Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL offcial thread V4, now selling
Najmods
Mar 19 2013, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 19 2013, 08:50 PM) I am surviving without SP , more than 2 weeks already. Anyway I never like to use SP on my phones I used various phones without any protection, no screen protector, no case at all. And never had any bad things happen to it either, no scratches, no dent whatsoever. I really hate the shatter proof screen protector but since its there and the glass itself is not oleophobic coated I'm not bother removing it. Although I do have a cheap way to make the screen fingerprint proof but for a short time, by applying rain repellant like Rain-X on the glass
Najmods
Mar 20 2013, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(philip42 @ Mar 20 2013, 12:53 PM) its the shatter proof sheet that is easily scratchable , so need to apply sp asap to prevent scratches on it . It's not easily scratched unless you intentionally scratch on it  I don't know why people ever bother with screen protector and case nowadays that phone got every bit of protection it got (drop resistant, water resistant etc.) I guess people are just paranoid about it.
Najmods
Mar 20 2013, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(little-sama @ Mar 20 2013, 01:03 PM) My back plastic cover and the SP already having lots of scratches and i didnt intentionally scratch it... Still wonder how badly is it? And where did you put it that it can actually accumulates those scratches? QUOTE(uzary @ Mar 20 2013, 01:10 PM) from my experience using arc without sp, that anti shatter film demm easily scratch, but it doesnt matter, can replace the anti shatter anytime. the problem with xperia z(not sure same case for ZL) is that the sony logo itself printed on that film, meaning if u wana replace it, the sony logo also will be gone.(it matters to some people e.g me  dunwan to lose the logo) and unless some company will make a sp with sony logo printed on it, it is advisable to keep that anti shatter fill unscratched.  I guess soon manufacturer will start engrave Sony logos on it. But it didn't matter to me one bit as I prefer clean design without any sort of logo. I hate the shatter proof protector because it easily accumulate dust on it and hard to clean
Najmods
Mar 20 2013, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(weileong @ Mar 20 2013, 01:31 PM) i root with stock rom , but u got to careful with some of easy root matter which will cause NFC not working . Its easy to fix the NFC not working bug, there is a thread on it on XDADeveloper forum. Just need to delete /data/usf folder and you are good to go
Najmods
Mar 22 2013, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(weileong @ Mar 22 2013, 03:00 PM) just update to latest firmware 10.1.A.1.434...and reroot again.. any significant update on this firmware ? didn't manage to find the change log. Reroot? I don't need to reroot after the OTA update to .434
Najmods
Mar 22 2013, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(yujirorasy @ Mar 22 2013, 03:34 PM) i root with locked bootloader, can still update without problem ?  Of course, That is what I just did. Even with unlocked bootloader you can still do OTA update.
Najmods
Mar 23 2013, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(lynx10101 @ Mar 23 2013, 07:36 AM) My ZL feel very hot below rear camera side after 30minutes normal usage. Is it normal? QUOTE(gofey @ Mar 23 2013, 11:24 AM) I got this problem as well and I posted in here asking before but seem no one replies me and maybe they don't face this issue? Btw I'm using xperia z Of course its getting warm, there's quad core CPU inside running 1.5GHz among various other things that develop heat. I find it kinda annoying that's why I rooted it and use SetCPU to lower it's speed. Still warm though.
Najmods
Mar 23 2013, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(kingvui78 @ Mar 23 2013, 12:12 PM) Its better to undervolt then lower cpu speed, here is my temperature after running 10 minutes antutu stability test You running custom kernel aren't you? QUOTE(Lucidus @ Mar 23 2013, 12:20 PM) Is there any harm in just letting the phone be hot as it is? There isn't any to the system but the battery could wear faster because of heat.
