Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V28, 50 Million Units Sold Worldwide !

joytest
post Mar 18 2013, 11:23 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Mar 18 2013, 09:54 PM)
no update 4.2.1 jelly bean for my s3 mini? weird...
S3 mini IS NOT an S3. The internals are COMPLETELY different, and lower speed.
joytest
post Mar 18 2013, 11:24 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Mar 18 2013, 11:22 PM)
still enter MTP mode sweat.gif
USB Mass Storage mode is no longer available in 4.x onwards.
joytest
post Mar 18 2013, 11:27 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(eszol @ Mar 18 2013, 11:25 PM)
If im not mistaken, there is only that slowish MTP in s3. No usb mass storage. That's why most of us use airdroid or fast file transfer app to move stuff in and out our device
QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Mar 18 2013, 11:26 PM)
so how ah...teach me ler sifu notworthy.gif

i want to copy stuff wor..
You already have the answer.
joytest
post Mar 18 2013, 11:55 PM

13,188 posts

Sandisk admits to "a small percentage of our users" having failures on 32gb and 64gb cards

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2013/03/18/ga...s3_sandisk_msd/

SanDisk cops to malfunctioning Micro SDs in Galaxy S3s
joytest
post Mar 19 2013, 12:02 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Mar 18 2013, 11:45 PM)
s3 mini battery always warning sound.. how to off the warning sound when battery is low? quite annoying

and possible to off "connect your charger" in lock screen during battery low?
Settings>Sound>Volume>slide the System sounds slider lower? Or the Notifications lower?

You cannot do anything about the message on the lock screen. Perhaps you can try a different launcher like Nova or Apex.
joytest
post Mar 19 2013, 01:10 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 19 2013, 12:31 PM)
Whoops. I see a spark of hope here.

Alright, will give it a try tonight. Just wanted to play safe and store a copy of original setting before mess everything up. laugh.gif

Thank you bro!
To backup game data either use Titanium or go and find where the game stores its save and settings files. Works for some games.
joytest
post Mar 19 2013, 04:25 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Mar 19 2013, 04:23 PM)
mind to teach me how if can move all apps to sd card?
You can't if you are on a 4.x ROM, official or otherwise. You need root and some tools and config to do it. Since you are a new Android user, I strongly suggest you get familiar with your device first.

If you want to dig into the advanced aspects of device ownership, go to forum.xda-developers.com and find your device. Read up there first.
joytest
post Mar 21 2013, 10:16 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Mar 21 2013, 07:20 PM)
Anybody knows how much it cost to replace the lcd screen of S3? Mom dropped her phone and LCD cracked, even the glass part beside the lcd has a crack.
Naked phone?
joytest
post Mar 22 2013, 09:27 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Mar 22 2013, 06:29 AM)
Nah. Mom was using the original samsung flip casing, but dropped the phone face down.
Tried to asked for discount but my friend won't bulge. Said price is fixed as they're only samsung authorised repair centre. Over here, u have to pay in full to order the lcd first, when it's here they'll call and inform, go to their service center and they'll fix it on the spot.

Phone is only about 4 months old, so I think it's better to fix it rather than selling it off..
Get a better casing as well. The flip case doesn't give any protection at all.
joytest
post Mar 23 2013, 08:14 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Mar 23 2013, 07:58 AM)
yes thats why im wondering why eat battery so much .. hmm... even in idle mode...

overnight idle mode 8 hrs 30 mins consume 14% ? battery kong? lol
I suspect it is more to do with naughty apps.
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 01:31 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Mar 24 2013, 01:26 AM)
You'd better stand down. You posts lately had not been frivolous and for the very reason I mentioned I did not post any comments against you.
Hello there late night on LYN after a long day? Andrew's been pretty much on point in the S3 and S4 topics smile.gif

Any commentaries you'd like to post for your Note 2 ? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by joytest: Mar 24 2013, 01:32 AM
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 04:28 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Mar 24 2013, 03:29 PM)
skype and wechat both consume battery a lot a lot especially wechat/viber !

i think all those whatapps eat power a lot, i only left whatsapp in my phone
Skype is fine if your don't start it up, as it does not start on boot. Leave it installed, and exit when done.

Wechat and Viber have a start on boot permission IINM.
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 06:42 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 24 2013, 04:33 PM)
I believe it was hidden folder. I only use root explorer. If not wrong by default solid explorer don't show hidden or system folder.

Only 3Mb++, let it be haha.

.face infor here.
Nice find. Added to Note 2 post 3 and you are acknowledged.
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 08:18 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 24 2013, 07:49 PM)
Shall acknowledge to XeactorZ, XeactorZ find out first. smile.gif
XeactorZ found the problem, u found the solution, so I'm acknowledging the solution.
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 10:09 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Mar 24 2013, 09:31 PM)
tested on my own phone settings to 100% brightness max

5h 10minutes with screen on (SOT) , Battery summary - almost reach 24 hours after 12 secs

still left 50% battery life.

many apps but i use sam battery app to monitor, play with kernel and *wakelocks (my wakelock now is 0).

i tried to off last night and i already installed the apps, i off my wifi, network data, and switch to airplane mode ...

phone radio will just shoot up to 29-30% now, (just refresh and notice it) - wondering is it my digi tower problem?

i tried to on airplane mode and test again  cry.gif

or maybe theres something wrong with my built in antenna?
What are you complaining about? 5h sot with 50% remaining is nothing to sneeze at.

By your phone radio % age do u mean what's displayed on your battery details screen? That metric is not well understood as to how it's calculated, so don't worry about it too. Android is not nokia. You won't get the same kind of battery life as a nokia.
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 10:21 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Mar 24 2013, 10:15 PM)
yes, 29-30% phone radio as displayed at my battery detail.
You can ignore it. It will be good if you can find out how that % is derived and the whole community will be grateful, or at the very least I will.

You have an 8hr workday. If you can spend 5hrs on your phone based on yr screen on....... whistling.gif
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 10:23 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(kopiPeng @ Mar 24 2013, 10:20 PM)
Not stock rom battery details, its your GSam battery apps tell you Phone Radio drained 30%. I used that apps before, well I can say its not so accurate... you can try to put your phone in Plane Mode overnight and see what happens..
Btw, she's using S3 Mini, battery capacity of course smaller.
Yes I know he/she is using an s3 mini. However the behaviour is not representative of females as he/she seems to have spent an un-feminine amount of time obsessing over battery life minutiae. whistling.gif laugh.gif
joytest
post Mar 24 2013, 11:51 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Mar 24 2013, 08:11 PM)
done a line of research to the following accesories:
Headsets With Working Mic & Volume Controls

I added to the Note 2 thread #9, you are acknowledged. BTW where did you get all this information?
joytest
post Mar 25 2013, 11:20 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 25 2013, 11:14 PM)
The article doesn;t say anything about why it is 700mA instead of another charge current. It provides a generic battery behaviour curve at different charge VOLTAGES.
joytest
post Mar 25 2013, 11:34 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mrvkool @ Mar 25 2013, 11:26 PM)
Yes.. i was reading for 2 x and looking at the graph for several... just couldn't locate what he was saying to me. That statement is a mind boggling.
Which indicates that some readers' comprehension may not be entirely correct. whistling.gif

0.0449sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:58 AM