charging for xperia z, with case pin to the 2pin. Usd 100++. Expensive.
Yup saw that but don't like the casing ma. If I can make my own charger using the 2 pins and cram into my own casing that'll be better =D
daijoubu
post Mar 21 2013, 02:08 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 21 2013, 01:52 PM)
Those who pm me, later I reply.. My car tyre kena nail :c
So suey? sad.gif
daijoubu
post Mar 21 2013, 04:15 PM

5,193 posts

Crap mine is JDC sad.gif

Viewing angle isnt that good. But I've yet to see a Sharp one tho
daijoubu
post Mar 21 2013, 05:28 PM

5,193 posts

Weird Mine is JDC from SenQ

Seems like there is no pattern based on batch or manufacturer or distributor.

But based on XDA, most seem to get Sharp. And i recall a while that there was this comparison where Sharp looks superior, but as of late, reading through XDA, seems like now JDC is better?

I think its safe to say, the variety between each panel within the same manufacturer (whether JDC or Sharp) is bigger, than across manufacturers. You could get a good JDC, or a bad JDC, or a good Sharp, or a bad Sharp.

Its better to just not care. As long as you are happy with it =D
daijoubu
post Mar 26 2013, 08:45 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Mar 25 2013, 10:59 PM)
can the skmm be used with installment payment?
Yes it can be used smile.gif
daijoubu
post Mar 26 2013, 10:59 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(gouken @ Mar 26 2013, 10:04 PM)
Like what others had said, depends on your budget, if the few hundreds is a lot to you, ZL will be a better bargain for having most of the important specs and features. Color-wise, the ZL white looks much nicer and elegant than black. The plastic pattern at the back of the black 'exacerbates' the plastic-ness of the phone. Give that same Samsung's plasticky feel in Galaxy Nexus. The smooth back of the white compliments nicely with the silver Xperia logo, giving the same high quality plastic feel like those Lumia phones. In fact, I like the white ZL more than the black Z but I picked the Z over ZL because i'm constantly exposed to "water-danger" area and i really dislike some of the asymmetry and almost afterthought design elements of ZL, really deal breakers for me.

The micro USB is the worst offender, its ugly and not centered, and bulge on all the wrong places.  doh.gif

The sim opening at the back really spoils the cleanness of the design, i don't understand how they can do it in Z and thinner some more. Almost felt as if the top SONY fella instructed the designer to make it look crappy after they completed the design because its cheaper. Looks worst in black.  rclxub.gif
The sim and microsd slots on the Z are covered by flaps
On the ZL, I think they do not want to put flaps, thus why they had to put it behind. Pity the cover wasnt designed better. But you lose some u win some. Because of this, the ZL is the smallest 5" phone out there. Smaller in outline than even the 4.7 Galaxy S3. I think its quite a feat
daijoubu
post Mar 28 2013, 06:40 PM

5,193 posts

Coming from a SGS2, I can appreciate AMOLED's superior viewing angles, but i definitely now hate their contrast and overly vivid colour. Their display looks very cartoonish.

daijoubu
post Apr 4 2013, 12:34 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Apr 3 2013, 02:03 PM)
This is my lock screen. Customised it so that I can perform most of my most needed functions from the lockscreen itself. You see the notification row at the bottom for emails chats etc? When I touch on it and slide up, I will open the related app. You see the "arrows" around the lock circle? Touching on them will reveal a few other programs.

Another view showing three of the "circles" being activated showing the programs that can be quick launched from lockscreen.

Home screen is very boring. It just has my agenda right smack in the middle so that I can keep track of what I need to do.

Opening my app drawer will reveal this main menu where I have everything all laid out.

Of course, LMT launcher <3
Bro, what lockscreen and agenda are u using? smile.gif
daijoubu
post Apr 4 2013, 08:32 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Apr 4 2013, 08:11 AM)
When will you be expecting to make the shift to the Xperia Z?
I am giving TomTom South East Asia a trial run first before buying it. It supports high resolution as well as lane assist. Best of all, TomTom is designed well for landscape usage, which is good as our dock is landscape. Only down is, USD 62.47..  cry.gif

I like the voice navigation, and the information given on screen is useful. Only thing I am evaluating is the map.
Lockscreen is WidgetLocker Lockscreen.., so everything you see on it has been customised by myself to give it the look, feel and functionality I want.

Battery Bar at the top:
Customised using Minimalistic Text.

Clock is ClockQ

Bottom notification done using Missed It!

For all my arrows/lock buttons to access a program, I chose the ICS slider function of WidgetLocker. So essentially, I have 10 ICS sliders there. 1 central one with the lock icon. 4 around it with the arrows, and 5 at the bottom (one for each missed it task + arrow in the middle).

Take not though, this was customised before I discovered Slidebar Pro. With that, I can remove some of them now to clear clutter if need be, but not my top priority. biggrin.gif
Thanks bro =D. It looks really good, bet you put in quite a lot of work to get it to look like that.
One more, how about the agenda? What app did you use? smile.gif

Thanks!

0.0226sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:21 PM