Najmods
Mar 23 2013, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(kingvui78 @ Mar 23 2013, 12:42 PM) Ya, DooMkernel V2, it's stable kernel also, I'm using it since I installed custom ROM That's the problem, there isn't any for Xperia ZL yet
Najmods
Mar 23 2013, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Mar 23 2013, 01:59 PM) I got to say that the thread is moving REALLY REALLY FAST, I was back at page 30+ and had to read all the pages, LOL! You don't have to, the page move so fats is because the reason being the thread grows like hell is because: 1) People who wanted/planned/undecided to buy this keeps posting asking opinion and such 2) People who wanted to buy SP/case/dock for it and still haven't got it yet, either rage or keep asking when it will arrive or 'PM'ed" post 3) People talk random things
Najmods
Mar 24 2013, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 24 2013, 07:26 PM) I really get tired wrist by using the Xperia Z, it's big and heavy, not ergonomic .... Main reason why I'd opt for ZL instead of Z. I choose ergonomic over bling any time of the day. It's not because of the weight, more of the boxy shape of it with no contour for your hand to grasp on it. ZL is heavier than the Z but I don't feel the weight at all and feel so comfortable on hand because of the contour and textured back. On a side note I don't like the stock Xperia launcher as it can get laggy at times, changed to stock 4.2 JellyBean launcher and it's smooth as butter
Najmods
Mar 24 2013, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(k@|i0s @ Mar 24 2013, 07:50 PM) How to change to stock jb launcher? Just Google for stock JellyBean launcher, it's not that hard to find
Najmods
Mar 24 2013, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(k@|i0s @ Mar 24 2013, 09:27 PM) Stupid question,how to set led notifications color? You could use Light Flow apps to change notification color
Najmods
Mar 25 2013, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(mwu @ Mar 25 2013, 07:29 AM) I went through a few Sony centre n check the version they r selling for Xperia ZL, n all r C6502 model, their storekeeper also confirm that that's a LTE version, but I check the phone spec online n I thought only C6503 comes v LTE. So anyone that purchase ZL from Sony centre are u able to use the LTE? Like benny said all C6502 are non LTE, that means all original set in Malaysia is non LTE no matter what that storekeeper said.
Najmods
Mar 26 2013, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(gouken @ Mar 26 2013, 12:43 PM) I actually wished they do the same for the back xperia logo hehe.. Yup I would like the phone to have clean design without any logos. Looks sleeker that way
Najmods
Mar 26 2013, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 26 2013, 01:28 PM) Xperia zl speaker located at the back will it muffle the sound whenphoneplace on the table? No because the camera protrudes a little bit so the sound is actually slightly better with it on the table. But don't put it on bed or something soft because they absorb sound rather than reflect it
Najmods
Mar 26 2013, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 26 2013, 07:25 PM) Ya im very dilemma to choose between zl and z  cannot make decision I think his power button problem is an isolated case as I didn't hear anyone else having it, and my power button is fine What are your priorities? If you care more about bling and showing off like dunking your phone for no reason into a bowl of water and such by all means go with the Z if you don't mind paying for extra. I'm choosing the ZL because it's smaller so it fits better in pockets, and the curved textured rubber back offers better ergonomics and just feels more comfortable to hold and those annoying flaps mandatory to make Z watertight going to get loose or broken in few months, I just can't live with that.
Najmods
Mar 26 2013, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(gouken @ Mar 26 2013, 10:04 PM) The first problem is more of an OCD problem than anything else The second one is quite a bother but who look at the back of the phone all the time? Oh another reason I chose ZL is the loudspeaker performance is excellent since anyone being harping about low volume on the Z, that is one thing I can't stand at all because I HATE bad speaker and low volume because tons of cheap laptops nowadays come with a speaker resembles a mouse try to squeak. With big display and good speaker I put tons of movies on it and watch it on the go  It's all self preferences, there are no perfect devices so live with some sacrifice to gain another.
Najmods
Mar 28 2013, 11:24 AM
There is a couple of custom ROM available for ZL now on xda forum for anyone interested, AOKP and CM10.1.
On the other note, ZL remote control app is pretty cool. At first I thought it only supports Sony devices but there is tons of supported devices there. I have yet to find the right one to control Astro
Najmods
Mar 28 2013, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 28 2013, 11:32 AM) Hey Im new to smartphone bro! If install custom ROM is it mean unlock/root the phone? I saw one post that say got this special software install then can make the sound better and go BOOM BOOM. Is it need root the phone to able install all these software? Cos i kinda dun 1 simply modify my phone and keep it as ori  Root is necessary if you wanted to mod any file system. Yep custom ROM usually mean you need to unlock bootloader and root phone first to install custom recovery, although there is custom ROM on locked bootloader but the functionality is limited because of stock kernel. Custom kernel can unlock more functionality like voltage controls and such. But that is not all, you need to read more then you know what's what. If you mean pureXaudio you need to read the thread carefully here. It looks like you can use pureXaudio with locked bootloader but you need custom recovery like clockworkmod. Everyone a newbie from the start, the only difference is to learn and do it yourself